Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Argo delivers!!
Argo is one of my favorite movies and last year's Academy Award winner for Best Picture. I loved Argo. Great movie.

Well done.

Argo was one of the best pictures I have seen in a long time.
Published 4 days ago by Jason Hutton

versus
25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good action movie ....... but
I did see this move in the theatre. It is action-packed and entertaining. Like so many others here I can't help but think that Ben Affleck climbed on the backs of the brave Canadians who are actually the "stars" here in order to make a movie full of inaccuracies that downplays the importance of our contribution and greatly exagerates the part played by the USA. Former...
Published on March 16 2013 by Hattie's Grandaughter


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good action movie ....... but, March 16 2013
This review is from: Argo [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I did see this move in the theatre. It is action-packed and entertaining. Like so many others here I can't help but think that Ben Affleck climbed on the backs of the brave Canadians who are actually the "stars" here in order to make a movie full of inaccuracies that downplays the importance of our contribution and greatly exagerates the part played by the USA. Former President Jimmy Carter was at Queen's University in Kingston to accept an honorary degree and during his acceptance speech, said he was "taken aback by the inaccuracies" in this movie. He repeated these thoughts on talk shows in the USA. As you all know, he was the sitting president at the time - Joe Clark our Prime Minister and Flora MacDonald our Foreign Affairs Minister. He then went on to state how events actually took place being sure to credit the real heroes of the "Canadian Caper" as it came to be known who were Ken Taylor and John Sheardown. These two people in particular were the backbone and "brains" of the plot and sheltered the Americans for weeks and weeks until the plan could be safely put in place. The Americans flubbed the printing of the passports and only Canadian ingenuity saved the day again. Affleck barely acknowledged our part and gave all the credit to the American Government when in fact they played a much smaller role in the actual planning and rescue. Taylor and Sheardown would have been shot for spies if the Iranians had found out they were "harboring" the Amer1cans. The pity is that those CAnadians who are not old enough to know the facts might never know just how brave and wonderful our Canadian Ambassador and his employees were during this time.

The Americans have no trouble with taking all the credit all the time for everything. They've done it in many movies, particularly war movies involving the First and Second World Wars. TheUS won these battles single handedly seldom ever giving credit to Canadians, Australians, Brits, or anyone else.

In all good concsience I cannot recommend this movie simply because it hides a very important truth and Ben Affleck continues to lie about it in interviews even since the American Award shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A boring historical fiction, March 24 2013
By 
Alan Rivière "Maggie's Dad" (Southwest, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Argo (Bilingual) (DVD)
It is important for the viewers of this movie to realize that the story is historical fiction. Many events in the movie were fabricated to dramatize the story. It is okay to do so in a movie if they work, but they don't in this one. For dramatic effects, the scriptwriter follows an old and tired Hollywood formula: imminent danger of exposure, last minute cancellation of the plan, car chase of the plane on the tarmac, etc. I have seen too many movies with that storyline. As a result, the movie is terribly boring. The true story is much more interesting. If all the fabricated dramas were cut out leaving only the true story behind, the movie would have been a lot more authentic and believable. The leading man and director Ben Affleck wears the same expressionless face throughout the movie. He could have done better.

Argo won the Oscar for best picture and the scriptwriter Chris Terrio best writing. The decision reeks of Oscar politics. Critics assert that this happened because the story glorifies Hollywood; the true heroes were the Canadian, and to a lesser extend the New Zealand and the British diplomats, who risked their personal safety to come to the aid of the Americans. Whatever the true story was, Argo remains a boring movie as it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not uncut, Nov. 13 2013
By 
Georgina Samis (Edmonton, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Argo (DVD)
Parts of this movie has been cut from the one shown on t.v. mostley around the character of Tony Mendez and his home life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sucks, Feb. 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Argo [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Canadians won't like it because of of it's American "version" of the historical background, the rescuing of American diplomats during the fall of the Sha of Iran. I recently loaned it to a firend to watch, and while he agrees the action is okay, he agreed with me it didn't deserve the Acadamy Award for Best Movie for 2013. I know Ben Affleck as the actor, and he never impressed me as a good actor, e.g. Pearl Harbour. If you want to get this movie, buy it cheap - or wait until it hits the TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The background music distracts from the presentation, Oct. 5 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Great idea and timely in subject. It could have been a great movie if it was not for the soundbite presentation.

The acting is good but the film structure has a lot to answer for. I think they put in the standard character conflicts to punch up the story.

It is the Iranian revolution. In the chaos six U.S. Embassy people escape to the Canadian embassy. Now the problem is how to extricate them before they are detected and dispatched. "To this day, this story stands as an enduring model for international cooperation between governments."

So an ersatz movie company for a film called "Argo" is formed. We listen to lots of talk and a few dispatches. Yet the story progresses ever so slowly.

As Tom Stoppard, author of "Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead" writes "In a tragedy even minor characters die."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I vote no for the oscar, March 16 2013
This review is from: Argo [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Oscar winner [ARGO] is one let down of a movie there was no soul in this piece of crap.
I can't believe the academy of motion pictures awarded this an Oscar i seriously believe that
the C.I.A had a lot do with it winning.there has to be a C. I. A Hollywood connection.the first fifteen
minutes is Okay but after that it was just dull the only tense moment was the at the airport when they were leaving.
I'm telling you people i've never been so disappointed in Ben Affleck this movie did not need his presence and i really
love his acting but not in this.he look like he already knew what was going to happen and another thing too they put so much
emphasis on the six American but there were sixty people left at the embassy that nobody give a crap about even though
i know the outcome of the story already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Argo delivers!!, July 30 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Argo is one of my favorite movies and last year's Academy Award winner for Best Picture. I loved Argo. Great movie.

Well done.

Argo was one of the best pictures I have seen in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Argo - A distortion of the Truth, Oct. 1 2013
This review is from: Argo (Bilingual) (DVD)
Being a Canadian, I was very interested to see this movie.
When the event happened, of course the public never heard a word. All was kept top secret to protect those still exposed to danger.
When finally the news was made public, Canadians were so proud of their role in helping save Americans.
After all, Americans are our neighbors and friends through thick and thin.

This movie however, distorts the truth and omits a lot of facts.
If you watched this movie, you would think that it was the CIA who ran the show with the Canadian embassy playing only a secondary role.
Nothing could be further from the truth. My opinion of Ben Afflect has sunk to rock bottom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Historically Engaging, July 29 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Argo (Bilingual) (DVD)
Pretty good movie. I learned quite a bit from it; the true nature of the Canadian involvement, for example. It drove me to check the internet to find out more about what actually happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Acadmy award worth, April 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Argo (Bilingual) (DVD)
Too much incorrect "fact" to find it enjoyable. I lived within the military during this actual event and was semi disappointed..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Argo [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
Argo [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) by Ben Affleck (Blu-ray - 2013)
CDN$ 24.99 CDN$ 6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews