FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 35.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
Desire has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 6.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This book is in very good condition and will be shipped within 24 hours of ordering. The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. This book has clearly been well maintained and looked after thus far. Money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. See more of our deals.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Desire Mass Market Paperback – Oct 30 2001

3.5 out of 5 stars 22 customer reviews

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
"Please retry"
CDN$ 49.47
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
CDN$ 9.89
CDN$ 3.13 CDN$ 0.01

Unlimited FREE Two-Day Shipping for Six Months When You Try Amazon Student
click to open popover

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle best deals, today only Kindle best deals

Product Details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Ivy Books (Oct. 30 2001)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0449004864
  • ISBN-13: 978-0449004869
  • Product Dimensions: 10.7 x 3 x 17.4 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 181 g
  • Average Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars 22 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #713,305 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

From Publishers Weekly

Following in the tradition of The Seduction and The Passion, the third installment in Jordan's Regency-era Notorious series is rife with sensual love scenes and the kind of misunderstandings and misadventures typical of the genre. When English spymaster Lucian Tremayne, the Earl of Wycliff, comes across Brynn Caldwell as she's emerging from the ocean after a swim, he finds himself irresistibly drawn to her and offers for her hand in marriage. Brynn refuses, informing him of her family's curse the women in her family are doomed to lure the men who love them to their death. Unafraid of a mere curse, Lucian convinces Brynn to marry him by offering to help her family out of debt. In a plot twist familiar to Regency fans, Brynn and Lucian each struggle to keep their emotions separate from their desire for one another but, inevitably, love blossoms between the two. This overused story line is enlivened by a subplot involving a gold smuggling operation that strikes close to Lucian's home and leads him to mistrust his beguiling wife. The sex scenes here are fewer and less explicit than in Jordan's earlier entries, but the novel's intricate plot and colorful characters more than compensate. This delightful tale will please fans and newcomers alike.

Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information, Inc.

From Booklist

While searching for a traitor in Cornwall, Lucian Tremayne, Earl of Wycliff and a spy for the English government, is bewitched by the sight of Brynn Caldwell rising out of the ocean like some foam-bedecked goddess. Vowing to take Brynn as his bride, Lucian is at first thwarted by the beautiful siren, who fears a family curse that dooms any man who falls in love with a Caldwell woman. Family debts eventually force Brynn to wed Lucian, but once Lucian suspects that Brynn may be involved in the scheme to smuggle English gold to the French that he's investigating, he's torn between his duty to his country and his desire for his reluctant new wife. Jordan creates a seething sexual tension between Brynn and Lucian that builds into exquisitely sensual, intimately detailed love scenes, which become an integral part of the plot. Readers who enjoy other sensual historical romance writers like Stephanie Laurens or Robin Schone will find this to be an equally seductive indulgence. John Charles
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved

See all Product Description

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Mass Market Paperback
...I've come to be quite spoiled by Nicole Jordan's books, and DESIRE continues that oh-so-satisfying tradition...
Brynn Caldwell is wonderfully drawn , strong, full of love for her protective older brother Grayson and her endearingly real younger brother Theo , whom she raised from birth when their mother died 12 years before. Their father is dead, and they are making a living , but only just keeping ahead of their creditors....
Brynn's life is changed forever when Lucian, the Earl of Wycliff, spies her rising out of the warm waters off Cornwall after a private swim, Venus-like. Their chemistry is instantaneous, and Lucian is a very experienced lover, being one of the more illustrious rakes in the Hellfire League, whose members are featured in all of Jordan's NOTORIOUS series. Brynn doesn't know (and we don't either, at first) how disillusioned Lucian has become with the empty loveless paths he's traveled, and how deeply involved he is now with the war effort, conducting espionage for Britain as she battles on against Napoleon Bonaparte, the Corsican tyrant.
But I digress. I read romance novels for romance, both emotional/spiritual and physical, and DESIRE *delivers*.... Ms. Jordan does not disappoint, giving readers a thrillingly hot love scene in the first few pages, set up as a prologue... WOW. All I can say is WOW...
In a nutshell, Brynn's afraid to marry him because a curse has been placed on all the females in her family; if she falls in love with any man, he will die. It's already happened to her once... and I was amazed when Ms. Jordan was able to draw *me* into the mystery of the curse, just as Brynn draws Lucian effortlessly to herself; he wants her more than he's ever wanted anyone, and offers for her hand almost immediately.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
By A Customer on Oct. 30 2001
Format: Mass Market Paperback
In 1813 on the Cornish Coast, the renowned rake, the Earl of Tremayne, Lucien Wycliffe, actually works undercover seeking traitors smuggling gold to the French. He meets Brynn Caldwell in an isolated area and cannot resist stealing a kiss. She thinks his immediate attraction to her is caused by the two-century-old gypsy curse in which men fall hard for her family's females, but die if they love them back

