Auto boutiques-francophones giftguide Kitchen Kindle Simple and secure cloud storage Music Deals Store SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars73
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$5.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
on March 16, 2013
I did see this move in the theatre. It is action-packed and entertaining. Like so many others here I can't help but think that Ben Affleck climbed on the backs of the brave Canadians who are actually the "stars" here in order to make a movie full of inaccuracies that downplays the importance of our contribution and greatly exagerates the part played by the USA. Former President Jimmy Carter was at Queen's University in Kingston to accept an honorary degree and during his acceptance speech, said he was "taken aback by the inaccuracies" in this movie. He repeated these thoughts on talk shows in the USA. As you all know, he was the sitting president at the time - Joe Clark our Prime Minister and Flora MacDonald our Foreign Affairs Minister. He then went on to state how events actually took place being sure to credit the real heroes of the "Canadian Caper" as it came to be known who were Ken Taylor and John Sheardown. These two people in particular were the backbone and "brains" of the plot and sheltered the Americans for weeks and weeks until the plan could be safely put in place. The Americans flubbed the printing of the passports and only Canadian ingenuity saved the day again. Affleck barely acknowledged our part and gave all the credit to the American Government when in fact they played a much smaller role in the actual planning and rescue. Taylor and Sheardown would have been shot for spies if the Iranians had found out they were "harboring" the Amer1cans. The pity is that those CAnadians who are not old enough to know the facts might never know just how brave and wonderful our Canadian Ambassador and his employees were during this time.

The Americans have no trouble with taking all the credit all the time for everything. They've done it in many movies, particularly war movies involving the First and Second World Wars. TheUS won these battles single handedly seldom ever giving credit to Canadians, Australians, Brits, or anyone else.

In all good concsience I cannot recommend this movie simply because it hides a very important truth and Ben Affleck continues to lie about it in interviews even since the American Award shows.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on October 1, 2013
Being a Canadian, I was very interested to see this movie.
When the event happened, of course the public never heard a word. All was kept top secret to protect those still exposed to danger.
When finally the news was made public, Canadians were so proud of their role in helping save Americans.
After all, Americans are our neighbors and friends through thick and thin.

This movie however, distorts the truth and omits a lot of facts.
If you watched this movie, you would think that it was the CIA who ran the show with the Canadian embassy playing only a secondary role.
Nothing could be further from the truth. My opinion of Ben Afflect has sunk to rock bottom.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
TOP 50 REVIEWERon March 24, 2013
It is important for the viewers of this movie to realize that the story is historical fiction. Many events in the movie were fabricated to dramatize the story. It is okay to do so in a movie if they work, but they don't in this one. For dramatic effects, the scriptwriter follows an old and tired Hollywood formula: imminent danger of exposure, last minute cancellation of the plan, car chase of the plane on the tarmac, etc. I have seen too many movies with that storyline. As a result, the movie is terribly boring. The true story is much more interesting. If all the fabricated dramas were cut out leaving only the true story behind, the movie would have been a lot more authentic and believable. The leading man and director Ben Affleck wears the same expressionless face throughout the movie. He could have done better.

Argo won the Oscar for best picture and the scriptwriter Chris Terrio best writing. The decision reeks of Oscar politics. Critics assert that this happened because the story glorifies Hollywood; the true heroes were the Canadian, and to a lesser extend the New Zealand and the British diplomats, who risked their personal safety to come to the aid of the Americans. Whatever the true story was, Argo remains a boring movie as it is.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on April 8, 2013
I would like to consider film Argo from 3 perspectives: Argo as reflection of historic event; Argo and Oscar; and Argo as a cinematographic genre. A lot was written on the topic of how this film has distorted real historic events in order to portray the greatness of the United States' secret service. However, everything attributed to the American secret service agent was done in reality by the Canadian Ambassador and the stаff of the Canadian Embassy.The genre of the film is obviously a thriller and I believe that a thriller that can deserve an Oscar should have based not on only one character but highly developed plot with a number of extremely talented supportive personages. Who can be named as an Oscar deserving actor in a supportive role? No one. So what has left? Just a thriller and not the best one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on August 27, 2013
This movie was such a disappointment. So out of touch with what really happened. And to watch a vehicle chase a 747. I don't think so. The popcorn was good though.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on June 5, 2014
I generally dislike revisionist history if it is represented as Truth. Canada deserved the credit for this affair and did not get it until the bonus features...not good enough by far. I dont like the Americans would like if a Academy award winner boasted about how Canada saved the Brits in WW2 and the USA helped a little bit. Otherwise, Ben acted well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on April 17, 2013
Too much incorrect "fact" to find it enjoyable. I lived within the military during this actual event and was semi disappointed..
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on February 10, 2014
Canadians won't like it because of of it's American "version" of the historical background, the rescuing of American diplomats during the fall of the Sha of Iran. I recently loaned it to a firend to watch, and while he agrees the action is okay, he agreed with me it didn't deserve the Acadamy Award for Best Movie for 2013. I know Ben Affleck as the actor, and he never impressed me as a good actor, e.g. Pearl Harbour. If you want to get this movie, buy it cheap - or wait until it hits the TV.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on December 1, 2013
The fabrication and ignoring of the actual events and actions are well documented. What is so bad is that despite, or maybe because of it, this ends up being a generic formula film.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on March 16, 2013
Oscar winner [ARGO] is one let down of a movie there was no soul in this piece of crap.
I can't believe the academy of motion pictures awarded this an Oscar i seriously believe that
the C.I.A had a lot do with it winning.there has to be a C. I. A Hollywood connection.the first fifteen
minutes is Okay but after that it was just dull the only tense moment was the at the airport when they were leaving.
I'm telling you people i've never been so disappointed in Ben Affleck this movie did not need his presence and i really
love his acting but not in this.he look like he already knew what was going to happen and another thing too they put so much
emphasis on the six American but there were sixty people left at the embassy that nobody give a crap about even though
i know the outcome of the story already.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

The Town (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
The Town (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] by Ben Affleck (Blu-ray - 2010)
CDN$ 7.96

12 Years A Slave [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
12 Years A Slave [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) by Chiwetel Ejiofor (Blu-ray - 2014)
CDN$ 7.96