CDN$ 38.44 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Only 1 left in stock. Sold by thebookcommunity_ca
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Played one time. Ships with DELIVERY CONFIRMATION. Inventory #CD2140
Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 59.19
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: Nadeshico-JAPAN-CA
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Arturo Toscanini Great Conduc

Price: CDN$ 38.44
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by thebookcommunity_ca.
4 new from CDN$ 38.44 5 used from CDN$ 9.85

Product Details

  • Audio CD (July 6 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: EMI Classics
  • ASIN: B00022UTPC
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #287,260 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Disc: 1
1. Adagio Sostenuto - Allegro Assai
2. I Allegro Non Troppo
3. II Andante Moderato
4. III Allegro Giocoso - Poco Meno Presto - Tempo I
5. IV Allegro Energico E Passionato - Piu Allegro
6. Symphonic Variations, Op.78
7. Intermezzo From Act III
Disc: 2
1. Ouverture
2. I Erwachen Heiterer Empfindungen Bei Der Ankunft Auf Dem Lande
3. II Szene Am Bach
4. III Lustiges Zusammensein Der Landleute
5. IV Gewitter - Sturm
6. V Hirtengesang. Frohe Und Dankbare Gefuhle Nach Dem Sturm
7. Gotterdammerung: Brunnhildes Opfer Und Erlosung
8. Norma: Introduction Chorus And Cavatina - Nicola Moscona

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa74ade70) out of 5 stars 4 reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa7676e28) out of 5 stars A worthy testimony to a legend, despite the antique sonics May 21 2006
By Santa Fe Listener - Published on
Format: Audio CD
It was unthinkable when I was young that anyone but Toscanini could be synonymous with "maestro," but evolving technology and changing tastes have dimmed his supreme reputation. The rise of Bernstein and Karajan brought new glamur to the podium, and the resurrection of Furtwangler from post-Nazi neglect gave us a musician whose inspiration exceeded Toscanini's. Now, even though the bulk of his recordings are still available, Toscanini stands in the front rank of great historical figures rather than among those whose musicmaking sitll feels fully alive (this is only a gneralization; there are some Toscanini performances that will thrill listeners forever).

This installment in the Great Conductors of the Century series does Toscanini full justice, I think. We hear the passion and razor-sharp precision that so astonished early audiences, but also the tendency to be too strict with the beat, too heated and rushed in phrasing. The highlight of this 2-CD colleciton is a live 1948 Brahms Fourth that collectors consider to be first choice among Toscanini's NBC peformances. I am not a collector, but this reading, despite the expected cramaped, boxy mono sound, is flexible, precise, and clean. Toscanini's Brahms was never musty, and since he actually played for the composer, one feels a strong continuity with the past.

The big work on CD 2 is a familiar Beethhoven Pastorale with the BBC Sym., less hard-driving than his NBC remake but in antique sound, especially annoying since the first oboe is front and center, drowning out half the orchestra. The 1941 Immolation scene with Helen Traubel has good radio sound for its day, with the soloist placed close to the mike. She is stalwart and secure, and Toscanini accompanies with his customary intensity and refusal to revere Wagner. The Francs-Juges Over. is given another alert, lithe performance that shows off Toscanini's approach to Berlioz, rather in the vein of Rossini. Despite the complaints of the reviewer below, these are good-enough transfers, but they fall short of RCA's almost miraculous remastering in their latest Toscanini the Immortal series.
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xb3df1804) out of 5 stars For Toscanini collectors only Feb. 16 2010
By EH - Published on
Format: Audio CD
It's a real pitty that the sound engineers could not make a better job with this 2 cd set (why not select recordings with a better sound?). I would love to hear Dvorak's Symphonic Variations and Brahms' 4th Symphony with a good (= decent) sound. Maybe another time. Recommended only for Toscanini collectors.
8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa7400cb4) out of 5 stars Great conducting; Poor Processing Aug. 15 2004
By Riccardo - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Despite the quality of most of the other sets in this laudable EMI series, this one is disappointing. The pieces are well chosen, but it sounds as though EMI were not able to find good sources for these rarities. The sound is certainly better somewhere else, so we have to listen through the poor recordings to hear Il Maestro. Still worth owning, but they could have done much better with this one.
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa7b2d2f4) out of 5 stars Great Conductors-Toscanini Aug. 7 2014
By James Wright III - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Great series. Too bad they stopped at #40