countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
399
4.3 out of 5 stars
Price:$73.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 27, 2016
And my mom thought she would give this machine a try. It failed miserably to mimic our homemade bread. First you are limited to the recipe book breads. Second those recipes are wayyyy to salty and third it kneads the dough so much it becomes plasticky. Finally, the shape of the loaf is square, we like two bun loaves. And its noisy.
So we prefer making it from our own hands. Its worth the effort. Keep in mind when reading this, we only made 3 loaves from it so maybe if we kept it longer and modified the recipes more we wouldve liked it. But i dont like machines that limit us. I make my bread with my kitchenaid stand mixer (just the keading part) and its the best bread ever. Two loaves at a time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2011
This is only my 2nd bread machine...and simply put, it does the job. I picked mine up especially cheap...as Amazon had it on sale for $59.99 for awhile.

Great starter machine for people (like me) who don't bake bread much at home...but are interested in starting.

As mentioned in another person's review, one of the only real "cons" is that there isn't a notification/beep to signal when the last knead/mix is complete...so as to remove the mixing blade. What that does is it creates a hole in the botton of the baked bread, which is still kind'a funny even after a dozen loaves!!!

Anyways, very simple to use...and cleans up very easily. I'd give it a 4+ out of 5 rating...
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon October 1, 2011
I bought this machine from Amazon about a year ago and have to say my research paid off. I thoroughly researched these machines on the web before purchasing and have to say the Sunbeam was not a disappointment.

I bake pretty much a loaf a week for a household of two and enjoy trying new recipes. I can bake a two lb. white loaf for under a dollar using ingredients bought at the bulk barn including high gluten flour and yeast.

I also use the machine as a mixer and rising incubator for shaping other items like baguettes, dinner rolls, rye bread, cinnamon rolls and the best pizzas you ever tasted :)

For the most part I do pretty much all the items on the number 1 program and use a standard kitchen timer to let me know when the second kneading and rising are complete.

The machine has proven itself reliable and effortless to use and I would not hesitate to buy another should this machine ever break down.

For me it's definitely a 5 star product.

If you are tired of spending an arm and a leg on crappy store bought bread this machine is a must have item...
11 comment| 87 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2010
I am an experienced bread baker - both by hand and by machine - and I bake bread three to four times a week. The Sunbeam 5891 is my third bread machine and I am quite happy with it so far - but I've only had it for about a month. My first bread machine was a Black and Decker which worked quite well for about 5 years. Then I purchased a Cuisinart. The first one had to be returned to the store because the pan did not fit securely in the machine. The replacement made delicious bread (especially the crust) but the machine started to fall apart after only 4 months(the plastic on the lid was decomposing and breaking off) and it is very difficult to get it fixed because the warrantee forces you to send it far away for service (the customer pays the postage!) After managing a year with a machine that became progressively more broken, I decided instead to invest in a new bread machine - which is the Sunbeam. The bread it makes is just as good as the Cuisinart. The directions in the booklet are clear. It is a much quieter machine than either of my previous ones. The only drawback is that I would like it to have an alert when the last punchdown is finished so that I could remove the paddle before the last rising and the baking (this is one feature of the Cuisinart that I miss). I cannot speak about the longevity of this machine, but so far it is a pleasure to use, and much less expensive than the Cuisinart. Black and Decker machines have evidently deteriorated in quality since the first one I bought, so I didn't consider buying one this time.

Whether you are just a casual baker (a few times per month or less) or you bake all your own bread like I do, this machine would be a good choice.

.
11 comment| 128 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2012
I have used many bread machines and until this one, the Breadman machine was the best. This one exceeds the Breadman by a wide margin. I think it is the way they designed the paddle, because it mixes the dough better than any other machine I have had. Every loaf is consistently the same size, texture and taste. By the way this is my second Sunbeam 5891-33. My first one died from constant use,(I had it in use practically every day) but it lasted longer than any three other machines I have ever had and in the process made much better bread.

This machine gave me such good consistent results that I began experimenting more and more with different recipes, resulting in a much higher appreciation for the machine.

A very convenient and appreciated feature too, is that the paddle never stays in the bread when you take the loaf out of the pan.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2011
I really like this breadmaker, I only use the dough setting and then knead the dough, put in loaf pan to rise then bake. It couldn't be easier. Ellen
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2016
I love the look of this bread maker and the ease of use. I did notice a lot of off-gassing the first time I used it. I had washed the bread pan but the smell came from the main part of the unit. By the third loaf, the off-gassing has stopped.
The first two loaves I made (using an old recipe I have used for decades for a previous brand of bread machine) caved in terribly. I was making a cracked wheat bread and used the "whole wheat" setting (number 3). After thinking about the cause of the collapse, I decided the dough was rising too much. I then made the same recipe using the "basic" setting (number 1) and the bread was PERFECT.
I like the size of this machine as it fits nicely on my counter without taking up too much space.
The price was great!!
I hope I get many years of use from this machine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2013
I just purchased this as my first breadmaker so I have nothing to compare it to but so far im happy with my purchase. My first loaf turned out great, no complaints. Easy to use. I have only made the basic whole wheat bread so far. I look forward to trying more recioes.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 29, 2016
The engineers got this one right. After over a year of use, and over 100 loaves baked I haven't had a single failure! That says it all, it works!

Although, like all inexpensive bread machines, it is made of cheap components, the design of the paddle, shape of the pan and most importantly the timing of the cycles all contribute to a really decent loaf that other brands fall well short of. However, some of these advantages are also drawbacks in other respects. For example the pan shape, although effective in producing well kneaded bread, produces an unconventionally odd shaped loaf that is difficult to handle, cut, size, or store. The pan's thin walls, although contributing to an even and well toasted exterior is easily dented, in fact I dented it when it barely took a tumble in the first week of owning the machine. I had to straighten it and handle it with more care.

With these drawbacks in mind, it certainly isn't worth deducting a star considering it's cost and most importantly it's a ability to consistently produce well shaped loafs with acceptable texture and elasticity. All in all highly recommended!

Some pointers on it's use:

- The recipes in the booklet are useless (like most other bread machines.) You will have to come up with your own recipes modified from the internet and cook books (trial and error, this is were experience pays off.)

- The timer setting is useless, unless you know the exact moisture content of your flour and the precise weight of all the other ingredients. This is because the balance of dry to wet ingredients is CRITICAL and even small deviations impact the final outcome. If you're going to err here it is better to err on the side of being too moist rather than dry because dry dough will quickly wear down and burn the cheap motors found in all these inexpensive machines. If you want a good loaf consistently unfortuantely this isn't a set it and forget it process, you'll have to monitor the dough's consistency the first 5 minutes and add small quantities of flour or water, and possibly scrape 1 or 2 unmixed corners, so that the dough has a consistency that just sticks to the walls and quickly releases.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2010
This bread machine is just great. I got it to replace my old one as the old one didn't make good whole wheat bread. This one makes excellent whole wheat bread. I've made different types of rye, white and whole wheat bread (from 250 Best Canadian Bread Machine Baking Recipes), as well as the french loaf from the included recipe book. They all slide out really easily since the pan has a teflon coating on it. I've even made the jam recipe in the included book (which didn't stick but just poured out).

The dials are all really easy to use. They only thing that I don't like is that when you use the delay feature and then change the loaf size, it resets and you have to reset the delay. However, once you know this, it's really easy to work around. Also, there is a very large display window on the top so that you can check on your bread easily while it's being made.

Who can beat the price? I'd recommend this machine to anyone.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 29 answered questions