CDN$ 55.99 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Only 5 left in stock. Sold by @ ALLBRIGHT SALES @
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Sold by momox ca
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Please allow 1-2 weeks for delivery. For DVDs please check region code before ordering.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

1936-1945 Historic Recordings

Price: CDN$ 55.99
Only 5 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by @ ALLBRIGHT SALES @.
1 used from CDN$ 30.72

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Oct. 28 2003)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Music & Arts Program
  • ASIN: B00004WJM4
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #382,528 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Disc: 1
1. Pno Con No.21 in C, K.467: Announcer - Rare Recordings (1936-1945)
2. Pno Con No.21 in C, K.467: Movt 1: Allegro Maestoso
3. Pno Con No.21 in C, K.467: Movt 2: Andante
4. Pno Con No.21 in C, K.467: Movt 3: Allegro Vivace Assai
5. Pno Con No.5 in E flat, Op.73: Movt 1: Allegro
6. Pno Con No.5 in E flat, Op.73: Movt 2: Adagio Un Poco Mosso
7. Pno Con No.5 in E flat, Op.73: Movt 3. Rondo. Allegro
Disc: 2
1. Chromatic Fant And Fugue in d
2. Cant No.147 'Wohl Mir Dass Ich Jesum Habe'
3. Berceuse, Op.57
4. Mazurka in f, Op.7 No.3
5. Mazurka in C, Op.57 No.2
6. Fant Impromptu in c#, Op.66
7. Premiere Annees of Annees De Pelerinage: Au Lac De Wallenstadt
8. Premiere Annees of Annees De Pelerinage: Eglogue
9. Premiere Annees of Annees De Pelerinage: Au Bord D'une Source
10. Seconde Annee Of Annees De Pelerinage: Il Penseroso
See all 13 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x9d40cd8c) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9d3e8b1c) out of 5 stars Kempff is wonderful Nov. 11 2012
By MT - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Wilhelm Kempff is one of my favorite pianists. He has a wonderful feel. He isn't a show off, he gets at the essence of the music and does so with sincerity and feeling. And, if you think you're in for some tinny sounding old recordings, you'll be very impressed by the sound here. Here are a few quotes from other reviewers:

Writes critic Donald Manildi in his liner notes: "The distinctive qualities of Kempff's mature musicianship are many and varied. He has been called, with justice, a master of understatement. This observation refers not only to his abhorrence of eccentricities, histrionics, and ostentation; it applies equally to Kempff's preferences for a moderate spectrum of tempo choices wherein fast movements are often taken at less than their maximum limits, and slower sections are never stretched to the extreme lengths to which certain other pianists seem addicted. Similarly, Kempff never forced his instrument into anything resembling tonal ugliness. Instead he cultivated an extraordinary command of the mezzo piano to pianissimo range, enhanced by a variety of touch and a control of subtle nuance that is rare among players of any school or generation. Kempff's avoidance of typically Germanic ponderousness is what imparts the remarkably airborne quality to his phrasing. At the same time his interpretations disclose a unique serenity, a calm unfolding of events no matter what the technical challenges. Indeed, the word "nobility" is the one which is perhaps most often applied to Kempff's musical approach. It must be added that few pianists have Kempff's sense of fresh discovery at every performance, which is all the more exceptional considering the many hundreds of times Kempff played the standard items in his repertoire."

"I can only suggest that those who thirst for true musical genius should invest in this double album without delay. These are rare recordings in every sense."
-Bryce Morrison, Gramophone

"The most exquisite examples of Kempff's art available. I was dumbfounded by their beauty. A transcendent Mozart K 467 from 1939."
-Rob Cowan, Gramophone

"Wilhelm Kempff is on inspired, even daring form.... It is hard not to be seduced by Kempff's ravishing tone and bejeweled passagework.... Remarkable sound for its time.... Kempff fans will find plenty to savor in this welcome release, including Donald Manildi's excellent booklet notes."
-Jed Distler, Classics Today
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9d3e8fcc) out of 5 stars A must for fans of Pianism June 18 2008
By Sir Butternut Longsword - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Kempff is one of my favourite pianists, and should be on any list of the top ivory-poets of the last century. At his death and today he is mostly known for his Beethoven Sonata's, of which there are three, his Schubert cycle, of which he was the first to complete, his Schumann, Brahms, and, magisterial Bach transcriptions[though his Goldberg Variations are relatively awful].
Few people are aware that in his younger years he was quite the virtuoso and that his Liszt recordings are some the finest on record. This valuable collection puts together his complete Liszt recordings the late 30's and early 40's. The sound is mono but fine for its age. The collection is filled out by a Mozart and Beethoven Concerto[5], Mozart Fantasy's, Bach Trans, Chopin Impromptu's.
IF you only want this release for the liszt, you can also acquire it as it was included on Kempff's Great Pianist of the Century volumes. Of the highest recommendation.