Lucien learns that Brynn's family is in financial trouble and suspects her oldest brother Gray does some smuggling to make ends meet and avoid debtor prison though he wonders if selling gold is part of the man's activities. Lucien, who wants an heir, decides to marry Brynn, the first woman he has found attractive in a while. He blackmails his reluctant choice by offering to send her bookish sibling Theo to the university and pay off Gray's debts. However, he begins to wonder if his new wife and her family are the seditious supporters of Napoleon even as he knows he loves Brynn, curse or not.

DESIRE is an exciting Regency romance that readers will enjoy as the evidence points towards Brynn's betrayal of Lucien. The lead characters are a strong duo though the audience might wonder why Brynn hides behind the curse rather than confide in her spouse, whom she has to realize does not trust her. The support cast, especially two of her brothers, add depth to the era and the lead protagonists. Nicole Jordan has written a stunning historical romance that sub-genre fans will want to read.

Harriet Klausner
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Hmmmmm, well it has taken me some time to read "Desire" ... this was initially because I was somewhat disappointed in "Ecstasy".
However, to my pleasant surprise Desire far exceeds the disappointment of "Ecstasy" and is well worth the read!
A novel based on mystery, mistrust, and passion ... an unlikely mix, but certainly a good read!
Brynn Caldwell, an impoverished gentry living in Cornwall, forced into 'free-trade' to make ends meet .... Lucian, the notorious Lord of Wycliff, working for the Foreign office in search of traitors to the crown ... a curse pushes them apart but their unwanted attraction pulls them together: a battle of wills ensues and in the end will love win out?
Overall a really great read; a real page turner, and interesting until the very end .... (although the ending seemed slightly, only slightly, cliched to moi); I must admit that romance novels that pit hero vs heroine, in respect to fighting their feelings to the bitter end, don't endear themselves to me but this was a very well written book and I thought quite outstanding.
A word of warning though: don't read a Jordan novel unless you like a more "risque" romance novel .... this is not for the TIMID as the sex scenes fairly drip off ("steamy" if you get what I mean) the pages!!
Anyways, definitely worth a read.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I have been reading Jordan's books for over a decade, and I keep coming back despite troubling problems with each book. WHY? Because she creates such strong, intriguing characters. Often, they are infuriating, but I figure she is pushing the right buttons in me to provoke such a response. Even when they are infuriating, I long remember them after I put them down.
This book - the third installment in Jordan's Regency era Notorious series - has another of the arrogant alpha males, Lucian Tremayne, Earl of Wycliff. He is a spy for the English government. He comes upon comes across Brynn Caldwell as she is gets out of the water after swimming. He immediately proposes (o-kay) but Brynn says no, that she - and all the women of her family are curse. The curse is a they lure men to love them to their death - sort of like the Leannan Si of Ireland.
Well, a wee curse is nothing to a master spy, so Lucian does not let this stop his pursuit. He finally convinces Brynn to marry him. This creates troubles as Brynn and her family have been smuggling to make ends meet,and Lucian has been sent their to stop the flow of gold going to France. Despite a rocky start to their marriage bed, Lucian and Brynn share desire, though both keep their emotions locked away.
Where I got a wee ticked was his wanting the child and she saying she would give him a son for her freedom. Women just don't carry a child for 9 months and then turn their back, and this is a little trite to boot. Then he says if she wants a child she will have to pursue the conception? Shakes head? I felt like Jordan changed characters on me.
She is a strong writer that keeps me coming back time and again.
Just one of these days she is going to get it perfect and WOW!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews