No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: CDN$ 3.81

Save CDN$ 16.80 (82%)

includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
kindle unlimited logo
Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read for Free
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Alien Corps: Book One in The Adventures of the Space Heroine Hickory Lace by [McDermott, PJ]
Kindle App Ad

The Alien Corps: Book One in The Adventures of the Space Heroine Hickory Lace Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
CDN$ 3.81

Length: 314 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Signup for Kindle Daily Deals
Kindle Delivers: Daily Deals
Subscribe to find out about each day's Kindle Daily Deals for adults and young readers. Learn more

Product description

Product Description

The Alien Corps have encountered plenty of false prophets and would-be redeemers across the universe, but they've never met a true Messiah…at least, not until now.

Following reports that an alien is performing miracles on the planet Prosperine, Commander Hickory Lace and her cohorts, Jess and Gareth, are sent to investigate.

It won’t be an easy mission. Prosperine seethes with humanoid lifeforms, predatory beasts, carnivorous plants and deadly radiation. To make matters worse, when they arrive at the capital Hickory stumbles across a plot by Earth's most deadly foe—the warlike Bikashi empire—to hijack the planet’s resources of liquid metal that enables FTL travel. Strangest of all, though, is her encounter with the alien miracle worker who seems to know everything about her.

In this epic adventure novel, the future of the Earth and its allies is at stake. Hickory has one chance to prevent disaster. She must reignite the powerful empathic gift she was born with, and at the same time determine exactly who or what the miracle worker represents.

Fans of Olan Thorensen and Stephen Donaldson will love it!

Purchase your copy of The Alien Corps now and see why readers are calling PJ McDermott a contemporary Asimov.

What Amazon readers are saying about this scifi action adventure.

“A Great read. Had me at the first chapter. I did not want to stop reading. Loved the plot, the storyline, the action!!”

“Great character development. I was really attracted to the main character. The blend of adventure and inter-galactic political mischief was a new way of looking at things. Great fun.”

“McDermott creates a very original and hopeful future world similar to the kind of sci-fi I grew up loving. His alien characters are delightful and believable. I couldn't wait to read the second book, Rise of the Erlachi, which is even better!”

WOW, did book one have me rapidly reading as I couldn't get enough! I liked the feisty Commander Hickory Lace from the start.

Other books in the Adventures of Hickory Lace:

Dust and Ashes: the apocalyptic prequel to the Alien Corps

Book 2: Rise of the Erlachi

Book 3: The Scarf



Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 4611.0 KB
  • Print Length: 314 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0648092100
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00S1SNAVE
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #215,257 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?

click to open popover

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 4 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on September 21, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.1 out of 5 stars 69 reviews
4.0 out of 5 starsKindle Unlimited {sometimes here and there one may be through ...
on June 13, 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful.
5.0 out of 5 starsOriginal well thought out Sci- Fi thriller that kept me engaged!
on August 7, 2015 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful.
4.0 out of 5 starsA Fun Adventure
on April 27, 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery & Returns

Need Help?