Brahms & Joachim Violin C... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Brahms & Joachim Violin Concer

Price: CDN$ 20.80 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
18 new from CDN$ 14.56 2 used from CDN$ 11.99

Product Details

  • Performer: Barton; Chicago Symphony Orch.
  • Composer: Joachim; Brahms
  • Audio CD (May 1 2009)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Ced
  • ASIN: B00009ZUG2
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #29,618 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Disc: 1
1. I. Allegro Un Poco Maestoso
2. II. Romanze: Andante
3. III. Finale Alla Zingara: Allegro Con Spirito
Disc: 2
1. I. Allegro Non Troppo
2. I. Allegro Non Troppo
3. II. Adagio
4. III. Allegro Giocoso, Ma Non Troppo Vivace
5. Cadenza-End Of First Movement

Product Description

Rachel Barton Pine, violon - Chicago Symphony Orchestra - Carlos Kalmar, direction

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9e2fe390) out of 5 stars 7 reviews
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9d4cd390) out of 5 stars Outstanding modern Brahms! Aug. 23 2008
By Benjamin D. Hoshour - Published on
Verified Purchase
This is a fabulous recording. Rachel Barton records for a small record company, but all of her discs have been spectacular and this is the best to date. This is Brahms with passion, fire, and technical elegance. The Joachim is the best on disc. Do yourself a favor and sample this little known violinist who deserves a much wider audience.
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
By Terry L. Rindfleisch - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This CD is simply a gem, a fabulous performance. A great contrast and influence shown by her choices. Saw her perform with La Crosse Symphony Orchestra and she performs with passion and great technical skill.
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9cab8504) out of 5 stars One of the best ever of the Brahms! Sept. 23 2009
By Timothy R. O'Hanlon - Published on
Format: Audio CD
For me, the Adagio movement of the Brahms Violin Concerto is clearly about "tuning" or "attunement". It is constructed around or evolves out of four notes, which I'm guessing, if properly sustained, a string player could use to tune his or her instrument. String players generally tune their instruments by listening to one another; tuning requires that the notes be sustained long enough for the players, so one can hear the overtones or harmonics. For the listener, tuning has to do with the ear and how one hears the notes; attunement has to do with the heart and how it "feels" or resonates with the harmonics. When a violinist / conductor rushes this movement, as most do, the notes are dampened and not allowed to fully "bloom". The music may be well performed but is not as emotionally or intellectually "satisfying" as it could have been. Rachel Barton Pine's performance of this movement is the most "satisying" that I have ever heard; quite frankly, it is nothing short of heavenly! The other movements of the Brahms and Joachim Concerto are also masterfully interpreted and performed.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9cab87b0) out of 5 stars Great music Oct. 18 2013
By J. R. Brookens - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Rachel Barton Pine and Cedille Records --- what else is there to say? Wonderful recording. As always, her artistry is impeccable and Cedille's work is masterful.
HASH(0x9cab8390) out of 5 stars The Brahms/Joachim coupling receives truly worthy performances and recording. March 22 2016
By peter cates - Published on
Format: Audio CD
It took me at least 5 hearings over a decade to realize the following-
A. The Joachim Violin Concerto is a very beautiful piece of music on its own terms.
B. The Barton/Pine performance of the Brahms VC (of which I own 30 or more) is not the sublimely virtuosic experience that Ginette Neveu conveyed in her broadcast performance conducted by Desormiere on a Tahra cd but its own understated approach is incredibly beautiful and will wear very well, particularly with Carlos Kalmar's vibrant, committed and astute conducting of the Chicago Symphony.
A set not to be missed by connoisseurs of Brahms and very fine fiddling.