Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars ARGO: Declassified Extended Edition - List of New Special Features & Items included
Most people, myself included, really enjoyed "Argo". If you don't already own the film, this Extended Edition might be the way to go. But if you already own the original blu-ray release, then is it worth an upgrade? Well, hopefully the details below will help you make a decision.

Included on the blu-rays:
- Theatrical Edition of the movie
-...
Published 19 days ago by JMM

versus
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good action movie ....... but
I did see this move in the theatre. It is action-packed and entertaining. Like so many others here I can't help but think that Ben Affleck climbed on the backs of the brave Canadians who are actually the "stars" here in order to make a movie full of inaccuracies that downplays the importance of our contribution and greatly exagerates the part played by the USA. Former...
Published 20 months ago by Hattie's Grandaughter


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good action movie ....... but, March 16 2013
Ce commentaire est de: Argo [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I did see this move in the theatre. It is action-packed and entertaining. Like so many others here I can't help but think that Ben Affleck climbed on the backs of the brave Canadians who are actually the "stars" here in order to make a movie full of inaccuracies that downplays the importance of our contribution and greatly exagerates the part played by the USA. Former President Jimmy Carter was at Queen's University in Kingston to accept an honorary degree and during his acceptance speech, said he was "taken aback by the inaccuracies" in this movie. He repeated these thoughts on talk shows in the USA. As you all know, he was the sitting president at the time - Joe Clark our Prime Minister and Flora MacDonald our Foreign Affairs Minister. He then went on to state how events actually took place being sure to credit the real heroes of the "Canadian Caper" as it came to be known who were Ken Taylor and John Sheardown. These two people in particular were the backbone and "brains" of the plot and sheltered the Americans for weeks and weeks until the plan could be safely put in place. The Americans flubbed the printing of the passports and only Canadian ingenuity saved the day again. Affleck barely acknowledged our part and gave all the credit to the American Government when in fact they played a much smaller role in the actual planning and rescue. Taylor and Sheardown would have been shot for spies if the Iranians had found out they were "harboring" the Amer1cans. The pity is that those CAnadians who are not old enough to know the facts might never know just how brave and wonderful our Canadian Ambassador and his employees were during this time.

The Americans have no trouble with taking all the credit all the time for everything. They've done it in many movies, particularly war movies involving the First and Second World Wars. TheUS won these battles single handedly seldom ever giving credit to Canadians, Australians, Brits, or anyone else.

In all good concsience I cannot recommend this movie simply because it hides a very important truth and Ben Affleck continues to lie about it in interviews even since the American Award shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sucks, Feb. 10 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Argo [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Canadians won't like it because of of it's American "version" of the historical background, the rescuing of American diplomats during the fall of the Sha of Iran. I recently loaned it to a firend to watch, and while he agrees the action is okay, he agreed with me it didn't deserve the Acadamy Award for Best Movie for 2013. I know Ben Affleck as the actor, and he never impressed me as a good actor, e.g. Pearl Harbour. If you want to get this movie, buy it cheap - or wait until it hits the TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ARGO: Declassified Extended Edition - List of New Special Features & Items included, Nov. 5 2014
By 
JMM (USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Most people, myself included, really enjoyed "Argo". If you don't already own the film, this Extended Edition might be the way to go. But if you already own the original blu-ray release, then is it worth an upgrade? Well, hopefully the details below will help you make a decision.

Included on the blu-rays:
- Theatrical Edition of the movie
- Extended Edition of the movie (an extra 10 minutes added to the film)
- 3 New Special Features + all the special features from the previous blu-ray release

Included in the box set:
- 40-page book premium featuring behind the scenes photos, production notes, bios and more
- Argo One-Sheet Poster (you know they are going to fold it to fit it in the box, so it will have creases right down the middle)
- Map of Tehran movie locations (14" x 20")
- Reproduction of Tony Mendez's CIA ID card

So if you enjoyed the movie, then you might want to consider picking this up. I'm interested in seeing if the extra 10 minutes of footage improves the film (not that it needs improvement); and with three all-new special features and the book/memorabilia from the film, this set might be worth it.

********

FULL LIST OF SPECIAL FEATURES:

Brand New Features (exclusive to this blu-ray set):
1. Argo Declassified - Tony Mendez's daring operation gets honored as part of the CIA's 50th anniversary
2. Ben Affleck's Balancing Act - Balancing humor, politics, Hollywood and international intrigue as only Affleck and his team could do
3. Argo F*** Yourself - Ben Affleck leads an all-star review of Argo's classic line

