Ballets - Robert Craft Ed... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Ballets - Robert Craft Edition Box set

Price: CDN$ 43.01 & FREE Shipping. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
19 new from CDN$ 43.01

Product Details

  • Performer: Craft; Philharmonia Orchestra; Lso
  • Composer: Stravinsky Igor
  • Audio CD (March 31 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 6
  • Format: Box set
  • Label: Nsp
  • ASIN: B001QUL6Z6
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #146,642 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9b833b64) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9bcc863c) out of 5 stars Wonderfully Craft-ed Performances Oct. 1 2009
By Steven H. Koenig - Published on
Firebird (orig. 1910), Petrushka (rev, 1947), Apollo, Agon, Orpheus, Pulcinella, Fairy's Kiss, Rite of Spring, Nightingale, Jeu des cartes, Danses concertantes, Scène de Ballet, Variations, Capriccio for Piano and Orchestra (Rubies from Jewels)

Robert Craft, as many will know, was Stravinsky's friend, confidant, and book-cowriter from 1948 until the composer's death in 1971, and therefore has accordant insight into his music. He conducted the American premieres of both of Alban Berg's operas, as well as plenty of Varèse and Webern. Dig up William Zagorski's Fanfare review of this Pulcinella for a fascinating anecdote of his first encounter with Craft when he was in university.

Naxos has boxed up these six separately-available budget-priced discs at an even lower price; the set lists at $39.99USD. Each disc has notes for each work, written by Robert Craft. Some of the booklets are downright chunky, and all compositions with texts (Pulcinella, Oedipus, Les Noces, Nightingale) present them in their original languages plus side-by-side English translations; you will not have to go online for them. Thanks, Naxos.

All of these recordings were previously released on the now defunct Koch International Classics and MusicMasters labels. This box will serve anyone well as a standard Stravinsky reference set, even those who already own the Sony 22-CD Stravinsky box or the 8-disc Ansermet on Decca.

Naxos deserves kudos for reissuing much of Koch's twentieth century releases- Roger Sessions, Charles Wuroinen, et al. Others of the Craft/ Stravinsky not in the present box is reissued by Naxos, but Threni (Lamentations of Jeremiah), from Koch KIC 7514, and many others remain in limbo. Any chance of these too, Naxos?

Steve Koenig, Editor, AcousticLevitation dot org, a journal of art, music and culture
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9b96b1f8) out of 5 stars Good start to Stravinsky's works July 9 2013
By being_and_time - Published on
Verified Purchase
This compilation serves as a good supplement to Stravinsky's own run, especially given the close relationship they shared. Craft's recordings are better recorded and are very well performed. For the price and scope of works, not a bad investment. However, I wouldn't want to do without the many other recordings of individual works by the likes of Boulez, Solti, Bernstein and others who take more chances with interpretations. Whether they work or not depends a lot on my listening mood at the time.
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9bfe9f90) out of 5 stars Good Value July 1 2012
By Corno di Bass Trombono - Published on
Verified Purchase
As with most boxes of this kind there are hits as well as misses. Nothing is badly done, although I find the Sacre and a few others more successful in other recordings. This is certainly good value for the money.