Complete Violin Viola & P... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Complete Violin Viola & Piano Works/Christina Fong Import

Price: CDN$ 43.77 & FREE Shipping. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
9 new from CDN$ 34.61 1 used from CDN$ 40.72

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Feb. 11 2006)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Import
  • Label: CD Baby
  • ASIN: B000A5F5EG
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Disc: 1
1. [Sonata] For Violin and Piano: I. Allegro
2. [Sonata] For Violin and Piano: II. Andante affettuoso
3. [Sonata] For Violin and Piano: III. Allegro vivace
4. Piece
5. Projection IV
6. Extensions I
7. Vertical Thoughts II
8. The Viola in My Life III
9. Spring of Chosroes
10. [Composition] for Violin
Disc: 2
1. For Aaron Copland
2. For John Cage

Product Description

Brand new

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa717abdc) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa6f2945c) out of 5 stars Another fine, and even more thorough, survey of Feldman's string works March 22 2006
By Sparky P. - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
In this collection, Christina Fong and Paul Hersey perform not only the "official" (that is, published) works for violin and piano, but also add the only official work for viola and piano, and three unpublished works, the scores courtesy of the Paul Sacher Foundation in Switzerland. I will not dwell upon the official works (I previously talked about those in my review of the Sabat/Clarke collection on Mode), but rather on the other compositions. The violin sonata was written in 1945 when Feldman was 19 years old, and while it does not show yet his penchant for quiet surroundings, it does present Feldman at his most Bartókian, with fast octaves in the piano part and spiky harmonies between the two players. "The Viola in My Life 3" is the third in a four part series of works (five, if you include "Rothko Chapel", which was written at the same time) focusing the lovely and dark tones of the viola. This set was composed in 1971 and marked a new departure for Feldman. Previously were his compositions seen as quiet attackless works for ensembles with very subtle differences in timbre. Now he started writing more melodically (almost meoldy and accompaniment; "big Puccini-like melodies!"), but never losing feeling for his own kind of harmony. The first two VaIML for viola and small ensemble (almost the so-called "Pierrot Ensemble"), the fourth is for viola and orchestra (the first of 1970's "concerti"). VaIML3 is reduced to viola and piano and is a gorgeous miniature for the two instruments. Then there are the two very short works for solo violin. The four minute "For Aaron Copland" was written in 1981 and was intended for a short film about the elder composer. The piece has only single notes with rests in between, with the pitch material being the "white notes" of the scale (you really cannot say it is in C Major or A minor, but it has a pure modal sound nevertheless) and, compared to his works written until his 1987 death, no repeat marks were used. Whether it was a coincidence or a harbinger of things to come, it reminded me later of the modality that would be heard in the antepenultimate pages of "For Philip Guston". On the other hand, there is the untitled composition for solo violin that is quite dissonant and in which every measure bears repeat marks. This was supposedly written for Paul Zukovsky, with the idea of writing something for unadorned violin, but was most likely abandoned in favor of "Violin and String Quartet". Again the economy of Feldman comes through as there are only a specific number of material that is constantly reordered.

Overall the performances are very good and the recording quality is excellent. There is moment of pure coincidence when the violin's last note of "Projection 4" (written in graphic notation) happens to be its very first note of "Extensions 1" (written in standard notation). But this just confirms John Cage's assertion even more: Feldman's music does not change, but continue.
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
By R. Lenz - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I bought this CD because I am a violinist and had wanted to hear more of Morton Feldman's work. These two musicians did a great job of "selling" this music to me with their performances. I would have liked liner notes that discussed the pieces in greater detail. Great recording!

Look for similar items by category