CDN$ 88.95 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Only 1 left in stock. Sold by Vanderbilt CA
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item is very good condition.We are going to ship from Japan, the delivery time is about 14-21days.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Artists of the Century: Essential David Oistrakh Import

Price: CDN$ 88.95
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Vanderbilt CA.
3 used from CDN$ 28.07

Product Details

  • Audio CD (May 16 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Import
  • Label: RCA
  • ASIN: B00004R8MH
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9b16bcc0) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9a1b5b58) out of 5 stars Rare recordings from a great violinist June 3 2000
By Christopher Bonds - Published on
This 2-CD compilation contains previously unreleased live versions of Mozart and Brahms concerti as well as the two Beethoven Romances. The second CD contains marvelous performances of the two Shostakovich concerti. While the sound on the first CD is not up to current standards even for live recordings, it's acceptable, and Oistrakh's playing is unbeatable in its authority and sweetness in the slow, singing passages. The mike placement in the Mozart is quite close to the soloist, farther back in the Brahms. Listeners who know only the current crop of violin virtuosi can learn from hearing Oistrakh. He never hams it up or "emotes." Consequently the power of his playing lies in the depth of his understanding and his commitment to the music. The authority of his approach is especially evident in the purity of his intonation, which is nothing more than a measure of how well he listened to his own playing. Because the selections on CD 1 are live and unedited performances they are not perfect technically; but the few glitches (for example in the 3rd-movement cadenza in the Mozart) are insignificant in view of the treasures to be found here. This set is for Oistrakh fans and fans of the violin in general.
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9a2388a0) out of 5 stars Oistrahk and Shostakovich June 22 2000
By A Customer - Published on
The reason that I rate this CD so highly is mainly because of the fact that Oistrahk is playing the Shostakovich violin concertos, especially op. 99 (the one that was written for him). It is incredibly intense.
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x99fda300) out of 5 stars The Great Oistrakh Oct. 16 2004
By S. D Slack - Published on
I never knew the vituosity of Oistrakh until I listened to this cd. I was blown away mainly by the first disk. The rarely played Mozart one is very very good. I really enjoy listening to that song. The Brahms is great. Although you can hear coughing and moving and other distracting noises at the begining of the first movement it is quite good. The only reason I gave this a four and not a five is because you can hear alot of coughing throughout the pieces. The music in itself is worth five stars or if possible even more. If you'd like to hear more Oistrakh try his Tchaikovsky concerto. You can get for fairly cheap on this website plus you get the Piano concerto by Tchaikovsky which is breathtaking also.