Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Certification Review for Pharmacy Technicians Paperback – Dec 2004

4.7 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
CDN$ 210.84 CDN$ 30.34

Back to University 2016
Save on College Prep Essentials on Amazon.ca. Shop now
click to open popover

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.




Product Details

  • Paperback: 300 pages
  • Publisher: Certification Review (December 2004)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 091437348X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0914373483
  • Product Dimensions: 23.1 x 17.8 x 7.9 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 522 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #672,768 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
I'm med student (looking for summer job to help me learn my meds for next year) & had no knowledge of the profession. I studied Noah's book as part of a pharm tech class and got it in 1st week of February 2003 and easily scored a 790 (out of 300-900 scale) on March 30th 2003, without knowing ANY of the meds on the PTCB because I was able to know each and every math question through his book. His formulas are excellent and he teaches alligations which only pharmacists are familiar with but make calculations an absolute breeze. He has several practice exams which simulate the PTCB test better then the PTCB's own practice test on their website, (PTCB's practice test was harder) and some of the exact questions I swear showed up on the board test with a slight change of word or number inserted. If you do all of his practice exams their is no way you can fail. You need to know all of your class I-V schedule drugs, not inside and out, just to be able to identify them in their category. Medical terminology/abreviations for reading prescriptions is excellent don't worry about any abbreviations not in his text. Also, if you are familiar with dimensional analysis used in high school chemistry you can easily do conversions a whole lot easier. (e.g. 5ml=1teaspoon). Know your conversions! I think Noah even sits on the board to make up the questions for the PTCB so if you don't buy this book you'll be taking that exam again. I met professional pharmacy students at the test site who were their to sit for it again. You don't want to be one of them, the exam cost [$$$] each time you sit for it. The only good things about the exam is that they give you plenty of time and you can bring a calculater. Just have a study schedule, discipline and this book and don't waste money on a pharm tech course.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
By A Customer on Dec 23 2003
Format: Paperback
I have no pharmacy experience and want to obtain a part-time position as a technician to gain experience prior to applying for pharmacy school next year. In TX, certification is required, so I took the exam on Nov. 15, 03. This is the only book that I studied, and I passed w/ a scaled score of 837 (scale is from 300-900; 650 is passing score). As another reviewer stated, this is a great prep for the math questions. I felt confident in each math question I answered on the exam b/c of this book. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
By Mona O TOP 1000 REVIEWER on Feb. 18 2015
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Useful. Most US pharm tech procedures though!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 4.3 out of 5 stars 6 reviews
61 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy read and best math prep for PTCB Certification June 3 2003
By Boopie - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
I'm med student (looking for summer job to help me learn my meds for next year) & had no knowledge of the profession. I studied Noah's book as part of a pharm tech class and got it in 1st week of February 2003 and easily scored a 790 (out of 300-900 scale) on March 30th 2003, without knowing ANY of the meds on the PTCB because I was able to know each and every math question through his book. His formulas are excellent and he teaches alligations which only pharmacists are familiar with but make calculations an absolute breeze. He has several practice exams which simulate the PTCB test better then the PTCB's own practice test on their website, (PTCB's practice test was harder) and some of the exact questions I swear showed up on the board test with a slight change of word or number inserted. If you do all of his practice exams their is no way you can fail. You need to know all of your class I-V schedule drugs, not inside and out, just to be able to identify them in their category. Medical terminology/abreviations for reading prescriptions is excellent don't worry about any abbreviations not in his text. Also, if you are familiar with dimensional analysis used in high school chemistry you can easily do conversions a whole lot easier. (e.g. 5ml=1teaspoon). Know your conversions! I think Noah even sits on the board to make up the questions for the PTCB so if you don't buy this book you'll be taking that exam again. I met professional pharmacy students at the test site who were their to sit for it again. You don't want to be one of them, the exam cost [$$$] each time you sit for it. The only good things about the exam is that they give you plenty of time and you can bring a calculater. Just have a study schedule, discipline and this book and don't waste money on a pharm tech course.
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Helpful!!! Sept. 11 2004
By Laura M. Mchenry - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
This book was extremely helpful. I was very pleased that I bought this book because when I took the test there were some of the exact same questions on the test as there were in the book. All I recommend is that you should take all of the practice tests (all 4) and review the questions that you missed. I did this and only studied about a month ahead and I scored about 780 (you have to score 650 to pass), and I only had a little bit of pharmacy experience (volunteered in a pharmacy). KNOW YOUR CONVERSIONS. Know every single conversion, there was a lot of math. Don't worry too much about the drug names. Just the different Schedules- like Narcotics... those are important. Good LUCK!
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful study guide! Dec 23 2003
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
I have no pharmacy experience and want to obtain a part-time position as a technician to gain experience prior to applying for pharmacy school next year. In TX, certification is required, so I took the exam on Nov. 15, 03. This is the only book that I studied, and I passed w/ a scaled score of 837 (scale is from 300-900; 650 is passing score). As another reviewer stated, this is a great prep for the math questions. I felt confident in each math question I answered on the exam b/c of this book. I highly recommend it!
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST BOOK for your REVIEW!! April 19 2005
By Carla Luna - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
I bought this book for my studies of the PTCB test that took place in March 2005 & PASSED the test!!! This book has IDENTIICAL questions from the PTCB test itself!!! Trust me... I bought the book and took the test!!! ONE KEY THING... DO NOT PURCHASE the latest edition (7th). It has the EXACT same questions, pages, etc. If you can find the 6th edition or maybe a used one... then go for it. I wish you all the best!!!

Carla Luna, CPhT as of April 19th, 2005.
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore my previous review. Oct. 12 2008
By Ranbir Singh - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
seller swiftly resolved the dispute. Book is in excellent shape. Glad to do business with A++


Feedback