Alto Cantatas has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by wobcanada
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: *** Please check Region before ordering *** - The item remains in its sealed packaging. The case and any inserts will show no sign of wear.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Alto Cantatas

Price: CDN$ 15.02 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 35. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
16 new from CDN$ 8.19 8 used from CDN$ 1.63

Product Details

  • Performer: Cologne Co, Müller-Brühl Kielland
  • Composer: Bach J.S.
  • Audio CD (Dec 13 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • ASIN: B000A16PNU
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #170,894 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Aria: Vergnugte Ruh, Beliebte Seelenlust
2. Recitative: Die Welt, Das Sundenhaus
3. Aria: Wie Jammern Mich Doch Die Verkehrten Herzen
4. Recitative: Wer Sollte Sich Demanch Wohl Hier
5. Aria: Mir Ekelt Mehr Zu Leben
6. Aria: Widerstehe Doch Der Sunde
7. Recitative: Die Art Verruchter Sunden
8. Aria: Wer Sunde Tut, Der Ist Vom Teufel
9. Sinfonia
10. Arioso: Gott Soll Allein Mein Herze Haben
11. Aria: Gott Soll Allein Mein Herze Haben
12. Recitativo: Was Ist Die Liebe Gottes
13. Aria: Stirb In Mir Welt
14. Rezitativo: Doch Meint Es Auch Dabei
15. Choral: Du Sube Liebe, Schenk Uns Deine Gunst
16. Aria: Bekennen Will Ich Seinan Namen
17. Aria: Schlage Doch Gewunschte Stunde

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 3.0 out of 5 stars 1 review
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Skillful musicianship, but ... Dec 25 2005
By J Scott Morrison - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I liked the sound of Marianne Beate Kielland's voice and musicianship in this same group's CD of the Bach B Minor Mass that came out some time ago. And I looked forward to this collection of solo alto cantatas by Bach. But I must say that I quickly tired of the sound of Ms Kielland's voice, largely because, although she handles it well, it has a white, almost hooty sound that becomes tiresome fairly quickly. At times, in fact, I could imagine I was listening to a male countertenor, not much of a recommendation in my opinion.

Still, there are some lovely things on this disc, mostly from the orchestra, the Cologne Chamber Orchestra under the direction of its long-time director, Helmut Müller-Brühl. Special mention must be made of the organist, Harald Hoeren, for his bits in 'Vernugte Ruh, beliebte Seelenlust' BWV 170 where the organ comes out of the continuo group and acts rather as a solo (obbligato) instrument, and even more so in the organ-concerto-like 'Sinfonia' (overture) to 'Gott soll allein mein Herze haben' BWV 169. Also, the oboe d'amore player, Christian Hommel, deserves special mention.

No texts are provided, but they can easily be obtained by a little searching on the Internet.

So, although there is something to enjoy here, I think I won't be coming back to this disc very often.

Scott Morrison