Bach: Mass in B Minor has been added to your Cart

Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 35.05
& FREE Shipping. Details
Sold by:
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Bach: Mass in B Minor

Price: CDN$ 35.05 & FREE Shipping. Details
Only 1 left in stock.
Sold by Fulfillment Express CA and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
15 new from CDN$ 21.97 3 used from CDN$ 37.95

Product Details

  • Performer: Lucy Crowe, Joanne Lunn, Julia Lezhneva, Nathalie Stutzmann, Terry Wey, et al.
  • Orchestra: Les Musiciens du Louvre
  • Conductor: Marc Minkowski
  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
  • Audio CD (March 31 2009)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Naive
  • ASIN: B001JPB9LE
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #31,865 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Disc: 1
1. Kyrie: Kyrie eleison
2. Christe eleison
3. Kyrie eleison
4. Gloria: Gloria in excelsis
5. Et in terra pax
6. Laudamus te
7. Gratias agimus tibi
8. Domine Deus
9. Qui tollis peccata mundi
10. Qui sedes ad dextram patris
See all 12 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Credo: Credo in unum Deum
2. Patrem omnipotentem
3. Et in unum Dominum
4. Et incarnatus est
5. Crucifixus
6. Et resurrexit
7. Et in spiritum sanctum Dominum
8. Confiteor
9. Et expecto
10. Sanctus
See all 15 tracks on this disc

Product Description

Bach: Mass in B Minor

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9dbbdb34) out of 5 stars 4 reviews
40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9d0c3354) out of 5 stars Fresh, Exciting, OVPP March 31 2009
By R. Gerard - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
It seems as though Joshua Rifkin's theory that Bach performed his choral works with one voice per part (OVPP) has been cemented in standard repertoire. This release is likely to be ranked among historically informed, though not OVPP, recordings generally regarded as gold standards: Gardiner and Herreweghe.

What sets this set apart from the rest is not simply it's use of OVPP (indeed, it's been done before: the very first OVPP Bach recording was Rifkin's B-Minor Mass, followed by Andrew Parrott, then Cantus Colln), but because the singers in Minkowski's consort have the ability to sing as a unit and as soloists. The fatal flaw on many OVPP recordings (McCreesh's St. Matthew Passion included) is the tendency to use singers who function well only as a soloist or part of the ensemble. Minkowski has chosen well-known singers, yet pays close attention to how well they blend together as a unit, while as soloists, they express with the most hearfelt devotion and understanding the text they are singing.

This is Minkowski's first recording of Bach, and what a spectacular debut! He's proven himself a competent Handelian, brilliant conductor of Rameau, and I can only hope he offers more Bach in the near future (a new St. Matthew or St. John Passion perhaps?)

As for the conducting itself, Minkowski is not one who is known for moderate tempi. The tempi here are brisk, but for some reason they do not seem rushed. They seem exciting. Compare for instance the opening chorus of the "Gloria," and how differently Konrad Junghanel and Marc Minkowski bring out the colors at relatively fast speeds. Many might criticize Junghanel (an excellent conductor nonetheless) of rushing and making the chorus seem underpowered and anemic, while Minkowski's never loses its majesty, forward momentum, and almost dancelike quality.

Like in Herreweghe's recording, Minkowski's basso continuo has real PRESENCE. A must for any concerted work of Baroque repetoire, the basso continuo line must have presence and the performers must be able to be creative- to improvise their parts with impressive originality. Such efforts have been made in the astonishing opera recordings by Rene Jacobs, and one would wish for the same efforts to be applied to religious music- and Minkowski has done it. Minkowski plays with the cello/bass accompaniment in the continuo a bit to a achieve a greater sense of variety and drama within the choruses, for example, in the Dona Nobis and Pleni Sunt Coeli fugues.

One could not wish for better soloists, and this is indeed the key to a good OVPP record. Special mention goes to bass Christian Immler and Nathalie Stutzmann, whose Agnus Dei is one of the most stunning I've heard.

It is easily one of my new favorites in the Bach discography, and no serious collector of 'the father of modern music' should be without it.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9d0c3690) out of 5 stars A worthwhile addition to your collection of Bach Feb. 12 2015
By Arthur Mortensen - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
A great performance with minimal voicing and orchestration. Probably the tightest version I've ever head, yet it works as well as versions with thirty or more voices. In this, Minkowski uses one voice per part, which he claims (somewhere if not here) is a recommendation actually in the extant manuscripts.
12 of 20 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9d0d9660) out of 5 stars Bravo Minkowski...! March 31 2009
By dalmatian - Published on
Format: Audio CD
The above review has said all I wanted to say...the most exciting and moving recording of Bach's eternal masterpiece I have heard in a long time!
11 of 19 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9d4b3b04) out of 5 stars Best of the best Dec 28 2009
By L. Polgar - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Don't even think about it: BUY THIS RECORDING TODAY! Truly amazing. The most beautiful music by Bach and a triumph for the music world.