Kindle Price: CDN$ 10.99

Save CDN$ 12.00 (52%)

includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Book of Speculation: A Novel by [Swyler, Erika]
Kindle App Ad

The Book of Speculation: A Novel Kindle Edition

3.2 out of 5 stars 5 customer reviews

See all 16 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
CDN$ 10.99

Length: 350 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Product description

Review

""The Book of Speculation "is a luscious experience--dark, sweet, and wild." --Katherine Dunn

"In this dazzling novel, the immensely talented Erika Swyler sweeps seamlessly through generations and centuries, moving deftly back and forth and weaving the strands into an exquisite tapestry. I was immediately swept up in this quirky, raucous, and bewitching family saga. Swyler's prose is so polished and elegant it reads effortlessly, even as her distinct voice shines through--her rendering of the sea and its savage appetite rivals that of Annie Proulx's in "The Shipping News." I absolutely loved this book, and consumed it whole. My only complaint is that I am already on the edge of my seat waiting for her next." --Sara Gruen
""The Book of Speculation "is a luscious experience--dark, sweet, and wild." --Katherine Dunn

In this dazzling novel, the immensely talented Erika Swyler sweeps seamlessly through generations and centuries, moving deftly back and forth and weaving the strands into an exquisite tapestry. I was immediately swept up in this quirky, raucous, and bewitching family saga. Swyler's prose is so polished and elegant it reads effortlessly, even as her distinct voice shines through--her rendering of the sea and its savage appetite rivals that of Annie Proulx's in THE SHIPPING NEWS. I absolutely loved this book, and consumed it whole. My only complaint is that I am already on the edge of my seat waiting for her next.--Sara Gruen, author of WATER FOR ELEPHANTS and AT THE WATER'S EDGE

THE BOOK OF SPECULATION is a luscious experience--dark, sweet, and wild.--Katherine Dunn, author of GEEK LOVE

While a book whose narrative hinges on drowning might not seem like a great beach read, Swyler's debut effort, redolent of salty ocean air, is just that...Its clever plot--fueled by a musty book and a powerful set of tarot cards--and Swyler's wonderful descriptions keep the pages swimming along. "Entertainment Weekly"

A good book is magical. A piece of our heart stays tucked inside its lines when we return the book to its place on our shelf. Good novels about good books can be even more special, doubling the fun with two tomes to love. And when the book within the book is actually magical, as it is - or may be - in Erika Swyler's "The Book of Speculation," well, let the wild read start. "Star-Telegram"

Mermaids, tarot card readers, a wild man and other carnival characters work their literary magic in this debut novel...packed with fresh, unexpected marvels. "Oprah.com"

A wonderful novel, full of mystery through the centuries [with] great details about carnival life, similar to "The Night Circus" by Erin Morgenstern. "The Daily American"

In this dazzling novel, the immensely talented Erika Swyler sweeps seamlessly through generations and centuries, moving deftly back and forth and weaving the strands into an exquisite tapestry. I was immediately swept up in this quirky, raucous, and bewitching family saga. Swyler's prose is so polished and elegant it reads effortlessly, even as her distinct voice shines through--her rendering of the sea and its savage appetite rivals that of Annie Proulx's in THE SHIPPING NEWS. I absolutely loved this book, and consumed it whole. My only complaint is that I am already on the edge of my seat waiting for her next. Sara Gruen, author of WATER FOR ELEPHANTS and AT THE WATER'S EDGE

THE BOOK OF SPECULATION is a luscious experience--dark, sweet, and wild. Katherine Dunn, author of GEEK LOVE

Debut author Swyler creates a melancholy world with hints of magic at the edges. . . Fans of. . . Erin Morgenstern's THE NIGHT CIRCUS, Katherine Dunn's GEEK LOVE, or Katherine Howe's THE PHYSICK BOOK OF DELIVERANCE DANE, won't want to leave this festival. "Library Journal"

Illustrations by the author add even more atmosphere to her prose. "Booklist""

Product Description

One of BuzzFeed's 24 Best Fiction Books of 2015

"As Simon, a lonely research librarian, searches frantically for the key to a curse that might be killing the women in his family, he learns strange and fascinating secrets about their past. A tale full of magic and family mystery, The Book of Speculation will keep you up all night reading."—Isaac Fitzgerald, BuzzFeed

Simon Watson, a young librarian, lives alone in a house that is slowly crumbling toward the Long Island Sound. His parents are long dead. His mother, a circus mermaid who made her living by holding her breath, drowned in the very water his house overlooks. His younger sister, Enola, ran off six years ago and now reads tarot cards for a traveling carnival.

One June day, an old book arrives on Simon's doorstep, sent by an antiquarian bookseller who purchased it on speculation. Fragile and water damaged, the book is a log from the owner of a traveling carnival in the 1700s, who reports strange and magical things, including the drowning death of a circus mermaid. Since then, generations of "mermaids" in Simon's family have drowned--always on July 24, which is only weeks away.

As his friend Alice looks on with alarm, Simon becomes increasingly worried about his sister. Could there be a curse on Simon's family? What does it have to do with the book, and can he get to the heart of the mystery in time to save Enola?

In the tradition of Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants, Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, and Elizabeth Kostova's The Historian, The Book of Speculation--with two-color illustrations by the author--is Erika Swyler's moving debut novel about the power of books, family, and magic.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 4446 KB
  • Print Length: 350 pages
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press (June 23 2015)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00QQ450BI
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.2 out of 5 stars 5 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #33,740 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?

click to open popover

Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

November 3, 2015
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
December 8, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition
October 3, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
September 11, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICE
August 3, 2016
Format: Paperback

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery & Returns

Need Help?