• List Price: CDN$ 21.00
  • You Save: CDN$ 9.44 (45%)
Only 6 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by BOOK- LAND.
CDN$ 11.56 + FREE SHIPPING
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 35.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Canadian Seller. Solid copy with some shelf wear. No markings.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 4 images

Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness Paperback – Aug 6 2013

4.3 out of 5 stars 80 customer reviews

See all 20 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Paperback
CDN$ 11.56
CDN$ 11.02 CDN$ 1.03

Strong Is the New Pretty

click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness
  • +
  • A House in the Sky: A Memoir
  • +
  • All the Light We Cannot See: A Novel
Total price: CDN$ 44.43
Buy the selected items together

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster; Reprint edition (Aug. 6 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1451621388
  • ISBN-13: 978-1451621389
  • Product Dimensions: 14 x 2.3 x 21.3 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 249 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars 80 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #1,964 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

“Captivating…Cahalan’s prose carries a sharp, unsparing tabloid punch in the tradition of Pete Hamill and Jimmy Breslin.” (New York Times Book Review)

“A fascinating look at the disease that – if not for a nick-of-time diagnosis – could have cost this vibrant, vital young woman her life.” (People magazine)

“The bizarre and confounding illness that beset the 24-year-old New York Post reporter in early 2009 so ravaged her mentally and physically that she became unrecognizable to coworkers, family, friends, and—most devastatingly—herself… She dedicates this miracle of a book to ‘those without a diagnosis’… [An] unforgettable memoir.” (Elle)

“Swift and haunting.” (Scientific American)

“This fascinating memoir by a young New York Post reporter…describes how she crossed the line between sanity and insanity…Cahalan expertly weaves together her own story and relevant scientific information…compelling.” (Booklist (starred review))

"An intense, mesmerizing account of survival. . . Cahalan's deft descriptions of her spooky hallucinations could be right out of a Poe terror tale." (BookForum)

“For the neurologist, I highly recommend this book on several grounds…First, it is a well-told story, worth reading for the suspense and the dramatic cadence of events…Second, it is a superb case study of a rare neurologic diagnosis; even experienced neurologists will find much to learn in it…Third, and most important, it gives the neurologist insight into how a patient and her family experienced a complex illness, including the terrifying symptoms, the difficult pace of medical diagnosis, and the slow recovery. This story clearly contains lessons for all of us.” (Cognitive and Behavioral Neurology)

“Focusing her journalistic toolbox on her story, Cahalan untangles the medical mystery surrounding her condition…A fast-paced and well-researched trek through a medical mystery to a hard-won recovery.” (Publishers Weekly)

"The best reporters never stop asking questions, and Cahalan is no exception...The result is a kind of anti-memoir, an out-of-body personal account of a young woman's fight to survive one of the cruelest diseases imaginable. And on every level, it's remarkable.....Cahalan is nothing if not tenacious, and she perfectly tempers her brutal honesty with compassion and something like vulnerability. It's indisputable that Cahalan is a gifted reporter, and Brain on Fire is a stunningly brave book. But even more than that, she's a naturally talented prose stylist — whip-smart but always unpretentious — and it's nearly impossible to stop reading her, even in the book's most painful passages....Brain on Fire comes from a place of intense pain and unthinkable isolation, but finds redemption in Cahalan's unflagging, defiant toughness. It's an unexpected gift of a book from one of America's most courageous young journalists." (NPR.org)

“What is most impressive about “Brain on Fire” is that Cahalan has little recollection of her month of insanity…. Thanks partially to her talent as a journalist and to the fact that her parents kept journals, Cahalan was able to recapture her month, leaving no holes in the narrative.” (The Daily Texan)

About the Author

Susannah Cahalan is a news reporter at the New York Post whose award-winning work has also been featured in The New York Times. She lives in Jersey City, New Jersey.

See all Product description

From the Publisher



Customer reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

March 27, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
April 20, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
January 16, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
June 25, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
March 9, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
August 5, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
January 7, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
December 12, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Most recent customer reviews

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery & Returns

Need Help?