Choral Works has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Choral Works

Price: CDN$ 21.10 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
19 new from CDN$ 16.70

Product Details

  • Performer: Lumsden; Spicer; Crookes
  • Composer: Howells Herbert
  • Audio CD (July 4 2006)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Chn
  • ASIN: B000FMR3ZI
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #239,105 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Disc: 1
1. Te Deum
2. Even Such Is Time
3. The Summer Is Coming
4. Nunc Dimittis
5. The House Of The Mind
6. Two Madrigals
7. Two Madrigals
8. Salve Regina
9. Mass In Dorian Mode
10. Mass In Dorian Mode
See all 17 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Three Carol-Anthems
2. Three Carol-Anthems
3. Three Carol-Anthems
4. Sweetest Of Sweets
5. Haec Dies
6. Regina Coeli
7. Long, Long Ago
8. A Sequence For St Michael
9. Antiphon
10. Requiem
See all 17 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9ff60b70) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9ff56900) out of 5 stars Gorgeous modern choral music Sept. 18 2006
By R. A. Robertson - Published on
Format: Audio CD
This very reasonably priced two disc compilation first caught my eye with its beautiful cover art (carried onto the notes and even the discs themselves). Being familiar with the well-known "Long, Long Ago" and "Take Him, Earth, for Cherishing" I was eager for more of Howells' choral music. I picked up the set and have been utterly delighted with it.

The set seems designed to supplement recordings of Howells' larger choral masterpieces, and it covers most of his career. Earlier pieces, such as the "Nunc Dimittis" and "Haec Dies," are influenced by Renaissance polyphony, itself undergoing rediscovery as Howells began composing. Later works here display the full flowering of modern harmony, often in very lush accounts.

The Finzi Singers are simply marvelous. Entrances and intonation are always dead on, and the singers manage the marked chromatic and dynamic modulations flawlessly. The pieces here were recorded through the 1990's, usually in moderately resonant spaces, and with transparent engineering.

Most of these works are for unaccompanied choir, while a few have organ acccompaniment. Notes are useful without being pedantic, and the entire package is very well done. Urgently recommended to anyone who loves modern choral music, indeed to those who love choral music generally.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9ff56db0) out of 5 stars Stunningly beautiful modern choral music! Sept. 27 2010
By Rev. Ben Cox - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This cd collection of the music of Herbert Howells is stunningly beautiful!! The acoustics in the various locations are clear as a bell and the choir is stupendous, being that much of this music is difficult and sung unaccompanied! Spicer and the Finzi singers do a wonderful job. If you are interested in contemporary English choral music, don't miss this one!!