Piano Concerto f Minor Op... has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Piano Concerto f Minor Op.82

Price: CDN$ 14.94 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
21 new from CDN$ 6.00 2 used from CDN$ 5.99

Product Details

  • Performer: Poizat; Poznan Philharmonic Orchestra; Borowicz
  • Composer: Scharwenka Franz Xaver
  • Audio CD (June 28 2011)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • ASIN: B004YJZ7FQ
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #104,210 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Polish pianist and composer Franz Xaver Scharwenka was raised in the spirit of European Romanticism, championing the music of Chopin, Schumann, Mendelssohn and Liszt, and gaining enormous popularity for his own compositions, which Liszt greatly admired. S

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa08182f4) out of 5 stars 1 review
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa0a86b58) out of 5 stars A new Scharwenka 4th Nov. 3 2012
By Hegelian - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Scharwenka's fourth concerto has only been recorded once, but the disc (with Stephen Hough at the piano and Foster directing the City of Birmingham Orchestra), is one of the most acclaimed discs of the last two decades. In truth, it is a great recording in every way, but somebody eventually had to have the courage to record the concerto again, and this new entry is quite good, a romantic reading of a late romantic concerto. OK, it's not as good as Hough, but it is a different take on the piece, often in detail a more interesting one, and serves admirably as an alternate recording. Scharwenka actually lived in Poznan, so maybe the Poznan Philharmonic has the music in its blood. The fillers are interesting--a Wagnerian-sounding opera overture and an orchestration of the andante from the cello sonata--both honest to god beautiful pieces I would not want to be without. Pianist Poizat then offers three well-played Polish dances for piano spanning Scharwenka's career (all previously recorded by the wonderful Seta Tanyel). Scharwenka fans should not hesitate.

Look for similar items by category