Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Really awesome movie
Published 3 months ago by Donna V. Burnham

versus
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good action movie ....... but
I did see this move in the theatre. It is action-packed and entertaining. Like so many others here I can't help but think that Ben Affleck climbed on the backs of the brave Canadians who are actually the "stars" here in order to make a movie full of inaccuracies that downplays the importance of our contribution and greatly exagerates the part played by the USA. Former...
Published 19 months ago by Hattie's Grandaughter


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good action movie ....... but, March 16 2013
This review is from: Argo [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I did see this move in the theatre. It is action-packed and entertaining. Like so many others here I can't help but think that Ben Affleck climbed on the backs of the brave Canadians who are actually the "stars" here in order to make a movie full of inaccuracies that downplays the importance of our contribution and greatly exagerates the part played by the USA. Former President Jimmy Carter was at Queen's University in Kingston to accept an honorary degree and during his acceptance speech, said he was "taken aback by the inaccuracies" in this movie. He repeated these thoughts on talk shows in the USA. As you all know, he was the sitting president at the time - Joe Clark our Prime Minister and Flora MacDonald our Foreign Affairs Minister. He then went on to state how events actually took place being sure to credit the real heroes of the "Canadian Caper" as it came to be known who were Ken Taylor and John Sheardown. These two people in particular were the backbone and "brains" of the plot and sheltered the Americans for weeks and weeks until the plan could be safely put in place. The Americans flubbed the printing of the passports and only Canadian ingenuity saved the day again. Affleck barely acknowledged our part and gave all the credit to the American Government when in fact they played a much smaller role in the actual planning and rescue. Taylor and Sheardown would have been shot for spies if the Iranians had found out they were "harboring" the Amer1cans. The pity is that those CAnadians who are not old enough to know the facts might never know just how brave and wonderful our Canadian Ambassador and his employees were during this time.

The Americans have no trouble with taking all the credit all the time for everything. They've done it in many movies, particularly war movies involving the First and Second World Wars. TheUS won these battles single handedly seldom ever giving credit to Canadians, Australians, Brits, or anyone else.

In all good concsience I cannot recommend this movie simply because it hides a very important truth and Ben Affleck continues to lie about it in interviews even since the American Award shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sucks, Feb. 10 2014
By 
R. Pellettier - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Argo [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Canadians won't like it because of of it's American "version" of the historical background, the rescuing of American diplomats during the fall of the Sha of Iran. I recently loaned it to a firend to watch, and while he agrees the action is okay, he agreed with me it didn't deserve the Acadamy Award for Best Movie for 2013. I know Ben Affleck as the actor, and he never impressed me as a good actor, e.g. Pearl Harbour. If you want to get this movie, buy it cheap - or wait until it hits the TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I may be hated for saying what I'm about to say..., Jan. 6 2014
By 
Simon Bergeron - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
... but I don't think Argo should have won the Academy's honors by any stretch of the imagination. Sure the movie had stamina, maturity, stellar actors at the top of their games, and a very human plot at its core. None of those elements hurt the movie in any way... So, what does hurt the movie, you may ask?

The lack of originality, basically. Any other film in competition that year could have left with the ultimate golden statuette, but the Academy is the Academy: usually, the academic movies come out on top, and this year was no different. That is also when I decided to change my annual Oscar watch for the Cannes film festival.

In terms of special features, there should have been a few more things offered than paper items: a CIA Ben Affleck badge and two posters (one is a fake poster from the fake movie Argo, and the other one is a map). On disc, you do get a few more things than the former edition, but today's special editions also lack a lot in terms of "depth". For me, a 30-minute documentary is still a featurette, and NOT a documentary. Besides, adding a few featurettes and paper collectible don't make it a better edition. It makes you know a bit more about the production, but nothing "in-depth".

All in all, Argo features amazing filmmaking, but should not have deserved such high honors, and its special features section isn't nearly as great as it should have been.

Should have, could have, would have... those are the words I fear may describe future so called "special" editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not uncut, Nov. 13 2013
By 
Georgina Samis (Edmonton, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Argo (DVD)
Parts of this movie has been cut from the one shown on t.v. mostley around the character of Tony Mendez and his home life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A boring historical fiction, March 24 2013
By 
Alan Rivière (Big Al) (Southwest, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Argo (Bilingual) (DVD)
It is important for the viewers of this movie to realize that the story is historical fiction. Many events in the movie were fabricated to dramatize the story. It is okay to do so in a movie if they work, but they don't in this one. For dramatic effects, the scriptwriter follows an old and tired Hollywood formula: imminent danger of exposure, last minute cancellation of the plan, car chase of the plane on the tarmac, etc. I have seen too many movies with that storyline. As a result, the movie is terribly boring. The true story is much more interesting. If all the fabricated dramas were cut out leaving only the true story behind, the movie would have been a lot more authentic and believable. The leading man and director Ben Affleck wears the same expressionless face throughout the movie. He could have done better.

Argo won the Oscar for best picture and the scriptwriter Chris Terrio best writing. The decision reeks of Oscar politics. Critics assert that this happened because the story glorifies Hollywood; the true heroes were the Canadian, and to a lesser extend the New Zealand and the British diplomats, who risked their personal safety to come to the aid of the Americans. Whatever the true story was, Argo remains a boring movie as it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Argo - A distortion of the Truth, Oct. 1 2013
This review is from: Argo (Bilingual) (DVD)
Being a Canadian, I was very interested to see this movie.
When the event happened, of course the public never heard a word. All was kept top secret to protect those still exposed to danger.
When finally the news was made public, Canadians were so proud of their role in helping save Americans.
After all, Americans are our neighbors and friends through thick and thin.

This movie however, distorts the truth and omits a lot of facts.
If you watched this movie, you would think that it was the CIA who ran the show with the Canadian embassy playing only a secondary role.
Nothing could be further from the truth. My opinion of Ben Afflect has sunk to rock bottom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 14 2014
By 
Donna V. Burnham (Rosthern, SK, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Argo (Bilingual) (DVD)
Really awesome movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Revisionist History, June 5 2014
This review is from: Argo (Bilingual) (DVD)
I generally dislike revisionist history if it is represented as Truth. Canada deserved the credit for this affair and did not get it until the bonus features...not good enough by far. I dont like the Americans would like if a Academy award winner boasted about how Canada saved the Brits in WW2 and the USA helped a little bit. Otherwise, Ben acted well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Acadmy award worth, April 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Argo (Bilingual) (DVD)
Too much incorrect "fact" to find it enjoyable. I lived within the military during this actual event and was semi disappointed..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Argo the Film, April 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Argo (Bilingual) (DVD)
I would like to consider film Argo from 3 perspectives: Argo as reflection of historic event; Argo and Oscar; and Argo as a cinematographic genre. A lot was written on the topic of how this film has distorted real historic events in order to portray the greatness of the United States' secret service. However, everything attributed to the American secret service agent was done in reality by the Canadian Ambassador and the stаff of the Canadian Embassy.The genre of the film is obviously a thriller and I believe that a thriller that can deserve an Oscar should have based not on only one character but highly developed plot with a number of extremely talented supportive personages. Who can be named as an Oscar deserving actor in a supportive role? No one. So what has left? Just a thriller and not the best one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Argo [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
Argo [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) by Ben Affleck (Blu-ray - 2013)
CDN$ 24.99 CDN$ 14.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews