• List Price: CDN$ 21.00
  • You Save: CDN$ 6.31 (30%)
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 35.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Big Stone Gap: A Novel has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 6.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Ships from the USA. Please allow 2 to 3 weeks for delivery. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Book shows a small amount of wear - very good condition. Selection as wide as the Mississippi.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Big Stone Gap: A Novel Paperback – Apr 3 2001

4.1 out of 5 stars 159 customer reviews

See all 24 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
CDN$ 14.69
CDN$ 9.36 CDN$ 0.01

Unlimited FREE Two-Day Shipping for Six Months When You Try Amazon Student
click to open popover


Frequently bought together

  • Big Stone Gap: A Novel
  • +
  • Milk Glass Moon: A Novel
  • +
  • Big Cherry Holler: A Novel
Total price: CDN$ 44.29
Buy the selected items together

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books (April 3 2001)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0345438329
  • ISBN-13: 978-0345438324
  • Product Dimensions: 13 x 1.6 x 20.2 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 249 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars 159 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #226,202 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • ¿Quieres informarnos sobre un precio más bajo?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

From Amazon

In the town of Big Stone Gap, Virginia, not much happens. The highlight of 35-year-old Ave Maria Mulligan's week comes on Friday, with the arrival of the Bookmobile, the sight of which sends her into raptures. Her favorite book concerns the ancient Chinese art of reading faces. Through her face-readings, we come to understand the hostilities simmering within her family: her father whose small eyes are the clear "sign of a deceptive nature." Her aunt who "has a small head and thin lips. (That's a terrible combination.)" Adriana Trigiani's first novel concerns the family scandals that befall Ave Maria in this seemingly uneventful town. Greed, lust, envy--all the ancient emotional elements--manifest themselves even in this hamlet of "ordinary folk." Fans of Fannie Flagg or Rebecca Wells will enjoy this down-home tale, full of small, everyday details and colloquial revelations. The writing is often awkward, but so too are the characters who inhabit this place: the Bookmobile lady who thinks of herself as the sexiest woman alive; the amateur actors in the local Outdoor Drama who bristle with ambition when they hear that Elizabeth Taylor is coming to visit. In Big Stone Gap, her visit is so anticipated, it's like she's an angel sent from heaven. --Ellen Williams --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From Publishers Weekly

Trigiani's story of a middle-aged spinster finding love and a sense of self in a small Virginia coal town is a lot like a cold soda on a hot summer day: light and refreshing, if just a little too sweet. Trigiani, a playwright, filmmaker and former writer for The Cosby Show, has a Southern voice that perfectly embodies her main character, the embattled Ave Maria Mulligan. Ave Maria, who's satisfied if not exactly happy in her role as the town pharmacist, begins questioning her quiet, country life after a posthumous letter from her mother reveals a jarring secret. Ave Maria soon faces a crisis of identity, the advances of a surprising suitor and the threat of her acerbic, money-grubbing Aunt Alice. From the suitor, who points out his brand-new pickup truck during a marriage proposal, to the town temptress, who dispenses romantic advice from her bookmobile, Trigiani brings the story alive with her flexible vocal inventions. Fans of true love stories and happy endings certainly won't be disappointed. Based on the Random hardcover (Forecasts, Jan. 31).
Copyright 2000 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

See all Product description

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

on March 2, 2004
Format: Paperback
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon December 9, 2010
Format: Paperback
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2002
Format: Hardcover
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2000
Format: Hardcover
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews