Bartered Bride Overture; ... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Bartered Bride Overture; Dvorá

Price: CDN$ 21.37 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 35. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
5 new from CDN$ 21.37 4 used from CDN$ 19.71

Product Details

  • Performer: Klaus Tennstedt
  • Composer: Smetana; Dvorak; Janacek
  • Audio CD (Aug. 19 2011)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Bbcl
  • ASIN: B00018D5A8
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #329,260 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Vivacissimo
2. I. Allegro Con Brio
3. II. Adagio
4. III. Allegretto Grazioso - Molto Vivace
5. IV. Allegro Ma Non Troppo
6. I. Allegretto - Allegro - Maestoso
7. II. Andante - Allegretto - Maestoso - Tempo I
8. III. Moderato - Con Moto - Piu Mosso - Prestissimo - Moderato
9. IV. Allegretto
10. V. Andante Con Moto - Maestoso - Tempo I. - Allegretto - Maestoso - Adagio

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 5.0 out of 5 stars 3 reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give us more live Tennstedt! Sept. 8 2006
By Santa Fe Listener - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
One can only hope, on the strength of this wonderful CD, that the two labels now turning out Tennstedt's concert material--BBC Legends and Profil--have many more in their vaults. Tennstedt was a traditionalist, and his concerts featured mainstream German masterpieces for the most part, with side trips into Czech and Russian music. Here the theme is Czech, and the first bars of the Bartered Bride Over. reveal what's to come: zesty playing, good stereo sound (except for boomy timpani, but that's not excessive), and vibrant conducting.

The main work at hand is the Dvorak Eighth Sym., a work I always long to hear in better performances than it seems to get. This one is a joy--carefully played in its details, very personal and full of emotion. It's the opposite of Szell's energized, extroverted reading on Sony, closer to Harnoncourt's equally personal one on Teldec. This celebratory symphony becomes a touching tribute to a meastro dying of cancer in 1991, and the London Phil. plays with exuberance, particularly the wind soloists. As you'd expect Tennstedt's approach is more Germanic than Czech (i.e., a little foursquare in the Scherzo), but invigorating nonetheless. I'd rate it my favorite performance on disc.

The program of 72 min. ends with the Janacek Sinfonietta, a very tricky work to bring off. The brass and violins don't perform their fiendishly difficult parts in tune all the time, but Tennstedt conducts in the right spirit--fast, exciting, full of barbaric yawps. Another riveting performance to cap an outstanding memnto of a great musician.
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great concert recorded Sept. 4 2004
By The Night Owl out on the Town - Published on
Format: Audio CD
These three Czech pieces all come from a single concert, and what a thrilling night at Festival Hall it must have been for those lucky enough to attend April 2 1991.

The Smetana overture has plenty of zip and point. The Janacek is edgy and bright. The Dvorak symphony goes especially well, with Tennstedt whipping some extra fizz at the climax.

No wonder this conductor's reputation has grown with time.

The few moments of untidiness are more than made up by the electricity of the live concert.Tennstedt and the LPO seem to throw themselves into the music.

Thank you BBC for making it available.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best Dvorak 8th May 23 2015
By -- - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I fell in love with Dvorak 8th symphony when I first heard it on a radio broadcast. My first CD of this work was one of the EMI Phoenixa Series - Barbirolli conducting the Halle orchestra. Under Barbirolli, the cello tutti of the first movement opening was very musically played. The Halle playing was passionate but not polished. I sampled recordings by Karajan, Talich, Chung and many others including 2 other Tennestedt recordings. This one is the best.

The Tennstedt with the London Philharmonic is the most moving version amongst all other versions. For example, listen to the phrases where the strings led the return of the cello theme in the first movement, the atmosphere was magical. Throughout the first 3 movements, there is a hint of autumnal melancholy. In my view, this is exactly the composer's intention, like the Dumky movements in the piano quintet Op. 81 and the trio Op. 90 where melancholy and celebratory were alternated.

Tennstedt's other two versions: the EMI studio and the Testament with Berliner Philharmoniker do not measure up to this one. Tennstedt seemed much less inspired in a recording studio. The Testament, recorded live in 1980, was in a much faster tempo and there are not many magical moments as there are in the BBC albeit the Berliners played the symphony flawlessly.