Come The Thaw has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Come The Thaw

Price: CDN$ 10.56 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
20 new from CDN$ 10.56 2 used from CDN$ 16.46

Product Details

  • Audio CD (March 20 2012)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • ASIN: B00766FNNA
  • In-Print Editions: Audio CD  |  LP Record
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #230,951 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Formed in 2008 by Lorraine Rath (ex-The Gault, Amber Asylum) and Jessica Way, San Francisco's Worm Ouroboros made quite an impression with their self-titled debut album. Now joined by veteran drumming underground legend Aesop Dekker (of Agalloch and the now-defunct Ludicra) on drums, Worm Ouroboros presents their most fully realized work yet. On Come The Thaw, the group refines their musical craft into something more meticulous and moving, staking out a much darker, more somber and delicate-sounding territory.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa055d7c8) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa06c384c) out of 5 stars Atmospheric, dreamy, ghost-like, very appealing July 29 2012
By Pewsagl - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I discovered this band (3-piece with guitar, bass, keyboard, drums, and vocals) from a review of female fronted doom/metal bands. If this band is truly considered "metal" (even iTunes classifies it as metal), then it demonstrates the broad range of sounds and moods than can be considered metal. I think that's all good, but just so you know, don't expect upbeat tempos, galloping and driving rhythms, crunching guitar, pounding bass and drums, and pyrotechnic guitar solos, 'cause it ain't happening here! So what is it? Generally very slow tempos, very dream-like melancholy, ghostly melodic female vocals, and an overall effect and feel of maybe meditative woodsy-pagan poems. So where does the "metal" come from? Guitar, drum, and bass do take center stage as the songs develop (which they do - it's never just an opening riff, verse, chorus type structure), and simply carry the dream like meditative moods to new areas of power and emotional intensity. So the songs build and release tension throughout. Themes are introduced with sparse instrumentation and vocals, then developed and intensified, then brought back down, and so on.

The packaging is good - tri-fold cardboard with the cover theme artwork all around, and full lyrics printed inside. All the songs are long - 7:12 is the shortest, and there are six songs, two of which are 9:32 and 10:35 in length. The vocals, delivered by Jessica Way and Lorraine Rath, are clean and beautiful - no screaming or growling, and they are mostly delivered with an almost breathy timbre which creates a ghostly dream-like effect. "Trans-like" might be a good way of describing some sections/songs. This is all very good, but it certainly is an album for certain moods. This is not about banging your head and running through walls. This is about letting the music wash over you and take you where it takes you and where your own imagination lets it. Just don't drive late at night with it, 'cause it won't keep you awake. But played loudly at home in a candle-lit room with nothing else to do but drink dark-red wine and take a musical trip - yeah, that works!
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa0509bb8) out of 5 stars Early Favorite for Album of the Year March 24 2012
By E. Scott - Published on
Verified Purchase
I happened on this band as I was going through my NPR Concert podcasts, and listened to their concert. And then I saw they had just released a new album. After listening to some songs online, I just had to have it. And it has just blown me away with how beautiful the music is.

I really enjoy these kind of epic 7+ minute long songs that take time to develop. This is not the kind of music you listen to for a quick fix - it carries you on a long, compelling ride.

This is my favorite album so far this year.

Look for similar items by category