CDN$ 6.10 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
In Stock. Sold by Rarewaves-CA

Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 6.11
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: BonnieScotland
Add to Cart
CDN$ 6.23
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: usedsalesca
Add to Cart
CDN$ 7.62
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: BestSellerRecordShop
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Boeuf Sur Letoit Import

Price: CDN$ 6.10
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Rarewaves-CA.
22 new from CDN$ 6.10 5 used from CDN$ 6.09

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Feb. 12 2002)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Virgin France
  • ASIN: B00005IA1V
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Introduction and Rondo capriccioso in A minor Op. 28
2. Méditation religieuse - Symphonie (from Thaïs)
3. Havanaise in E Op. 83
4. Tzigane
5. Valse-Caprice, d'après l'Etude en forme de valse pour piano Op. 52 No. 6
6. Danse macabre in G minor Op. 40
7. Rêverie et caprice Op. 8
8. Le Boeuf sur le toit Op. 58

Product Description

Just another disc of flashy French frippery? Actually, no. You may not have heard of violinist Renaud Capuçon but on the basis of this recital CD, he's an A-list player, no question. And it's a well chosen recital, too, combining the popular (Massenet's "Méditation", Saint-Saëns' Introduction et rondo capriccioso) with some slightly more off-beat choices (Berlioz's Rêverie et caprice, Milhaud's Le Boeuf sur le toit in its violin-and-orchestra incarnation). Capuçon plays a Strad that once belonged to the great Fritz Kreisler, and the sound that he makes is ravishing and richly multi-faceted, whether in Saint-Saëns' fiendish Danse macabre or Ravel's gypsy-inspired Tgizane. Perhaps the best is left till last--Milhaud's own arrangement of Boeuf (intended, though never used, as an accompaniment to footage of Charlie Chaplin). Already outrageous in spirit and harmony in its purely orchestral guise, the addition of a fiendish solo part (complete with a manic cadenza by Honegger) seems to have inspired even greater musical malarkey. It's a piece that falls flat on its face if the players aren't up to it, but that's simply not an issue here. Capuçon's brilliance is matched throughout the disc by the playing of the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie under the inspired leadership of Daniel Harding, and the recording is a fine one. The very thing to brighten the darkest of days. --Harriet Smith

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa1bfa54c) out of 5 stars 1 review
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa1bcc804) out of 5 stars A fiine recital of French solo violin/ orchestral favorites Sept. 18 2006
By M. Levitt - classical music buff - Published on
Format: Audio CD
This is a CD of standard French bon bons for solo violin and orchestra. The violinist, Renaud Capucon, is an established professional violinist, but not exactly a house hold name, with an international super star reputation and following.

He plays with complete ease, the phrasing always musical, and never schmaltzy, or overdone, or in any way "look at me, and what I can do." If anything, Capucon's playing is laid back, his tone is absolutely beautiful, clear, and pure.

He is placed in a somewhat recessed position, miked separately from the Deutsche Kammermuskorchester, yet forward and balanced within the overall scheme. The result is somewhat like an orchestral concert, yet Capucon, and his instrument are never swallowed up or overwhelmed by the orchestra.

The program begins with a lovely, unshowy and unexagerated perfomance of Saint Saens Introduction and Rondo Capriccios, switches to Massanet's Meditation from "Thais", and includes music by Ravel, Berlioz and Milhaud.

It would be nice to hear Capucon pull out all stops, say, in the Ravel Tzigane, but that is not his style. This is the sort of CD that is very easy to listen to, enjoy, and want to come back repeatedly. This is really stylish playing, the sort one simply doesn't hear with a number of prominent violinists.

In addition, the CD offers, on a single disc, what ordinarily is spread out on several CDs, and sometimes hard to track down, even with a lot of effort.

The sound is in the very best digital condition, with a totally silent background, excellent definition, balance, and instrumental tone throughout.

The program consists of:

1. Saint Saens: Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso

2. Massanet: Meditation from "Thais"

3. Saint Saens: Havanaise

4. Ravel: Tzigane

5. Saint Saens (arranged by Ysaye): Valse-caprice

6. Saint Saens: Danse macabre

7. Berlioz: Reverie et Caprice

8. Milhaud: Le Boeuf sur le toit

Daniel Harding conducts a fine Deutsche Kammerorchester. Timing is 73:49.