4 used & new from CDN$ 108.61

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Daikaiju Enhanced

Available from these sellers.
1 new from CDN$ 343.33 3 used from CDN$ 108.61

Product Details

  • Audio CD (March 8 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Enhanced
  • Label: Reptile
  • ASIN: B0007GAER6
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #21,047 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Daikaiju Die!
2. Attack of the Crab Women
3. The Trouble with those Mothra Girls
4. Sharkakhan
5. Showdown in Shinjuku
6. The Daikaiju who Loved Me
7. Son of Daikaiju
8. Incognito
9. Super X-9
10. Farewell to Monster Island

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa96a22dc) out of 5 stars 12 reviews
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa9689318) out of 5 stars Pitchforkmedia.com reviews Daikaiju!! Jan. 29 2006
By Helmet Denglenov - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
I thought this review said it best of all:

Rating: 7.8

Somewhere along the line, surf music ceased to have anything to do with actual surfing and migrated to kitsch. Dick Dale had "Pipeline", the Surfaris had "Wipe-Out!", and Man...or Astroman? had..."You Can't Get Good Riblets in Space". But although shuddering tremolo bars fit the image of a guy in floral print trunks, the music is mostly instrumental and as such essentially abstract, so you can make it mean anything you want it to. Even early surf rockers like the Ventures and the Tornados realized this and began to incorporate the astronautical, lounge, and kitsch elements that color most efforts in the genre these days.

So the term "surf" as it relates to music today basically just refers to music with lots of reverb and crazy guitar playing, which is fine-- you can acknowledge the roots without trying to turn them into branches. I can say pretty categorically that Croatia's Bambi Molesters are the best surf band in the world today, but given Man...or Astroman?'s long silence, Daikaiju certainly have a claim to the #2 spot. Much like fellow modern surf-rockers Los Straightjackets, the men of Daikaiju keep their identities secret, each represented by a mask in the band's press releases, which also feature a lot of fake Japanese-to-English translations like "Kabuki men deliver most high rocket impact!"

Students of Godzilla, Mothra, and Gamera know that Daikaiju is Japanese for "giant monster," and the Huntsville, Ala., quartet are obviously enamored with the most conspicuous aspects of Japanese popular culture, though they refrain from sticking soundclips from Mechagodzilla sequels all over their albums the way so many other surf groups recently have. They instead opt to let the music speak for itself, and when it does, it's impressive, to say the least. Though their sound is closer to Man...or Astroman? than anything else (it's of course possible that there are members of that band hiding out in their ranks) there's a certain degree of prog muscle behind all that reverbed shredding.

Surf is one of those funny genres where a fan basically knows what to expect and enjoyment comes from hearing it done really well, and Daikaiju delivers on that score, but there is one monumental surprise lurking in this mix in the form of album closer "Farewell to Monster Island". At almost nine minutes long it's nearly four times longer than the average surf instrumental and in place of the manic snare and ride cymbal of a surf beat, the band rides a skanking dub riddim, marrying two genres that in retrospect were born to love each other. The e-bowed interlude is something to hear, but even more impressive is the simple fact that the guitarists hiding behind these masks have a jazz-like sense of how to phrase a solo. The song is the kind of jam that bands just don't do any more, and it sort of makes me wish more would.

So in the end, Daikaiju is an impressive full-length debut for a band that's clearly got more up its sleeve than a few Trashmen 45s and tablature print-outs for "Rabble Rouser". The thing with the masks and stage names like Secret Asian Man and Brain Conflict is frankly little more than a distracting sideshow to the main event, which is of course the band's massive wave of prime surf. Grab your board.

-Joe Tangari, August 31, 2005
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa9689eb8) out of 5 stars HybridMagazine Review Sept. 1 2005
By Amazon Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Like me, have you longed for the release of a really great surf rock album? Not a surf rock album that was merely a sterilized distillation of Dick Dale's moments of greatness, but one that reminded how the genre could be freshened up and made viable once again? Perhaps an album that would be as great as the first time that Shadowy Men On A Shadowy Planet made the world sit up and take notice of Canadian surf, or the first time that Man Or Astroman? grabbed hold of space rock and twanged it into surf? Then, boy have I got just the album for you!

Daikaiju's eponymous release is full to the brim with twanging and boinging guitars, blistering tom rolls, and throbbing basslines. From the very first notes of "Daikaiju Die!" the album is a rollicking good time ride through the world of surf rock. Most tracks on the album clock in at right around three and a half minutes, which makes the album pass by so quickly that there will be an immediate need to hit the play button again. None of the tracks are sleepers (Take that, other surf bands!) and every track has it's own unique character, which makes this one of the finest surf albums of all time. Standouts include the brilliant tremolo swoops on "Incognito" and the stuttering machine gun guitars of "Super X-9". The jazzy cymbal wash of "The Trouble With Those Mothra Girls" makes perfect counterpoint to the deliberate bass walks and chiming guitars. The Van Halen-esque rhythm guitars on the intro to "Sharkakhan" give way to a fast paced racing song that would fit right at home in any good spy movie, especially during a chase scene.

No sleeper tracks. Distinctly different feels melodies in each song. Amazing guitar, bass and drum tones. Musicianship of the highest caliber. Those are the things you will find on this release, Daikaiju. And really, beyond that, the only thing you need to know about Daikaiju is that one of the guys goes by the moniker Secret Asian Man. And who can't stand behind that?

-L. Keane
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa9642f3c) out of 5 stars Most effecive "get-up-and-GO!" music Sept. 11 2007
By Josh - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I've yet to play this album for anyone who isn't immediately impressed and intrigued by Daikaiju. They play a stellar live show as well. I rarely purchase music, very rarely bother to see favorite bands play live, and almost never write reviews about them. But with Daikaiju, I've done all of these things AND wore a crazy 88 costume to one of their shows (great fun!). They will rock your face off.
HASH(0xa964bf48) out of 5 stars Five Stars April 21 2016
By Careful Buyer #1 - Published on Amazon.com
I bought this album directly from the daikaiju website and am certainly enjoying listening to it.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa968c0cc) out of 5 stars Five Stars March 20 2015
By Douglas Petersen - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Fantastic American music!!!