Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Countdown to Cyber Monday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars17
4.8 out of 5 stars
Price:$549.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on March 3, 2012
Probably the best flight stick money can buy hands down, key word being money. Quality is expensive and this Joystick has both quality and price. I upgraded to this from a Saitek X52. The feel and control is amazing. Thrustmaster did their homework on this one. The controls and toggle switches are top quality and have a military feel to them. With the exception to the Throttle sticks, the entire thing is constructed out of metal including the flight stick itself. The throttle panel lights up nicely as well. I play a lot of DCS Warthog and nothing is better then this Flight Stick in that Sim.

I've heard the software can be a pain to right scripts and stuff with but I've yet the need to do so, so I can't comment on that.

I have zero regrets dishing out the cash for this but I'm a avid flight/space sim guy. If you're thinking of taking the plunge you won't find a better Flight Control System. However I would only recommend this to more serious simmers from a price standpoint. It's a expensive piece of hardware to be sitting on your shelf.

If you only dabble in the odd flight sim or just looking for a general flight stick then the cheaper X52 is a better choice. But if you sleep in a flight suit instead of pajamas then your in for a treat!!

I gave it a full 5 stars despite the price because in this case you really are getting what you pay for. I can't argue price over quality.

Hope that helps.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on May 14, 2015
Very high quality finish, but be prepared to tear it down every month or so if you want to avoid the famous "stiction" issue while not voiding your warranty. What is stiction? Well, say you move the joystick forward, hold it in place for a couple seconds, and then slowly back off the pressure. It should move back smoothly, but instead it gets "stuck" in place and will almost stay where you left it.

This problem doesn't become apparent for a short while after buying (I own two of these, and they both do it) - Thrustmaster doesn't consider this to be abnormal, and simply says to take it apart and grease it up. This is lazy advice - the issue is caused by poor manufacturing of the PLASTIC (!!!!!) gimbal. The resolution for this issue can be found in the following video -

(and no, thrustmaster will not perform the steps shown in the video for you)

The throttle is not easily usable for Elite Dangerous/Star Citizen, mind you - the hat switch on the back of the throttle is only 4 way and takes a LOT of pressure to move, so be prepared for this (or just buy the stick and pair it with a different throttle).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on July 1, 2011
There are plenty of options as far as stick/throttle setup go. So many that it's hard to justify spending this kind of cash on a single piece of kit. But this thing is worth every penny. There are plenty of review's about the Warthog already, so I wont sing all of it's praises (and there are many) I'll simply state that the few problems I've had are compatibility with games that don't "expect" a joystick. While it fits the bill in games like ARMA 2, DCS A-10C, or other flight sims, I tried to rig it up for a tank sim (T.34 Vs. Tiger) and the game couldn't recognize any of the axis, I had to rig all controls to buttons. Similarly, Mech Warrior 4 would only "believe in" 1 controller at a time, so I could not use the throttle if I wanted to use the stick.

That being said, I still give the stick 5 out of 5, as it is not the stick I have a problem with, but rather the complexity of the input setups of SOME OF the games I would love to use it with.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on January 21, 2015
Well i was going to feed me and my kids this month....but you know. Gotta be able to park in elite dangerous.
10/10 would starve again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon October 9, 2015
If you're reading this review, you have probably already done your homework about this item and know all about it's main selling points.

1) Accuracy
2) All Metal Costruction
3) Realistic design as a result of being an officially licensed reproduction of the USAF A-10 hardware.

So I'll focus on the things you need to look out for and what you might expect to have to do if you purchase this and plan to use it for a "lifetime".

1) The grease that is factory installed is not the best, eventually you may want to replace the grease with another synthetic grease of some sort. Some use PTFE silicone, some use plain silicone, some use ceramic based greases. It just needs to be metal and plastic compatible.

2) There is a rubber ring installed in the base that prevents the gimbal from rubbing against the metal parts of the construction. This rubber ring may eventually wear out/deform/come out of place requiring replacement. Thrustmaster does sell replacement rings, but there are also people in the community that sell replacement rings made of out PTFE that should be a more permanent solution. Please research this as well.

The combination of the above two things results in what is know as stiction or static friction where if held in one place the joystick may start to want to stay there rather than return to center smoothly and easily. Luckily fixing the above issues is not really that hard and there are plenty of videos and photo how-tos on the internet to guide you should you ever feel like you need to do one or both.

Bottom line is this is still the best flight stick and throttle combination money can buy, but you can expect to have to do some limited amount of maintenance to it at some point in the future to keep it running at top form - just like a car or any other piece of machinery really. Just file this under "good to know" and buy it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on October 8, 2014
This is a thing of beauty. The weight and solidity are impressive. The spring which returns the joystick to the center position is quite strong which is probably done to be faithful to the real joystick so if you're a limp wristed fella you might consider other alternatives.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2015
Best HOTAS money can buy. If you're a diehard simulator fan you are unlikely to be disappointed. If there was one area I would have liked different, it's that the two throttles are not metal like the stick. For the price I would have expected an all metal design. This wasn't a surprise since I read it in reviews. If you are on the fence I'd recommend reading Ars Technica's review of it, which convinced me this was the HOTAS I wanted for Elite: Dangerous. Built like a tank, I expect this to last longer than pretty much anything else hooked to my computer. Consider that when looking at the price tag.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2014
Makes my old x52 seem like a cheap toy. Well worth the price.

High quality switches and buttons. Very good accuracy and much more realistic feel.

TARGET Software is really good once you figure it out.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2015
The real deal. Feels great. Got it for Elite: Dangerous and Star Citizen. Just bought the DCS World A10C DLC as well but haven't tried it. All told everything I was hoping for. No regrets.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2015
Playing elite dangerous with this is just awesome. Beats other joystick I tried on a whole other level. The built quality is just impressive. Worth every pennies.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Thrustmaster 2960703 T-Flight Hotas X Flight Stick
Thrustmaster 2960703 T-Flight Hotas X Flight Stick by Thrustmaster (PlayStation 3, Windows)
CDN$ 64.99