Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Ali in Wonderland: And Other Tall Tales Hardcover – Feb 7 2012

3.6 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Hardcover
CDN$ 41.13 CDN$ 1.23

Strong Is the New Pretty

click to open popover

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Harper (Feb. 7 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0061998575
  • ISBN-13: 978-0061998577
  • Product Dimensions: 14 x 2.4 x 21 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 386 g
  • Average Customer Review: 3.6 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #698,524 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

“Hilarious.” (Marie Claire)

“Everything that comes out of Ali Wentworth’s mouth is funny!” (Jerry Seinfeld)

“Ali Wentworth’s book is like Chicken Soup for the Vagina. Gays and straight men, I’m not leaving you out here! Ali is truly one of the quickest, funniest girls I’ve ever met. Enjoy!” (Kathy Griffin)

“Ali has written a truly hilarious book . . . and she’s also a good kisser!” (Chelsea Handler)

“Wentworth is amusing and frank, often frenetic, with sharp intelligence underneath the sassy wackiness; passages about her struggle with depression, falling in love with her husband, and her daughter’s baptism have funny moments, but they’re thoughtful and touching, too…. Highly entertaining memoir.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Ali Wentworth is funny and warm and crazy all at once. Like Barbara Eden. But on something. Like crystal meth.” (Alec Baldwin)

“I would tone down the pee and fart references.” (Muffie Cabot (Ali's mother))

“[A] lively, laugh-out-loud memoir....Fans of Amy Sedaris and Merrill Markoe will enjoy Wentworth’s warped Weltanschauung and wicket wit.” (Book)

“Ali Wentworth tumbles comically through Ali in Wonderland.” (Vanity Fair)

“[H]ilarious...” (Food & Wine)

From the Back Cover

Growing up in a family of political journalists—and daughter of President Reagan’s White House social secretary—Ali Wentworth rebelled against her blue-blood upbringing, embracing Hollywood, motorcycles, even a few wildly inappropriate marriage proposals. Today she is an acclaimed comedic actress and writer, former Oprah regular, wife of political and media star George Stephanopoulos, and a mother who lets her two girls eat cotton candy before bed. Though she’s settled down, her rebellious nature thrives in her comedy and her view of her crazy world.

In this addictively funny and warm memoir, she takes us through the looking glass and into the wonderland of her life, from a childhood among Washington’s elite to a stint in the psych ward they called a New England prep school; days doing L.A. sketch comedy (with then-aspiring artists Will Ferrell and Lisa Kudrow) to a series of spectacularly failed loves (that eventually led her to Mr. Right). Constant throughout is her mother, Muffie—a flawlessly elegant yet firm, no-nonsense force of nature and pure WASP convictions.

As charming and off-the-wall as Ali herself, Ali in Wonderland is an entertaining look at life that is both intimate and hilarious.

See all Product description

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 3 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

December 31, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
September 26, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
January 6, 2015
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.1 out of 5 stars 400 reviews
SWood
3.0 out of 5 starsSkating on the surface...
September 9, 2015 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful.
gflinn
3.0 out of 5 starsHer Own Story
July 19, 2015 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful.
rabidreader
4.0 out of 5 starsI really enjoyed this book
May 24, 2015 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful.
Black Knight
4.0 out of 5 starsDelicious Dichotomy
April 20, 2013 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful.
Carol T.
3.0 out of 5 starsOh Ali-stick to being a comedian!
June 6, 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery & Returns

Need Help?