Christos Hatzis: Constant... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Christos Hatzis: Constantinople AUS-Import

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: CDN$ 21.48 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
16 new from CDN$ 17.73 1 used from CDN$ 22.83

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Jan. 23 2007)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: AUS-Import
  • Label: Analekta
  • ASIN: B000MGB6TQ
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #41,923 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Creeds
2. Kyrie
3. Odd World
4. Ah Kalleli!
5. Dance Of The Dictators
6. On Death And Dying
7. Old Photographs
8. Alleluia

Product Description

A salutary allegory for our own troubled times, Constantinople weaves together threads from East-West, sacred-secular, past-present, real-mythical, high art-popular culture and much more. The strength of its underlying message is reinforced by the way Christos Hatzis challenges our expectation that its music belongs in one genre or another. The piece refuses to be categorised as song cycle, cantata, chamber music or opera. Elements of the work have taken on a life of their own outside its ultimate performance as a piece of music theatre. The music of Constantinople is like a mosaic in which Hatzis juxtaposes bright colours of urban gospel with mediaeval chant, a 19th century Sufi song with bluegrass, Cretan folksong with viol-like writing, and – most exuberantly in "Old Photographs”– a piece of solemn parlour music with the raunchiest of tangos.

Salutaire allégorie pour notre époque agitée, Constantinople tisse en une même trame les fils de l'est et de l'ouest, du sacré et du séculaire, du passé et du présent, du réel et du mythique, de l'art et de la culture populaire et bien plus encore. La force du message sous-jacent est confortée par l'habileté de Christos Hatzis à faire fi des étiquettes que nous voudrions apposer à cette musique. Cycle chanté, cantate, musique de chambre ou opéra, l'œuvre refuse d'être catégorisée. Certains de ses éléments se sont affranchis du cadre ultime du théâtre musical. Hatzis traite la musique de Constantinople comme une mosaïque, juxtaposant les couleurs vives du gospel urbain aux psalmodies médiévales, un chant sufi du XIXe siècle au bluegrass, la chanson folklorique crétoise à une écriture rappelant celle pour viole et – de façon des plus exubérantes dans " Old Photographs " – une pièce de musique de salon solennelle avec le plus canaille des tangos.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This is his best classical cd and I like better than the Naxos.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa5e2c2a0) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa5ae0da4) out of 5 stars Constantinople/Hatzis July 22 2009
By amagi - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Incredible talent and diversity combined to create an extraordinary and unique compilation. Eastern sounds blend with traditional chant, flowing through very distinct moods and luxurious harmonies.
HASH(0xa5ae0f30) out of 5 stars F A N T A S T I C ! ! ! June 21 2014
By Sandokan - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Incredible, amazing, sublime. Supremely original. A fantastic combination of styles. Attended a concert in Toronto many years ago, and bought CD there. One of best CDs I ever bought.