march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars11
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$30.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 19, 2016
This story is amazing and the writing is highly competent, without all the glitchy grammar and weird 'hey wait a minute, what does that mean?' paragraphs often found in a first novel no matter how good the plot. Deep.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2015
Enjoyable, well written story, as intricate as a piece of lace. Would have been 5 stars, but I didn't enjoy the ending, don't think it was a good fit for the rest of the story. One of my favourites otherwise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2015
Not interested in reading this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2014
Not a very good read at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2014
I love this book. I will add this to my favorites. It is magical and feminine but it also tackles issues like depression and domestic violence. This book is so hard to put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2013
Don't get too confident that you get this book. It twists with an unusual ending. Oddly compelling and had me googling to see if lace reading really existed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2012
This is a beautifully written book, richly textured and full of depth. It is easy to imagine the isolated islands, the well-developed characters and the mental disturbances experienced by Towner. It was hard to put the book down until the novel approached its conclusion. Sometimes an unexpected twist ending is both unnecessary and disappointing. In this novel there was no need for any twists, especially after the author had written about spousal abuse and mental illness with great skill. I would happily give this book 5 stars if it wasn't for the ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2009
Overall I enjoyed the book and the twist at the end. I'm fascinated by lace and this looked like a promising read. I quite liked the plot, but was annoyed by one thing. Early in the book the author referred to weaving the thread/yarn. One weaves with yarn, one does not weave yarn. A small error, but enough for me to give it fewer stars than I would have, had the author been a little more accurate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2008
Towner Whitney returns to her hometown of Salem, MA from California after the mysterious disappearance of her Aunt Eva. Towner comes from a family of women who can read the future through lace. The family has buried secrets that unfold throughout the novel, including the truth about Towner's twin sister's death.

Towner starts off by stating that her real first name is Sophya. She say's "Never believe me. I lie all the time..."

When I requested an advance reader's copy of this novel, I was under the mistaken impression that it was both about modern day Salem and an historical fiction about the Salem witch Trials. Though the historical was only slightly touched upon, the story did not disappoint!

This richly textured novel paints a vivid portrait of modern day Salem and how self-proclaimed witches live today. With a cast of eccentric characters and themes abound such as abuse, mental illness, witches, forgiveness, etc this is a real page-turner! This is sure to become a classic. Highly recommended!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2008
The Lace Reader is an incredible, intelligent, exquisitely written book. Brunonia Barry has created a compelling story that, from the first page, immerses the reader in the world of Towner Whitney.

The Lace Reader is as intricate as lace and the reader experiences the book through the interwoven patterns of the stories of Towner, Lyndley, Eva, May, Susan, Angela, the dogs of Yellow Dog Island, Rafferty, Cal, Jack and Beezer. Mystery, intrigue, abuse, love, romance, and history - all abound.

As Towner explains, "Sometimes when you look back, you can point to a time when your world shifts and heads in another direction. In lace reading this is called the "still point." Eva says it's the point around which everything pivots and real patterns start to emerge." The many threads of the story are masterfully woven together to illustrate the emerging patterns in the lives of the characters with an intensity that is unforgettable.

Who cannot be intrigued by the concept of reading lace to see the future?
And as Eva says to Towner, "It wasn't the lace that was wrong, " she always insisted. It was the reader's interpretation that failed." How powerful!

Now, after reading this beautiful book, I see lace everywhere!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse