Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Brightwood Paperback – Apr 17 2018


See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Paperback
CDN$ 12.81 CDN$ 13.03
click to open popover

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Click here to download the iOS app
    Apple
  • Click here to download the Android app
    Android
  • Click here to download the Windows Phone app
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton


Product details

  • Paperback: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers; Reprint edition (April 17 2018)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1616207485
  • ISBN-13: 978-1616207489
  • Product Dimensions: 13.7 x 2 x 20.6 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 263 g
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

“A proper page-turning thriller.”
—The Guardian
 
“Brilliantly conceived by Unsworth . . . Subtle and thought-provoking, the novel is entertaining and heartfelt.”
Kirkus Reviews
 
“This is the best kind of middle-grade thriller: atmospheric with just the right amount of scare and a few bits of humor as a bonus . . . Readers who loved Beatty’s mansion-set Serafina and the Black Cloak will happily wander Brightwood’s grounds and explore its mysteries.”
Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
 
“Filled with action and intrigue . . . This suspenseful story will keep intrepid readers transfixed until the well-earned happy ending.”
The Horn Book Magazine
 
“A nice read-alike for fans of Jonathan Auxier’s The Night Gardener or Neil Gaiman’s Coraline . . . A solid purchase for middle grade students who enjoy creepy stories with elements of magical realism.”
School Library Journal
 
 “Beautiful, evocative writing brings Daisy’s world to life, and readers will empathize with Daisy and admire her courage and resourcefulness.”
Booklist
 
“Think of it as ‘Home Alone’ meets ‘Coraline’ — the perfect spine-tingler for 9- to 12-year-old readers.”
Richmond Times-Dispatch

“Thrilling and dark, this novel will leave tween readers asking themselves where imagination ends and madness begins.”
A Mighty Girl
 
“Compelling and mesmerizing, Brightwood is a dazzling middle grades read sure to captivate! Brightwood is everything a story should be . . . Highly, highly recommended for all middle grades and anyone who gets lost in a great story.”
—Pamela Thompson, reviewer for the El Paso Times

“Brightwood is a fast-paced, exhilarating novel that keeps readers on their toes: terrified, entranced, angered and in love with the characters Unsworth creates . . . Brightwood addresses important values for children ages 10 and up, and teaches these values in ways that are both subtle yet graspable.”
Centered on Books
 
“Unsworth’s beautiful and haunting descriptions bring Brightwood Hall to life and draw readers into Daisy’s world. Young readers will be rooting for Daisy as she prepares to fight for her home and flee if necessary in this entrancing story that will keep everyone guessing till the very end.”
BNKIDSblog
 
“Tania Unsworth’s Brightwood is like a fancifully crafted keepsake box from another era containing a perfectly contemporary sensibility. It’s intrepid in exploring feelings of abandonment, orphanhood, peril and loss. Its new brand of magic is just right for today.”
CenterforFiction.org  
 
“Dive deep into the mysterious circumstances that besiege Brightwood . . . adventure awaits readers around every bend . . . a charming read.”
Independent Voice (Dixon, CA)
 
“Frighteningly beautiful.”
From the Mixed Up Files of Middle-Grade Authors

About the Author

The daughter of the late novelist Barry Unsworth, Tania Unsworth spent her childhood in Cambridge, UK, before moving to America in her early twenties. She currently lives in Boston with her husband and two sons. She’s written one previous novel for young readers, The One Safe Place, which has been named to numerous state book award lists. Her website is www.taniaunsworth.com.


No customer reviews


Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.2 out of 5 stars 14 reviews
Amazon Customer
4.0 out of 5 starsTHIS IS A GREAT BOOK!
March 4, 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Pop Bop
4.0 out of 5 starsBlurbs Are Somewhat Misleading - This Is Even Better Than It Sounds
October 6, 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
3 people found this helpful.
BabyMo
5.0 out of 5 starsBrightwood
September 27, 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
2 people found this helpful.