Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 1988 masterpiece...
To me this is, next to Ghostbusters, the movie I've watched as much or even slightly more. The story was amazing, the acting VERY much accurate, mixing the cartoon characters with humans (though not a new concept), felt so perfect. It is none other than a hybrid between a cartoon crashing a thriller-noir film... both having a brilliant influence on each other. The humor...
Published 10 days ago by Simon Bergeron

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good blu-ray, faulty dvd
Nothing bad to say about the Blu-ray, but the DVD version is not as advertised. 1:33 and it ask for a disk 2 for some bonus who aren't here (this detail wouldn't bothered me if it wasn't advertised).

I bough it for the blu-ray but i expected a remastered movie on the dvd as well, not a recycled disk from the second dvd edition. If you already have the second...
Published 13 months ago by Fenneck?


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good blu-ray, faulty dvd, March 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Who Framed Roger Rabbit: 25th Anniversary Edition Blu-ray Combo (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Nothing bad to say about the Blu-ray, but the DVD version is not as advertised. 1:33 and it ask for a disk 2 for some bonus who aren't here (this detail wouldn't bothered me if it wasn't advertised).

I bough it for the blu-ray but i expected a remastered movie on the dvd as well, not a recycled disk from the second dvd edition. If you already have the second edition dvd, pass this one, nothing new, nothing better, nothing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars FILM STILL CUT!! STAY AWAY!!, April 2 2003
By 
This review is from: Who Framed Roger Rabbit (DVD)
What the heck is wrong with Disney?!?!? The ONLY version worth buying is the Original VHS release... TRUST ME. Back a couple years when the first DVD release was made, it was quickly discovered to be CUT and ALTERED for younger audiences. First, in the scene early in the film where Baby Herman throws a fit on the movie set. In the original version, he walks under a woman's legs and sticks his arm up her dress and says "Excuse me Toots!". On that DVD, Baby Herman's arm was re-drawn so it just stays by his side! Another scene is when Valiant first meets Jessica Rabbit. When he first enters the Toon Strip Club, we can see that Betty Boob is onstage with her shirt off and she's shaking her b%%b$ (don't get excited, her back is to the camera). This scene is completely CUT from the DVD. Later in the film when Jessica Rabbit and Valiant are riding on the car in Toontown... the car screeches out of control and crashes, throwing Valiant and Jessica onto the streets. For a second or two in the original version, it was VERY obvious that Jessica had NO underwear on and the dress was very wide-legged. In that first DVD, they added white underwear. NOW WE HAVE THIS VISTA SERIES DVD!! The version that they tote on TV as the "Definitive version"... AHH, yeah right. They HAVE gone back and fixed Baby Herman's arm. Now his arm reaches back up the dress. THANK YOU. But the scene of Betty Boob is still cut!! Not only that, but the scene with Jessica being thrown from the car has been RE-DRAWN!! Now her dress has been extended so that it is now pulled down revealing nothing!! These scenes may sound like "No big deal" to the average viewer, but what of us who love WHO FRAMED ROGER RABBIT? What of us who want the film we remember seeing?? Altering this film is just as offensive as what Lucas has done to STAR WARS!! Take my advice and STEER THOUSANDS OF MILES AWAY from this trite. If we all demand that we want ROGER RABBIT the way it WAS, and refuse to buy this new "Kid-Friendly" version... maybe Disney will take notice. Maybe...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Top film, very poor DVD, May 18 2001
By 
Tom (Isle of Wight, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I have loved this film ever since it was first made, but this DVD really does not do it justice.
Despite being called a 'special edition', it contains not a single extra feature. The widescreen format is not anamorphic, which means that the MPEG aspect ratio is 4:3 and the picture resolution of the viewable area is lower than it should be. The quality of the film print used is poor and contains scratches and white speckling. The film has also had some bits edited out, so I suppose you could say it contains a negative number of special features: i.e. some normal features taken out. This is a shocking misuse of the format because the DVD standard contains the possibility for having optional scenes which can be shielded from young viewers, so why wasn't this used?
I doubt it will be long before the next version comes out, the 'collector's special edition' or whatever they will call it, so my advice would be to wait for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware - censored version of movie!, Oct. 7 1999
By A Customer
Caveat emptor -- this DVD release contains a censored version of the movie, different from the previous Laserdisc and VHS releases. It was apparently altered without the director's approval.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 1988 masterpiece..., April 9 2014
By 
Simon Bergeron - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Who Framed Roger Rabbit: 25th Anniversary Edition Blu-ray Combo (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
To me this is, next to Ghostbusters, the movie I've watched as much or even slightly more. The story was amazing, the acting VERY much accurate, mixing the cartoon characters with humans (though not a new concept), felt so perfect. It is none other than a hybrid between a cartoon crashing a thriller-noir film... both having a brilliant influence on each other. The humor part truly makes the film feel lighter. Credits must be given to Christopher Lloyd's chilling portrayal of Judge Doom and Bob Hoskin's Eddie Valliant... both are great and deliver top performances. Lloyd made me forget about his sympathetic Doc Brown and clearly enjoyed the role, giving a dark, moody and retained character that sticks to your mind once you've seen it (at least that's what the 12-year old me thought and still does).

As far as special features go, everything from the 2-disc DVD has been ported over, except from the hidden easter egg (which was the trailer).

If you have yet to see this, it's a classic! It's a must see! In my heart, it's part of the 1,000 movies you HAVE to see in your lifetime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank You!!, Dec 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Who Framed Roger Rabbit (DVD)
For a gift! looks as if great condition!! Im sure you will be helpful if he opens it and it has a problem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brings me back, Sept. 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Who Framed Roger Rabbit: 25th Anniversary Edition Blu-ray Combo (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
for an older movie this is awesome loved it
has so many great characters in it and you cant go wrong with this for a family film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, July 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Who Framed Roger Rabbit (DVD)
This was an excellent movie which I thoroughly enjoyed. I had been looking for it on DVD for a very long time and was pleased to find it here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a classic!, April 20 2013
This review is from: Who Framed Roger Rabbit: 25th Anniversary Edition Blu-ray Combo (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
I had been looking for this movie for a while and was so excited to see it re-released. I remember long it as a kid and its even funnier now that I understand all the jokes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Animation, March 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Remembering back to my childhood days I remember loving this movie! The characters were crazy they did funny things and the bad guys were not too scary but just scary enough to make me want to watch it over again.

I recently purchased this movie and as an adult I believe it is even better! The jokes are adult oriented the animation has withstood the test of time (besides a few sloppy scenes ^_~)

I would not recommend this movie to young children when I was a child most of what went on in this movie went over my head but the youth today catch a lot more then they should. I will however highly recommend this movie to anyone looking for a few laughs and a very enjoyable story. It puts you in a childhood frame of mind as they pull out many older characters such as Mickey and Minnie, Dumbo, Bugs Bunny, Tweety, Tinkerbelle, betty boop and literally hundreds more!

All in all if you are a fan of the classics and have never seen this movie I highly recommend seeing it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb56f8be8)

This product

Who Framed Roger Rabbit: 25th Anniversary Edition Blu-ray Combo (Blu-ray + DVD)
CDN$ 20.00 CDN$ 14.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews