After the Big Rain has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

After the Big Rain

Price: CDN$ 20.62 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 35. Details
Only 6 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
32 new from CDN$ 13.99 4 used from CDN$ 20.35

Product Details

  • Audio CD (July 17 2007)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Anzic
  • ASIN: B000ROALZ8
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #168,318 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. After the Big Rain
2. Parto Forte
3. Gbede Temin
4. Meditation On Two Chords
5. Afterthoughts (Mozartine)
6. Miryama
7. African Daisy (La Suite African)
8. After the Big Rain

Product Description

After the Big Rain

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 4.5 out of 5 stars 4 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice break from the straight ahead Oct. 28 2008
By C. Katz - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Interesting I am not into "Bitches Brew" or latter fusion movement I was really into Eno and ambient (and now electronica ) secondary to main passion straight ahead jazz.I think this is a great CD of world music from a guy with obvious jazz chops (as are his brother and sister).But this has a post fusion world music feel that f not unique works very well.God background music that is very interesting.Check out projects of his clarinetist sister Anat and wait for his brother to come out as leader though they have done together (CD Braid) is great.Don't confuse him with bass player of same name.His main exposure has come through his superb band "Third Wold Love" (I'll follow up on review of that latter).
Shalom Y'All
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
By blueish - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
NOT MUCH TO SAY cause music speaks very very very emotionally and powerfully at its utmost .STELLAR PERFORMANCE from a very intelligent artist who i think HAS THE NEED to explore his soul.A MARVELOUS travelling with a strong impact of peaceful exploration through everybodys soul. SUPERB JAZZ FROM AVISHAI COHEN AND ONE OF THE BEST RECORDINGS OF THIS DECADE .
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "After the Big Rain" makes quite a splash Sept. 15 2007
By James Lamperetta - Published on
Format: Audio CD
4.5 Stars
While being enveloped by trumpeter Avishai Cohen's "After the Big Rain" a recurring point of reference which springs to mind is "Bitches Brew" and "In A Silent Way" era Miles Davis.
However, beyond the luxurious wash of Jason Lindner's Fender Rhodes keyboards and Cohen's atmospheric musings, Lionel Loueke's nylon-string guitar and vocals help to move this project into a realm of remarkable transcendence.
Miles' tunes at the time were more about exploring colors and moods. Here compositions by Cohen, Lindner, and Loueke incorporate a distinct world-music flavor and stand out for being as strong and fully realized as the individual and ensemble playing.
"African Daisy (La Suite African)" and "Parto Forte" are cross-continental melting pots of world music meets jazz. Lindner's "Meditation on Two Chords" is a cooled-out space-rock excursion over which Cohen's distorted horn soars.
The mid-disc classically tinged "Afterthoughts (Mozartine)" and the haunting Loueke vocal showcase "Miryama," form an engaging oasis of introspection and calm.
Bookended by the title track and its epilogue, the experience of "After The Big Rain" is brought full-cycle.
This is highly recommended listening.
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars Nov. 4 2014
By Roberto Jiménez Bozada - Published on
Format: Audio CD

Look for similar items by category