CDN$ 116.59 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Only 1 left in stock. Sold by USA_Seller_4_Canada
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: All items ship from California, USA. This item is guaranteed to play perfectly, with all original artwork and materials.
Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 150.31
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: thebookcommunity_ca
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Beethoven: Missa Solemnis Import

Price: CDN$ 116.59
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by USA_Seller_4_Canada.
2 new from CDN$ 116.59 4 used from CDN$ 34.02

Product Details

  • Audio CD (April 23 2002)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Import
  • Label: British Broadcasting Corp.
  • ASIN: B000063COQ
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Disc: 1
1. Missa Solemnis In D Major, Op.123: I. Kyrie. Assai Sostenuto. Mit Andacht - Robert Tear
2. Missa Solemnis In D Major, Op.123: II. Gloria. Allegro Vivace - Robert Tear
3. Missa Solemnis In D Major, Op.123: III. Credo. Allegro Ma Non Troppo - Robert Tear
4. Missa Solemnis In D Major, Op.123: IV. Sanctus. Adagio. Mit Andacht - Robert Tear
Disc: 2
1. Missa Solemnis In D Major, Op.123: V. Agnus Dei. Adagio - Robert Tear
2. Symphony No.4 In C Minor, D 417 'Tragic': I. Adagio Molto - Allegro Vivace - New Philharmonia Orchestra
3. Symphony No.4 In C Minor, D 417 'Tragic': II. Andante - New Philharmonia Orchestra
4. Symphony No.4 In C Minor, D 417 'Tragic': III. Menuetto. Allegro Vivace - Trio - New Philharmonia Orchestra
5. Symphony No.4 In C Minor, D 417 'Tragic': IV. Allegro - New Philharmonia Orchestra

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa32e6990) out of 5 stars 1 review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa3b7a1bc) out of 5 stars Avoid this one due to totally unacceptable recorded sound July 23 2014
By I. Martinez-Ybor - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This is a lousy recording of what probably was a fine performance. Giulini was a marvelous conductor and his later commercial recording of the Missa Solemnis shows his winning ways with this great score. However this recording, probably the hook to buy the album, is technically a total disaster and should be avoided. St. Paul's Cathedral's acoustics where the live performance was recorded, proved to be a venue which totally defeated the BBC engineers. Note that other recordings have emerged from the facility unscathed and are quite estimable. Not this one. The reverberation (and how it was miked) renders every bar a total muddle. Sections of the orchestra become globs of undefined sound. All of this is made worse by Giulini's then conventional use of large forces. It is a shame, for earlyish Giulini is always a treasure to hear. But this performance is a sonic blur. Probably sitting in the nave at the actual performance it may have sounded clearer than what we get to hear in this unfortunate disc. I gave it two stars because the Schubert "filler", recorded in a theatre in Scotland, is quite good and benefits from decent recorded sound. Note that the Symphony #4 is Schubert's not Beethoven's; Amazon should correct the title entry as it makes it seem both works were Beethoven's.