Artist Profile Series: Ra... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Artist Profile Series: Ralph V Box set

Price: CDN$ 43.26 & FREE Shipping. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
18 new from CDN$ 29.54

Product Details

  • Performer: Ralph Van Raat
  • Composer: Adams Lindberg Tavener Rzew
  • Audio CD (May 26 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Format: Box set
  • Label: Nsp
  • ASIN: B00215ZHLE
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #296,822 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Artist Profile Series: Ralph Van Raat [Box Set]

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa7be3054) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9f60a96c) out of 5 stars Modernist Poet of the Piano May 27 2009
By Dean R. Brierly - Published on
Despite a slumping music industry, Naxos continues to exhibit an admirable commitment to alt-classical composers and musicians. The debut of the label's "Artist Profile Series" is a case in point. It's a multi-disc box set featuring the phenomenal Dutch pianist Ralph van Raat, who is arguably the leading exponent of contemporary classical music on his chosen instrument. Van Raat is one of a select few musicians who combine dazzling technical virtuosity with a rare ability to connect with the emotional core lurking within even the most angular and dissonant compositions. Listening to him play, one never gets the impression of rote familiarity, but a sense that he's discovering the music for the first time. His mastery of texture, harmony and rhythm is nothing short of breathtaking. He intuitively knows when to be aggressive, and when to throttle back. And he plays with an astonishing and affecting lyricism that belies the notion that modern music is by definition inaccessible. Even as he interprets the most aggressive and complex modern composers, van Raat effortlessly conjures entry points for the most timid listeners. There are five discs in this box set, four devoted to individual--and individualistic--composers (John Adams, John Taverner, Frederic Rzewski and Magnus Lindberg), and a bonus disc that alternates interview excerpts with van Raat's interpretations of pieces by Toru Takemitsu, Charles Ives, William Bolcom, Olivier Messiaen, and several others. The Q&A snippets offer fascinating insights into the creative process, as van Raat reveals how certain pieces of music have actually changed him as a pianist. From Takemitsu's "A Flock Descends into the Pentagonal Garden," for example, he heard new sound colors that caused him to rethink his approach to his instrument. "When you think of the piano, you think of black-and-white keys, and also, in a way, of black-and-white piano sounds. But this orchestration made me realize the enormous amount of colors that you could basically imitate on the piano....So from the moment I heard Takemitsu, I knew that that was something for me to strive for in my piano playing, to get all those gradations of color in my own playing." Whether discussing music or playing it, van Raat communicates an infectious enthusiasm, plus a deep-seated intellectual and emotional curiosity, that make him one of the most sensitive performers and proponents of alt-classical music today.
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa1e6f870) out of 5 stars A real bargain for fans of piano music by living composers June 4 2009
By Matthew Wilcox - Published on
For those looking to explore 20th/21st century piano music, this 5-disc set will be an economical place to start. Pianist and musicologist Ralph van Raat has recorded piano works of John Adams, Magnus Lindberg, Frederic Rzewski, and Sir John Tavener for the Naxos label. On the Adams and Lindberg discs, he has enlisted the help of fellow dutch pianist Maarten van Veen for the 2-piano pieces.
The 5th disc, exclusive to this set, blends snippets of an interview with the host of a weekly Naxos podcast, with works that influenced van Raat throughout his life. His comments on the music of Takemitsu, Ives, Bolcom, Chick Corea, Nancarrow, Messiaen, Durufle, and Rautavaara are insightful and articulate.
I had already heard the Adams and Tavener discs before acquiring this set, and I continue to be impressed by the talent of this young pianist. The performances are at an expert level. I'll be very curious to see which composers he decides to record in the future, and which artists Naxos highlighs in this series.