Additional Features (from the old blu-ray release):
4. Picture in Picture: Eyewitness Account: Relive the takeover of the US Embassy in November of 1979 and the daring rescue mission in January of 1980 through the eyes of those that lived it.
5. Feature length audio commentary with director Ben Affleck and writer Chris Terrio
6. Rescued from Tehran: We Were There - President Jimmy Carter, Tony Mendez and the actual houseguests recount the real-life harrowing experience they endured.
7. Argo: Absolute Authenticity - From characters to heart-stopping action, Ben Affleck's eye and ear for hard-hitting realism and attention to exacting detail has become his signature as an A-list filmmaker.
8. Argo: The CIA & Hollywood Connection - Director Ben Affleck and former CIA agent Tony Mendez give a firsthand view of the actual documents and cover story used to create the phony movie Argo that had all of Hollywood believing in.
9. Escape from Iran: The Hollywood Option - Escape from Iran commemorates the 25th anniversary of the "Canadian Caper," taking us back to this startling affair through the direct testimony of the Americans who found sanctuary at the Canadian embassy in Tehran, and the Canadians who risked their own safety to shelter their closest neighbors.
10. Tony Mendez on Tony Mendez - Former CIA agent Tony Mendez shares additional details and stories from the mission
11. A Discussion with the Cast of Argo - Ben Affleck joins Bryan Cranston, John Goodman, Alan Arkin, Clea Duvall and Rory Cochrane for a live conversation about their experiences while making Argo
12. The Istanbul Journey - Ben Affleck shows us why Istanbul was the ideal place to shoot Argo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I may be hated for saying what I'm about to say..., Jan. 6 2014
By 
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
... but I don't think Argo should have won the Academy's honors by any stretch of the imagination. Sure the movie had stamina, maturity, stellar actors at the top of their games, and a very human plot at its core. None of those elements hurt the movie in any way... So, what does hurt the movie, you may ask?

The lack of originality, basically. Any other film in competition that year could have left with the ultimate golden statuette, but the Academy is the Academy: usually, the academic movies come out on top, and this year was no different. That is also when I decided to change my annual Oscar watch for the Cannes film festival.

In terms of special features, there should have been a few more things offered than paper items: a CIA Ben Affleck badge and two posters (one is a fake poster from the fake movie Argo, and the other one is a map). On disc, you do get a few more things than the former edition, but today's special editions also lack a lot in terms of "depth". For me, a 30-minute documentary is still a featurette, and NOT a documentary. Besides, adding a few featurettes and paper collectible don't make it a better edition. It makes you know a bit more about the production, but nothing "in-depth".

All in all, Argo features amazing filmmaking, but should not have deserved such high honors, and its special features section isn't nearly as great as it should have been.

Should have, could have, would have... those are the words I fear may describe future so called "special" editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not uncut, Nov. 13 2013
By 
Georgina Samis (Edmonton, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Argo (DVD)
Parts of this movie has been cut from the one shown on t.v. mostley around the character of Tony Mendez and his home life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A boring historical fiction, March 24 2013
By 
Alan Rivière "Maggie's Dad" (Southwest, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: Argo (Bilingual) (DVD)
It is important for the viewers of this movie to realize that the story is historical fiction. Many events in the movie were fabricated to dramatize the story. It is okay to do so in a movie if they work, but they don't in this one. For dramatic effects, the scriptwriter follows an old and tired Hollywood formula: imminent danger of exposure, last minute cancellation of the plan, car chase of the plane on the tarmac, etc. I have seen too many movies with that storyline. As a result, the movie is terribly boring. The true story is much more interesting. If all the fabricated dramas were cut out leaving only the true story behind, the movie would have been a lot more authentic and believable. The leading man and director Ben Affleck wears the same expressionless face throughout the movie. He could have done better.

Argo won the Oscar for best picture and the scriptwriter Chris Terrio best writing. The decision reeks of Oscar politics. Critics assert that this happened because the story glorifies Hollywood; the true heroes were the Canadian, and to a lesser extend the New Zealand and the British diplomats, who risked their personal safety to come to the aid of the Americans. Whatever the true story was, Argo remains a boring movie as it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Argo - A distortion of the Truth, Oct. 1 2013
Ce commentaire est de: Argo (Bilingual) (DVD)
Being a Canadian, I was very interested to see this movie.
When the event happened, of course the public never heard a word. All was kept top secret to protect those still exposed to danger.
When finally the news was made public, Canadians were so proud of their role in helping save Americans.
After all, Americans are our neighbors and friends through thick and thin.

This movie however, distorts the truth and omits a lot of facts.
If you watched this movie, you would think that it was the CIA who ran the show with the Canadian embassy playing only a secondary role.
Nothing could be further from the truth. My opinion of Ben Afflect has sunk to rock bottom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 14 2014
By 
Donna V. Burnham (Rosthern, SK, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Argo (Bilingual) (DVD)
Really awesome movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Revisionist History, June 5 2014
Ce commentaire est de: Argo (Bilingual) (DVD)
I generally dislike revisionist history if it is represented as Truth. Canada deserved the credit for this affair and did not get it until the bonus features...not good enough by far. I dont like the Americans would like if a Academy award winner boasted about how Canada saved the Brits in WW2 and the USA helped a little bit. Otherwise, Ben acted well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Acadmy award worth, April 17 2013
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Argo (Bilingual) (DVD)
Too much incorrect "fact" to find it enjoyable. I lived within the military during this actual event and was semi disappointed..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Argo [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
Argo [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) by Ben Affleck (Blu-ray - 2013)
CDN$ 24.99 CDN$ 14.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews