CDN$ 20.47 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Only 1 left in stock - order soon. Sold by North American Books

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Black Cherry (5 Mixes) (9 Tracks) Single, Enhanced, Maxi

Price: CDN$ 20.47
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Ships from and sold by North American Books.
4 used from CDN$ 25.90

Product Details

  • Audio CD (July 27 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Single, Enhanced, Maxi
  • Label: EMI
  • ASIN: B0002CHHKM
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #326,030 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Baclk Cherry (Single Mix)
2. Gone To Earth
3. Forever (Mountaineers Remix)
4. Black Cherry (M83 Remix)
5. Black Cherry (Lawrence Remix)

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9d265a20) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9d9d1780) out of 5 stars Another great Goldfrapp single Aug. 18 2004
By Cardigans8 - Published on
Format: Audio CD
This single is another great addition to any Goldfrapp collection. Like the other US releases of their singles, it combines what was on some of the imports and adds video tracks. Here's how I'd review each track:

1.Black Cherry (Single Mix):An excellent update of the song. This version adds a stronger backing bassline and beats and speeds it up and edits it a bit for single length, making a great track that rivals the longer album version.

2.Gone To Earth:A very dreamy, delicate b-side that almost makes you feel lost and free. It is very atmospheric, like some of their other b-sides, and lacks a real lyrical structure, so it remains just a good b-side.

3.Forever (Mountaineers Remix):This is another great Goldfrapp remix, bringing so much life into the slow song. It adds so many beats and so much dimension, changing it into a midtempo and almost radio-friendly pop song.

4.Black Cherry (M83 Remix):By far the best mix on the CD. This mix just adds so many new levels to the already layered song. It builds slowly and rises quickly to a grand climax that alone makes the single worth the purchase price. If you like this mix, definitely check out M83's CD 'Dead Cities, Red Seas, and Lost Ghosts'. It is amazing!

5.Black Cherry (Lawrence Remix):A mediocre mix, but not a bad one. It is a bit too slow even for Black Cherry and gets a bid repetitive and draggy towards the end. It is very quiet and pales in comparison to the superior M83 mix, but is an exclusive track since it is only found on the import DVD single.

Enhanced videos:

6.Black Cherry (Live In London):A live version of the song that does not have that great quality of footage. It is a nice extra, but nothing memorable. Otherwise available only on the import DVD single.

7.Sartorius (Live At Route Du Rock, St. Malo, 2001):An unreleased song that is pretty good. Again the live footage is not great, maybe just because the stage show at the concert was not very impressive overall. Also on the import DVD single.

8.Strict Machine (Video):An entertaining, but overly artsy music video. It is nice for the collection, though, and another CD exclusive.

9.Twist (Video):This video is quite the sexual double entendre. Look for all the hidden messages in this animated rollercoaster video that really surpasses the Strict Machine video by far. This is another CD exclusive.

Overall, a great single that beats the Strict Machine maxi-single for its depth of material, but does not match the Twist maxi-single, which was really a 5-star package.
HASH(0x9d2cffa8) out of 5 stars Goldfrapp - Black Cherry Feb. 24 2011
By scoundrel - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Goldfrapp continues her takeover of the electronic world. The title track from her album BLACK CHERRY gets a remix treatment here. Also included is "Gone to Earth," a quiet and spacious track that seems to be the bridge between her first and second albums. A cool and slightly eerie track, it blends the melancholia of FELT MOUNTAIN (via harpsichord and toy piano) with the electronic bass of BLACK CHERRY. The Mountaineers start out "Forever" by stripping it down to a stark and robotic dirge, before opening up into an electro swirl. M83 put "Black Cherry" through the same electro blender, resulting in a dense and thrumming block of ice. When Lawrence gets his hands on "Black Cherry," however, it becomes spacy and ambient. Though these tracks aren't going to take over dancefloors the way "Strict Machine" and "Twist" did, they showcase Goldfrapp's love of pop music experimentalism.

Look for similar items by category