CDN$ 31.16 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Only 1 left in stock. Sold by thebookcommunity_ca
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by momox ca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Please allow 1-2 weeks for delivery. For DVDs please check region code before ordering.
Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 61.57
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: USA_Seller_4_Canada
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Arias From Berlin's Operatic History First Edition Import

Price: CDN$ 31.16
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by thebookcommunity_ca.
4 new from CDN$ 31.16 7 used from CDN$ 12.87

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Sept. 20 1994)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Berlin Classics
  • ASIN: B0000035LQ
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Rodelinda, Regina De'Longobardi: Pompe vane di morte - Se a questa vita
2. Polifemo: Voi del ciel numi clementi
3. Griselda: Per la gloria
4. Artaserse: Sulle sponde del torbide lete
5. Cleopatra E Cesare: Cortese il cielo non puo donare
6. Flavius Bertaridus, Konig Der Longobarden: Lieto suono di trombe guerriere
7. Lucio Papirio Dittatore: All'onor mio rifletti
8. La Clemenza di Tito: Tardi s'avvedde d'un tradimento
9. Il Re Pastore - Serenata - Fatto per L' Arrivo - Della Regina Madre: Sulle piu belle piante
10. Achille In Sciro: Del terreno, nel centro profondo

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9ca8f36c) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9ca95e70) out of 5 stars Review by a student of opera Nov. 17 2000
By A Customer - Published on
This re-edition of Jochen Kowalski's first CD is a 'must have' for fans of opera seria and anyone seriously studying classical opera. One of my favourite CDs, it includes the only available recording of some arias, all of which are boisertous and tuneful. Kowalski, whose voice at this stage possessed a far greater beauty than even that of David Daniels, sings with youthful energy, dramatic integrity and an obvious expertise in the repertoire. All of the arias are well within his vocal abilities, the only crticism of his singing being a tendency to sound weaker in the lower vocal register. There are some real gems among the arias including those by Graun and Agricola. If you want to hear a first-rate, operatic alto, without the reediness of most other countertenors, then this recording is definitely for you. (Plus, you get a nice handsome photo of JK as well!)
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9d4fedbc) out of 5 stars Beautiful Baroque Music July 1 2010
By KJS - Published on
Verified Purchase
Beautiful music and wonderful singing. I wasn't too certain about Kowalski's singing before this purchase, as I had previously 'you-tubed' him and thought that some of the uploads indicated his performances were uneven. However, his voice on this album is most definitely up there with the best, a rich mezzo sound not unlike Max Emanuel Cencic's, rather than the countertenor sounds of Daniels, Scholl, or Minter. The music is varied and well selected, with 3 Carl Heinrich Graun arias and 2 by Hasse amongst Bononcini, Telemann, King Friedrich, and Agricola. All strong pieces. It is hard to find full operatic works by Graun and Hasse, and considering that Hasse (along with Handel) was one of the greatest C18th composers, admired by Mozart, these inclusions by Kowalski are important. If you enjoy Baroque arias and want to extend your listening beyond the Handel selections that populate many CDs by countertenors, this is a must buy, before it's unavailable.