3 used & new from CDN$ 34.63

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Bless The Child (Ltd Ed) (Digi

Available from these sellers.
1 new from CDN$ 57.22 2 used from CDN$ 34.63

Product Details

  • Audio CD (March 8 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Spinefarm
  • ASIN: B0001K63I2
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #343,404 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Import-only compilation featuring B-sides, live and rare tracks by this Finnish Goth-influenced Symphonic Metal band fronted by the classically-trained vocalist Tarja Turunen. Includes cuts like 'The Wayfarer' (originally only on the Japanese edition of their album Century Child) and 'Once Upon A Troubadour' and 'Return To The Sea' (both originally from the first Finnish pressing of Angels Fall First). Eight tracks. Universal.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 4.3 out of 5 stars 6 reviews
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A useful gathering of bits 'n' pieces March 11 2008
By Paul Lawrence - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
A flick through the product available under the Nightwish banner will give you the impression that the band are pretty good at parting fans from their money via special editions, odds and sods collections and singles with bonus track variations. They're not KISS but given time they may start to give Iron Maiden a run for their money.

All of which isn't to deny the validity of this disc as it does gather together a bunch of bonus tracks and oddities. First up is the straight version of Bless the Child from the Century Child album. Track two is The Wayfarer from the Japanese version of Century Child which scoots along at a rate of knots on the back of some brisk arrangements.

The next two tracks - Come Cover Me and Dead Boys Poem - are live tracks lifted from the album From Wishes to Eternity. So not rare at all really.... But after that we get two more tunes hitherto less widely available as they were used as bonus tracks on limited edition versions of Angels Fall First. Both are in the Nightwish idiom with Once Upon A Troubadour being quite a mellow number with Tarja taking the fore with her acquired taste of a voice dominating. A Return to the Sea is also an atmospheric number that builds up through various passages and is blessed with a biting Emppu guitar flourish or three and overall it feels like it is more geared towards the prog end of the bands sound at that time of their career.

Following that is a 'heavy' version of Sleepwalker apparently used on the Japanese version of Wishmaster. Quite why you'd put out a 'heavy' version of something I'm not sure but hey, what do I know?

The album closes with an early track - Nightquest - from the Japanese version of Oceanborn. Like the rest of this collection it feels very much in keeping with everything else on the disc and the production values of the entire release are just like the studio albums they are from - this isn't a bunch of half-baked demo versions.

All up a well worthwhile platter for Nightwish minions to sink their teeth into and lyrics to the whole thing are included. But keep in mind that there are good songs here but none of the genuinely rarer tracks are utterly necessary for your life and of the eight tracks here three are easily available on standard releases. So it's your call as to whether to buy this or just download the five rarer tracks.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good way to get most of the bonus tracks Dec 2 2004
By LiseKatherine - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
I got this album basically because it was probably the easiest/cheapest way to get most of the bonus tracks offered on the exorbitant Japanese import albums. Since there are eight songs in all, it IS almost like buying a complete disc by itself, which was another big selling point to me. I've only just begun collecting Nightwish CD's and like their other material that I'm familiar with so far, it does not disappoint at all. In particular, the songs "A Return to the Sea", "Sleepwalker", and "Nightquest" should not be missed. The only bonus song they neglected to include is "Sleeping Sun" which isn't too hard to come by on other albums. If you're a big fan and want the bonus material, I would definitely recommend this CD as an excellent means to do so.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its a nice collection of songs and a good addition to any ... Feb. 15 2015
By Dean Martin - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Beware, the song Lagoon is not on this CD as stated by one reviewer. Of course, that was the main reason I bought it. Oh well. Still, its a nice collection of songs and a good addition to any Nightwish collection. I still can't believe they let Tarja go.
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lagoon could be my favorite NW song Dec 26 2010
By Marshall - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I had to buy this CD after hearing "Lagoon" on YouTube and finding out that it only exists on this (tiny) collection of Nightwish songs. The other two songs on this CD consist of another "B" side release "The Wayfarer" and a condensed version of "Bless the Child". If you're already familiar with the longer album-length version of "Bless the Child" this shorter version will likely be jarring to you. If it weren't for "Lagoon", I would rate this as very overpriced - it's $3 a song as it is. But "Lagoon", to me, is worth the price of admission and is possibly my favorite Nightwish song - I fell in love with it as soon as I heard it. So for that alone, I give the CD 4 out of 5 stars. Take a preview listen to "Lagoon" and "The Wayfarer" before purchasing - if they aren't great to you or if you aren't a "must have every Nightwish song" collector, the price isn't worth it.
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff! Aug. 13 2015
By Peter Thomas - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Not a bad note on this collection of favorites from the Tarja Days...