• List Price: CDN$ 11.99
  • You Save: CDN$ 2.53 (21%)
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 35.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Burnt Offerings: An Anita... has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 6.49 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by WonderBook-USA
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Ships from the US. Expected delivery 7-14 business days.Serving Millions of Book Lovers since 1980. Like New condition.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Burnt Offerings: An Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Novel Mass Market Paperback – Sep 24 2002

4.2 out of 5 stars 133 customer reviews

See all 16 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
CDN$ 9.46
CDN$ 3.03 CDN$ 0.01

Unlimited FREE Two-Day Shipping for Six Months When You Try Amazon Student
click to open popover

Frequently Bought Together

  • Burnt Offerings: An Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Novel
  • +
  • Blue Moon: An Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Novel
  • +
  • Obsidian Butterfly: An Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Novel
Total price: CDN$ 28.69
Buy the selected items together

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Product Details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Jove (Sept. 24 2002)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0515134473
  • ISBN-13: 978-0515134476
  • Product Dimensions: 10.7 x 2.5 x 17 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 136 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars 133 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #189,164 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

From Amazon

Burnt Offerings is the seventh in Laurell K. Hamilton's genre-straddling Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter series. Anita carries a gun and an attitude: "Questions are great, but only if you know the answers. If you ask questions and the answers surprise you, you look silly. Hard to be threatening when you look ill-informed."

As Burnt Offerings unfolds, Anita agrees to help track down a possible psychic firestarter. She's also policing the local werewolf pack, though she's split up with their alpha, Richard. Then Jean-Claude, the vampire Master of the City and her lover, needs her help to confront a visiting delegation of the vampires' ruling council. They wonder how he got the power to destroy a council member and believe him dangerous to the hierarchy.

This fast-paced, urban fantasy includes gore, hardboiled mystery and a romantic triangle. The vampires and werewolves are as three-dimensional as the human characters, allowing us to join Anita in wondering who the real monsters are and to understand how her increased personal involvement with them is alienating her from her human colleagues. --Nona Vero --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

From Library Journal

While a pyrokinetic arsonist targets the havens of St. Louis's legal vampire population, Anita BlakeAthe local expert on supernatural creaturesAfinds herself embroiled in a dangerous and deadly game of undead politics in defense of her lover, the city's Master Vampire. The sixth installment of Hamilton's popular "Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter" series exposes the more vulnerable side of its tough-talking, hard-as-nails heroine. Filled with nonstop action, witty dialog, and steamy sex, this title will appeal to fans of Anne Rice and Tanya Huff.
Copyright 1998 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

See all Product Description

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Mass Market Paperback
I was a big fan of the first few Anita Blake novels, which is surprising since i don't like most fantasy novels, and absolutely hate vampire novels (don't like the erotica in them... which seems to be what all vampire novels written by women are).
But i have to admit, i enjoyed the first few Anita Blake novels. I liked her, like how a small girl can kickass, and eventually even enjoyed how some of the monsters really aren't monsters... but over the past few novels, the books have degenerated into way too much magic that simply seems silly, her sexual relationships with a vampire and werewolf, and plots that are completely predictable (the main reason why i enjoyed her first few books because they weren't predictable).
Hamilton's development of Anita was absolutely fantastic, as well of Dolph and the rest of the characters. But now with Richard, who was developing nicely in the beginning, is just absurd now. Alright, i can understand the fact that he has a plastic Barney the purple dinosaur view of the world, but does he really have to sound and act that pathetic?
And Jean-Claude... who was once a great character who was trying to win Anita and who could set things in motion, is nothing but a boy toy now and doesn't even play any significant role... sure, he's got a lot of lines in the books, but his power is so dependent on Anita, that he's no longer that sinister vampire we were with ulterior motives. Trust me, i can appreciate the irony that Anita, the Execution, fell in love with Jean-Claude, Master of the City... but their relationship doesn't even seem equal now... not even close.
And the love triangle is sooooo old.
Read more ›
2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
"Burnt Offerings" is the seventh book in Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake series, and it is just too much fun to miss! Hamilton takes her readers on a non-stop, action-packed thrill ride that will captivate readers from the very first page. This book is immensely entertaining - filled with heart-pounding action and suspense and highly erotic romance. Not for the faint of heart, readers will find this book to be a truly satisfying read.
The book begins as Anita, tough-as-nails necromancer and animator, agrees to help the police find a psychic firestarter. She is also policing the local werewolf pack, acting as their lupa, despite her split with Richard, the pack's alpha. In addition to this, Anita suddenly finds herself as the protector/leader of the local wereleopard pack (Anita killed their alpha, Gabriel, in an earlier novel).
Then Anita's boyfriend Jean-Claude, the city of St. Louis' super-sexy Master Vampire, has his home invaded by the immensely powerful and frightening Vampire Council, the ruling body for all vampires. Anita and Jean-Claude confront them together, and must defend themselves against wild accusations claiming that Jean-Claude is a threat to the hierarchy, planning to set-up his own rival council. They also must explain how they were powerful enough to destroy a Council member some months ago.

The Council members present, the Traveler, who inhabits the bodies of those around him, and Padma, Master of Beasts, and their many violent and twisted associates have been torturing and raping Jean-Claude's people. Tensions run high as Jean-Claude and Anita barter for the safe return of all their people and from that point on, the action and violence escalates.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
My housemate and I are reading the books in tandem - it kills me to have to wait till she is done before I can talk about them!
This is the fastest that Anita has gotten neck-deep in aligators - and it is non-stop. From the first, she is busy rescuing and kibbitzing and nudging - all things she does so well. This is both good and bad; the plethora of plotlines was not something I had a problem with - the fact that everything happens in about 48 hours was something that bugged me. Not only that, but she doesn't ever go to sleep during the entire book. Now, in previous books, Anita would kvetch about being tired, but no mention is made here... I am left feeling as if this *might* be a result of the vampire marks, but there is no clue given about that.
I think her necromancy powers were wonderfully explored - she raised dead in more ways than one. I suspect her ... newfound 'lupa ability' (I don't want to spoil it) has as much to do with her affinity for the dead as her being part of the pack-gestalt.
Anita is DEFINITELY loosening up, even if she feels herself to be a 'slut' for it. My housemate and I keep speculating on exactly *what* will make her break down and finally integrate Richard into things - we suspect that Asher is going to have a strong part to play in that. And it is clear that Jean-Claude and Asher used to play footsie, as it were - if Jean-Claude can tell that Anita is doing something, she will be able to tell when he lets loose with Asher...
WHEEEE!!! Problems with the book: Too compressed - the action should have taken a week. Anita never sleeps - no explanation. They SHOULD have saved Warrick; he was too delicious. What IS Dolph's problem, and why is HE in charge of the Spook Squad? I expect that to be revealed in future books.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews