No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: CDN$ 5.34
includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read for Free
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Avanaux: The Adventures of the Space Heroine Hickory Lace (The Prosperine Trilogy Book 1) by [McDermott, PJ]
Kindle App Ad

Avanaux: The Adventures of the Space Heroine Hickory Lace (The Prosperine Trilogy Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.8 out of 5 stars 5 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
CDN$ 5.34

Length: 310 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled
  • Similar books to Avanaux: The Adventures of the Space Heroine Hickory Lace (The Prosperine Trilogy Book 1)

Kindle Featured Deals
Browse Kindle featured deals from our publishers. See more.

Product description

Product Description

For sixty years, the Alien Corps has searched for the Second Son of God.

When a native on the planet Prosperine is reported to be exorcising demons, curing blindness, and healing the sick, Hickory and her team are sent to investigate. If this “Teacher” proves to be the one in the prophecy, it will signal the beginning of the apocalypse.

But Hickory and her superiors aren’t the only ones interested in Prosperine. A sinister galactic force is planning to seize the planet’s reserves of crynidium, the key to faster than light travel. If they succeed, their next stop will be Earth and its colonies.

Hickory needs to stop the insurgents, discover what the Teacher is up to, and decide whether he is a fraud—or perhaps the very person the Alien Corps has been searching for.

Fans of Star Trek and Dune will love this action packed scifi fantasy.

Avanaux, book one of the Prosperine series, is also available in paperback.

What Amazon readers are saying about this scifi fantasy adventure.

“A Great read. Had me at the first chapter. I didn’t want to stop reading. Loved the plot, the story line, the action!!”

“Avanaux is a fun read, perfect for the backyard hammock or a comfortable beach chair while on holiday.”

“McDermott creates a very original and hopeful future world similar to the kind of sci-fi I grew up loving. His alien characters are delightful and believable. I couldn't wait to read the second book, Rise of the Erlachi, which is even better!”

Scroll up, purchase your copy today, and see why readers are calling McDermott "a contemporary Asimov".

About the Author

PJ McDermott was born in his grandparents house in the town of Barrhead just outside Glasgow, but spent most of his growing up in Ferguslie Park, a notorious suburb of Paisley, where he developed a healthy appreciation for self preservation. In his teens and early twenties, PJ sang and played in a number of bands on the local folk circuit and pub scene. By twenty-one, a girlfriend convinced him to go to Glasgow University where he had a ball, and graduated Bachelor of Science. When he graduated, he met and fell in love with an Aussie girl who convinced him to return to Melbourne with her. Married to Susan, they now have two children (Fiona and Gillian) and two grandchildren (Mia, who is especially cheeky) and Ryder Patrick (who is too young to be cheeky yet - but is very cute). PJ discovered a love for writing and published his first book in 2014 - a coming of age novel titled "Small Fish Big Fish," since fully re-visioned, revised and reissued. PJ is currently working on the third book in his science fiction series, the Prosperine Trilogy. The first two, "Avanaux: A Hickory Lace scifi-fantasy adventure," and "Rise of the Erlachi" are available in paperback and eBook.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 3689 KB
  • Print Length: 310 pages
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00S1SNAVE
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars 5 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #361,933 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • ¿Quieres informarnos sobre un precio más bajo?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?


click to open popover

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 5 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
Well, this book caught me totally unaware. I assumed, purely due to the rather fluffy name given to the main character and my in-built bias, that this was very much a young protagonist and yet another in a long line of coming of age tales, some good, but many not. It's not and Hickory is not. Although I don't think her actual age was ever mentioned.

It's a thoroughly absorbing story of an encounter with a technologically less advanced race, whom I found extremely fascinating. Alien humanoids of avian descent, who wouldn't be intrigued. Speaking of which, there's some great intrigue and conspiracies mixed in with the action.

The characters are very well developed, some charming, some downright nasty, but all enjoyable to meet.

It's the unusual premise of this series that makes it so unique and lifts it above many others. Hunting alien worlds for a possible re-emerged Jesus, as foretold by a prophesy. It's not preachy, ever, and most of the investigators are agnostic or atheist, which keeps a balance. No fanatics, just the scientific assessors of the Alien Corps.

And what and who they find on the planet of Prosperpine is truly intriguing.

I've now read the whole Trilogy and it was indeed an enthralling and enjoyable read that is definitely worth checking out.

Highly recommended!
One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
Title: Avanaux: A Hickory Lace novel
Author: PJ McDermott

4 unexpected stars

When it comes to science fiction, the possibilities for the storyline are endless - the worlds, the characters and the plot can be as vast as the galaxy or as small as a city and its inhabitants. PJ McDermott's Avanaux is the first novel in the Hickory Lace series and he hardly spares his readers when it comes to details. Although these details are incredible, it did make it difficult to fully immerse myself into this new world at the beginning, once I had a better understanding of the history behind the series, it made the journey much more enjoyable afterwards.

2 warmer dreams

Considering that the plot is about Hickory, a woman who sets out to find the alien chosen one, it's important to mention that even though the sexual tension wasn't at what I usually am used to, PJ McDermott managed to create characters that you still see things that you can relate to. It's a complex read, not one for the faint of heart, but once immersed, the rewards are undeniable. Considering my earlier difficulties, I really wouldn't mind re reading more than once, even if to revisit this new world.

*ARC provided by Author in exchange for an honest review. Reviewed by Kathleen*
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
While I make a habit load my shelf with Hugo and Nebula nominated hardcovers, this is exactly the type of quick, entertaining read I love to load my kindle with. Dont have a lot of self pub on my ereader, but the price was right... turns out this was a perfect bridge for me between Great North Road and Hyperion, the latter of which is blowing my mind right now. If you crossed The Expanse with Avatar with something Dan Brown wrote, you might come up with something close to the premise of Avanaux.
One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Avanaux is a wonderful exciting read! It takes place in 2179 and is such an interesting story that actually made me forget I was reading an e book which resulted in my attempting to turn pages on my iPad! Being a very novice science fiction reader, my attention was constantly captured, being almost unable to wait to discover what was going to happen next. PJ McDermott knows how to keep your interest and keep you on the edge of your seat! His description of the characters has you shaking your head wondering where he gets his ideas from. This is a must read for all audiences.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I enjoyed this very much!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse