CDN$ 170.53 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Only 1 left in stock - order soon. Sold by thebookcommunity_ca
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Prestivo3
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Pro Seller. DVD / Blue Ray zone 2. You have to be able to play zone 2 with a multizone player or zone 2 player or a computer (available on this website). (format PAL). Average delivery time : 15 days to North America, 21 days to South America. Vendeur pro. DVD / Blu Ray zone 2. Vous devez être en mesure de lire la zone 2 avec un lecteur multizone ou un lecteur zone 2 ou encore avec un ordinateur (disponibles sur ce site). (format PAL). Délai moyen de livraison: 15 jours en Amérique du Nord, 21 jours en Amérique du Sud.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Claudio Abbado: A Portrait [Import]

Price: CDN$ 170.53
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Ships from and sold by thebookcommunity_ca.
3 new from CDN$ 170.53 3 used from CDN$ 105.65

Product Details

  • Actors: Claudio Abbado, Mahler, Beethoven, Lucerne Festival Orchestra, Gvazava
  • Directors: Various
  • Format: Box set, Color, Dolby, DTS Surround Sound, DVD-Video, NTSC, Subtitled, Widescreen, Import
  • Language: English
  • Subtitles: English, German, French, Italian, Spanish
  • Region: All RegionsAll Regions
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.77:1
  • Number of discs: 4
  • MPAA Rating: NR
  • Studio: EUROARTS
  • Release Date: Oct. 27 2009
  • Run Time: 343 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • ASIN: B002MPD0H6
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Claudio Abbado is one of the greatest conductors of today, and undeniably the supreme Mahler conductor of our time. This box contains two of the best-known works of Mahler but also a wonderful performance of Bruckner's Symphony No.7 and of Beethoven's Piano Concerto No.3, all conducted by maestro Abbado.

DVD 1: Mahler: Symphony No.2, Lucerne Festival Orchestra; DVD 2: Mahler: Symphony No.9, Gustav Mahler Jugendorchester; DVD 3: Bruckner: Symphony No.7/Beethoven Piano Concerto No.3, Alfred Brendel, Lucerne Festival Orchestra; DVD 4: Documentary Hearing the Silence

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa45ccf24) out of 5 stars 1 review
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa45e321c) out of 5 stars Conducting with Joy Jan. 21 2010
By Robin Howard - Published on
Format: DVD Verified Purchase
This set of four videos present a wonderful insight into the spirit of one of the greatest conductors of all time. He has lived up to his goal, stated early in his career, of discovering a way to conduct an orchestra "without all that bullying." With the greatest of respect for musicians (especially young ones) Abbado leads elegant performances with monumental knowledge, vision and love.

Abbado directs each measure of a composition with a clear understanding of where the music has been and where it is going. Long term crescendos unfold in perfect proportion with an impeccable sense of timing and his face reflects joy along every step of the journey. His performance of Mahler's Resurrection Symphony in this set is my personal favorite recording of any kind.