Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mulan /Mulan II (blu ray): two features in one set, with average non-striking transfer and audio, worst with Mulan II!
VIDEO:

Mulan (blu ray):

'Mulan' arrives on blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.68:1 encode. The transfer is perfectly pleasant and wonderfully filmic. The disarming watercolour palette evokes ancient Chinese art, yet still allows more vibrant sequences (the third-act celebration and kidnapping for example) to showcase rich primaries, vivid hues and deep,...
Published 21 months ago by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
1 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad manufacturing
I was going to give this DVD to my niece for Christmas so I ordered it from Amazon, it came in great time in November and out of curiosity I tried to watch it. Good thing I did as the movie wouldn't play in Three DVD players. Sent it back, got another one just before Christmas, tried to play that and again it didn't work. I ordered it a third time but was refused. I am...
Published on Feb. 11 2009 by Jude


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mulan /Mulan II (blu ray): two features in one set, with average non-striking transfer and audio, worst with Mulan II!, March 13 2013
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mulan: 2-Movie Collection (3-Disc Special Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
VIDEO:

Mulan (blu ray):

'Mulan' arrives on blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.68:1 encode. The transfer is perfectly pleasant and wonderfully filmic. The disarming watercolour palette evokes ancient Chinese art, yet still allows more vibrant sequences (the third-act celebration and kidnapping for example) to showcase rich primaries, vivid hues and deep, inky blacks. Detail is excellent as well, with crisp line art, gorgeous painted backgrounds. Disney did not boost its contrast and is faithful to its original design. (4.5/5)

Mulan II (blu ray):

'Mulan II' is a direct-to-video animation on a low budget, and comes with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.78:1 encode. 'Mulan II' is a bit more washed out, with duller contrast and dustier colours than 'Mulan.' Disney again did not crank up the contrasts and embolden the colours. It simply presents the film as is, flaws and all. Line art and other subtleties in the animation have been preserved without fault, black levels are reasonably deep. Overall, it is an average non-striking transfer. (3.5/5)

AUDIO:

Mulan:

'Mulan' comes with DTS-HD 5.1 Master Audio lossless track, which is refined and rewarding. Dialogue is clean, notably grounded and perfectly intelligible, precisely prioritized and, above all, unwavering, even in the face of roaring avalanches and chaotic battles. Directional effects are convincing and accurate, while pans are silky smooth and the soundfield is enveloping. (4/5)

Mulan II:

'Mulan II' can't compete, no matter how technically proficient its DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 surround track may be. Dialogue is clear. The sound is not enveloping like Mulan. I feel this is also a low budget audio. (3/5)

PACKAGING:

I do not appreciate that both 'Mulan' and 'Mulan II' are combined into one BD-50 disc. I also do not appreciate that the two DVDs (one for each movie) are stacked one on top of the other. Poor (and cheap) packaging!

FINAL THOUGHTS:

For collectors, it was nice of Disney to put the 2 volumes of 'Mulan' into one set. Since I was going to buy 'Mulan' no matter of what, the addition of 'Mulan II' now feels like a bonus. I bought this when the price has dropped to $29.99, and there was a $8 off when I bundled it with 'Wreck-It Ralph 3D' blu ray (my review elsewhere)(its price also dropped to $27.99). 'Mulan' was not the top-tiered feature in the Disney vault and did not get the proper restoration, and was presented as it was. OK but not outstanding. This set is still recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kind of like a cheesy, July 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mulan: 2-Movie Collection (3-Disc Special Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
The first mulan is a timeless classic I watched it growing up now my daughter watches it she loves it. The second is okay. Kind of like a cheesy sequel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorites, Jan. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mulan (DVD)
This is one of my favorite Disney movies!
I was ordering birthday presents and decided that I needed a present too. The Original is better than the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Disney movie, May 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mulan (DVD)
This is more of an empowering story for girls, unlike a lot of other Disney movies that have been produced in the past. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chaming Movie, April 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mulan: 2-Movie Collection (3-Disc Special Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Even though I am not a child I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. It is definitly more a girls movie, but my husband likes it as well. Getting both movies for the price of one makes this a good deal. The HD sound is fabulous, I was sure there were birds in my family room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sad sequel, March 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mulan: 2-Movie Collection (3-Disc Special Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
The first Mulan was excellent and actually told a story. The second Mulan was predictable and uninteresting, but it works great on my eight-year-old daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fine little Disney Movie!, Feb. 16 2013
By 
John Thomas Anderson (Southern Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mulan: 2-Movie Collection (3-Disc Special Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Mulan has been one of my favourite Disney movies for quite a long time now. Being right up there with Tarzan and Atlantis among their more conventional animations. So it's nice to see it finally come out in this Bluray Combo edition.

It's not perfect of course. It's been designed with kids in mind so most violence is off-screen and you don't see anybody directly die. But it more than compensates for this with excellent story telling of a young woman who will put her life on the line to protect her ailing father. Then add in good animation and finally as a rarity for me, Disney songs that I actually enjoy watching, that advance the storyline rather than stop it and don't put me to sleep. It's definitely a winner!

However, the best part for me is the positive role model this movie gives to young girls everywhere! This is a girl who can and will stand up for herself. Who can and will fight as good as any man and who can save her prince as well as be saved by him! For that alone, this movie deserves kudos! Then throw in a villain who's smart and a storyline that has a good ending! What's not to like?

As for the second movie, consider it a bonus or an extra. Nothing more! Back in the late 90's, early 2000's Disney was making sequels to all their animated flicks, Beauty & The Beast, Tarzan, Aladdin, etc., etc. Trying to milk the cow, so to speak. These were NOT theatrical grade movies, but straight to home releases of varying quality, none of them great and some downright awful. The Mulan sequel is probably the best of a bad lot but still......... It's not nearly as good as the original and if you watch it soon after Mulan will probably disappoint!

Three discs are included with this two movie edition but there are only two spindles. So the Bluray is on the right hand spindle and contains both movies plus all the extras. The left spindle contains two dvd's, one for each movie and it's extra's with the Mulan dvd on top of the Mulan II dvd. No mention is made of whether there will be a digital download or not.

Mulan has a standard aspect ratio of 1.66:1 with English DTS-HD 5.1, French & Spanish DD 5.1 audio tracks. Mulan II is a 1.78:1 with audio tracks same as above.

So overall for a Disney movie, I'd give it a good 4 to 4-1/2 stars for Mulan. And about 3 for it's sequel.

J. A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, stunning visuals, Nov. 3 2014
This review is from: Mulan: 2-Movie Collection (3-Disc Special Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Highly recommended, stunning visuals, great story. part 2 was not near as good as 1 though. Kids still liked it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Sept. 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mulan: 2-Movie Collection (3-Disc Special Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Love Mulan one... still haven't watched Mulan two yet though LOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Nov. 9 2014
This review is from: Mulan (DVD)
So happy to have both movies and they are great quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mulan: 2-Movie Collection (3-Disc Special Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD)
CDN$ 26.50 CDN$ 19.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews