Bach: English Suites & P... has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by SosaMedia
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Includes disc(s), case, booklet, and back artwork. May show slight wear. Disc(s) are professionally cleaned and may contain only light scratches that do not effect functionality.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Bach: English Suites & Partit Import

Price: CDN$ 20.70 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Usually ships within 7 to 11 days.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
10 new from CDN$ 15.63 3 used from CDN$ 15.31
Daily Deals

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Aug. 22 2006)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: NSS Music Inc.
  • ASIN: B000G8NW4C
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Prelude
2. Allemande
3. Courante
4. Sarabande
5. Bourree I
6. Bourree II
7. Repetatur Bourree
8. Gigue
9. Praeludium
10. Allemande
11. Corrente
12. Sarabande
13. Menuet I
14. Menuet II
15. Giga
16. Sinfonia
17. Allemande
18. Courante
19. Sarabande
20. Rondeaux
See all 29 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 5.0 out of 5 stars 4 reviews
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life Affirming Bach Oct. 18 2006
By Jim K - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I read about this cd in the Gramophone recently and found a used copy on Amazon. I am amazed! I had never heard of Anne-Marie McDermott but based on this cd she is a musician of rare insight - at least in this music. This is playing that moves the soul and gladdens the spirit. Her technique is impeccable and her voicing and timing of each movement perfection. Listening to this disc I thought of Fred Astaire dancing. Her playing has that same sublime elegance, sophistication and wit. This is a disc that all Bach lovers should have. I can't imagine anyone not falling in love with it.
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Bach piano CD ever! Nov. 17 2011
By Louis L - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Pristine, inspiring, lively sound. Anne-Marie McDermott will make you dance! An all-time must-have Bach piano recording, together with Martha Argerich recording of BWV 911 807 and 826, and Glenn Gould debut 1955 Golberg variations recording. Every single track is perfect! You will sometime discover what Bach realy wrote! Clearly a better interpretation than Ivo Pogorelich for exemple. Time disapear when you're of listening to it. Can't get better value for your money. If you love Bach, you will love this CD, forever. Thank you Anne-Marie!
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Recording Dec 16 2006
By Russ Sackowitz - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I have many recordings of this Bach music, but this is now my very favorite. Amazing technique, wonderful melodic lines, and joyful music making. I play this recording over and over and each time it is a wonder. This is a must have recording even if you have others.
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Superb Bach! March 2 2010
By J Scott Morrison - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Anne-Marie McDermott is not nearly as well-known as she should be. She has everything: intelligence, superb technique, musicality, ideas of her own, courage in her programming, and voracious curiosity about her instrument's literature. She has recorded, and played in recital, everything from Bach to Nancarrow. She studied with Constance Keene (another pianist not nearly well-known enough) and John Browning and made her Carnegie Hall début at twelve. She is a workaholic of the piano, practicing sometimes up to twelve hours a day. And she looks like a movie star. (OK, I know that's not relevant, but it IS true.) And on this CD she plays Bach as to the manner born.

The first track, the Prélude of the Second English Suite, is taken at breakneck speed and fair takes one's breath away. There is no sense of it being rushed, but rather one feels a kind of expansive joy in the ease and grace of the playing; one can hear McDermott enjoying herself, and because of her rock-solid security, even at this speed, one can feel it, too, without having to fear it will get out of control. The same is true, in spades, in the Gigue that concludes the Partita No. 1, which is then followed (clever planning on Bach's part!) by the oh-so-grand introduction to the Prélude of the next Partita, No. 2, which then loses its serious tone and becomes the jaunty Andante (this is a fast stroll, not a leisurely saunter, and in the last section the Prélude becomes a sprint). This is spectacular Bach playing, full of the juices of life. The concluding Third English Suite is more of the same; the Prélude throbs with energy, the Gavottes I & II make you dance, the Gigue has you up and spinning.

If I had to sum up McDermott's way with Bach I'd say that she removes his powdered wig and gives us a view of Bach, the flesh-and-blood human, full of the same kinds of passions as modern-day folks. And she does it with élan and impeccable musicianship.

Heartiest recommendation, and worth every penny.


Scott Morrison