Chamber Works has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Round3CA
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped next day from GA, United States. All products are inspected and playing quality guaranteed (excluding any digital content). Our friendly multilingual customer service team will be happy to resolve your queries.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Chamber Works

Price: CDN$ 15.09 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
15 new from CDN$ 9.30 2 used from CDN$ 9.28

Product Details

  • Performer: Schirmer Ensemble
  • Composer: Berkeley
  • Audio CD (June 21 2005)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • ASIN: B0009JMEJM
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #332,840 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Moderato
2. Lento
3. Allegretto, Variations 1-5
4. I. Andante
5. II. Allegro Moderato
6. III. Allegro
7. IV. Andante
8. V. Allegro
9. Andantino For Cello And Piano Op.21, No.2a
10. I. Moderato (In Tempo Rubato)
11. II. Lento
12. III. Allegro
13. Mazurka For Piano, Op.101b
14. Duo For Cello And Piano, Op.81, No.1
15. I. Allegro
16. II. Andante
17. III. Allegro Moderato
18. IV. Allegretto
19. . Allegro
20. VI. Andante
See all 24 tracks on this disc

Product Description

Berkeley: Six Preludes for Piano / Sonatina for Violin and Piano / Concertino for Flute, Violin, Cello and Piano

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xb6b20744) out of 5 stars 1 review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xb6b2b360) out of 5 stars one fine piece and some nice piano miniatures May 11 2013
By Stanley Crowe - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
I think this is my only Lennox Berkeley CD, and I must have bought it because of the attractive picture on the booklet cover! But the music is fine -- it's played by Australian players and was recorded in two different venues in Melbourne between 2000 and 2003. The venue for the solo piano pieces (Melba Hall) sounds better than the other, and from that venue the pianist Len Vorster shows an ability to characterize the short movements of the Five Short Pieces (1936) and the Six Preludes (1945) with rhythmic life and tonal colorings that are very appealing. The slower movements are eloquent, and eloquently played. The very brief Andantino for Cello and Piano (1955) has a lovely singing quality too. The Three Pieces for Clarinet Solo (1939) have the feel of etudes, stretching the player's resources and sounding most "modern" of all the pieces on the disc. The substantial chamber pieces are the Sonatina for Violin and Piano (1942) and the Concertino for Flute, Violin, Cello, and Piano (1955). The latter is the more interesting (and better recorded?), with all four instruments playing in the outer two movements (the finale is a toe-tapping dance-like rondo, very appealing), while in the inner two movements, Aria 1 and Aria 2, the instruments are paired -- flute and cello in 1, piano and violin in 2. The recording doesn't flatter the flute's higher reaches, but both of these slow movements are lovely, with Aria 2 perhaps the highlight of the disc. Interesting stuff, then. The Concertino has an odd make-up of instruments, but there's no reason why the piano pieces couldn't find their way into concert programs.