Bach: Works for Trumpet has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Bach: Works for Trumpet Import

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: CDN$ 25.48 & FREE Shipping. Details
Usually ships within 2 to 5 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
35 new from CDN$ 10.37 2 used from CDN$ 18.17

Frequently Bought Together

  • Bach: Works for Trumpet
  • +
  • Italian Concertos
  • +
  • Sound the Trumpet
Total price: CDN$ 69.30
Buy the selected items together

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Jan. 10 2006)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Warner Classics
  • ASIN: B000CNEO1G
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Allegro
2. Adagio
3. Allegro Assai
4. Sarabande
5. Gigue
6. Aria Variata in A Minor (Italian Variations) BWV 989
7. Gigue
8. Allegro
9. Largo
10. Allegro
11. Allegro
12. Largo
13. Presto
14. Aria: Bist du bei mir, BWV 508
15. Allegro
16. Larghetto
17. Allegro ma non tanto
18. Badinerie from Suite No. 2, BWV 1067
19. Agnus Dei

Product Description

Bach: Works For Trumpet

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Ce Bach avec orgue et trompette et un pur bonheur ! Deux beaux talents se sont unis pour nous faire ce magnifique album.

Alison Balsom possède son instrument à la perfection. On a envie de rejouer ce disque tous les jours. Pourquoi se priver

d'un si pur bonheur!!!

Madeleine B. Martin
Trois-Rivières, Québec, G8Y 3P4
2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9fe6969c) out of 5 stars 28 reviews
36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9fe761ec) out of 5 stars Alison Balsom Rocks My World!! Jan. 19 2006
By Kevin Peterson - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I purchased this CD at a recital Ms. Balsom was performing at. After having had the privilege of not only hearing this CD, but hearing her perform in person and meeting her for myself; I can HIGHLY recommend this CD.

Ms. Balsom's mastery of the trumpet is obvious in this CD. She sings beautifully throughout the instrument's full dynamic range, and her technical prowess is certainly as good as any of the "larger name" recording artists of today. Her interpretations are very solid as well.

This is a great CD to buy for anyone looking for a good recording of Bach's music rearranged for trumpet (the modern trumpet had not been designed yet in Bach's time). It's also worth mentioning that many of the arrangements performed on this CD were arranged by Ms. Balsom herself.
24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9fe76240) out of 5 stars a delight to discover Jan. 21 2006
By David R. Smedley - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I bought this album not knowing anything about Ms. Balsom, but being a trumpet aficionado (Marsalis, Andre, Alpert, Masekela) was curious as to how a female trumpeter would sound (I confess to having never heard of a female trumpeter).

Well, this CD is terrific. I like Bach's work and she interprets it in a clear and commanding style. It's right up there with my favourite classical trumpet cd, Marsalis' Baroque Music for Trumpets, and I look forward to hearing from and seeing Ms. Balsom here in the States.
23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9fe76678) out of 5 stars Ms. Balsom sounds sweet and commanding Jan. 21 2006
By A. Yates - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I honestly enjoy these arrangements of Bach pieces for the trumpet and Ms. Balsom sounds beautiful on all of the them. I congratulate her in producing a high-quality CD and look forward to hearing more of her in the future. Her facility on the instrument is sweet and complete. If you like solo trumpet music, this will be a treat for the ears.
43 of 59 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9fe76a38) out of 5 stars a magnificent player, but not yet artistically mature Sept. 7 2006
By D. Jack Elliot - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Balsom delivers an attractive disc here, with her impressive technical skill and a sophisticated seriousness of purpose in her programming, but there's something important missing from this album. Balsom plays with magnificent virtuosity, but she presents no message, no artistic voice, no aesthetic philosophy, no unique understanding of or approach to these works of J.S. Bach. I think she's overly preoccupied with proving herself. There's a Carnival of Venice sort of character to this disc: bars and bars of sixteenth notes flow effortlessly from her trumpet, and then bars and bars more, but for all that you get no sense of a distinct musical personality. (Her tone is very French as well: focused and bright. You can hear that she's been taking Håkan Hardenberger pills. Personally I'm not fond of this sort of trumpet sound, but I understand that it's a matter of taste.)

I have an album of Bach oboe concerti, played by Heinz Hollinger, that's similar to Balsom's effort here: flawlessly even, rapid-fire delivery of difficult lines is emphasized. But what Hollinger communicates that Balsom doesn't is a certain idiosyncrasy, a sense that only Hollinger could play those pieces quite like that, even if another oboist were to match his tempos. Even Wynton Marsalis -- who was often criticized for being mechanical and stylistically daft in his classical recordings of the '80s -- evinced an amiable flair and attitude that Balsom here lacks.

Listen, for example, to the slow, lyrical movements: the sarabande from the D minor cello suite, say. This is the sort of music through which an instrumentalist of consummate artistry -- a Milstein, or a Fournier -- could explore his own aesthetic vision while at same time revealing to us the sublime depth and breadth of Bach's artistry. With Balsom, though, there's no insight... it's all very pretty and she really means it, but you can't say much more about her reading. Not having hundreds and hundreds of notes to keep track of in this movement, she seems a bit unsure of exactly where to direct her energies.

Even so, I think that a musician must be of immense skill to merit this sort of criticism at all. Lesser players delight for being very good; Balsom here disappoints just a bit because her playing hints at true greatness but isn't quite there. Balsom is a magnificent player lacking a distinct voice, and if she develops one she will become one of the most important instrumentalists on the scene.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9fe76b1c) out of 5 stars Bach and Balsom March 24 2013
By H. D. Raney - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I have been ripping through and comparing a lot of classical music recently. And for some reason I have been focusing on trumpet pieces. The Marsalis version of the Brandenburg second has me obsessed. And everywhere you go is Miss Balsom. I wondered, could this beauty really play. Well, good Lord, I can see why she has groupies. These Bach pieces are enough to make one seek a live concert. Seriously, this human has chops. The suite is enough to make this disc worth the Amazon mp3 price. I don't see where it is available in vinyl or I would buy my audiophile friend a copy too.

Get it. Listen to it. It is one of the finest things I have put in my ears this week.