No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Digital List Price: CDN$ 18.99
Kindle Price: CDN$ 9.99

Save CDN$ 11.96 (54%)

includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Divorce Turkish Style (Kati Hirschel Murder Mystery) by [Aykol, Esmahan]
Kindle App Ad

Divorce Turkish Style (Kati Hirschel Murder Mystery) Kindle Edition


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
CDN$ 9.99

Signup for Kindle Daily Deals
Kindle Delivers: Daily Deals
Subscribe to find out about each day's Kindle Daily Deals for adults and young readers. Learn more

Product Description

Review

'The heroine could be the love child of Miss Marple and NPR's Andrei Codrescu. It doesn't matter much who done it. What matters is that Aykol uses the genre to tell us a little more about the world than we're used to hearing from more commercial writers.' Newsday

'Aykol makes her English-language debut with Hotel Bosphorus her first mystery featuring Kati Hirschel, an offbeat amateur sleuth with a distinctive narrative voice. Fans of such female detectives as Amanda Cross's Kate Fansler and Kerry Greenwood's Phryne Fisher will find a lot to like.' Publishers Weekly

'In Aykol's impressive second Kati Hirschel mystery Baksheesh set in Istanbul (after 2011's Hotel Bosphorus), Kati, a German expatriate 'who loves reading detective stories and has a shop specializing... once again turns amateur sleuth with aplomb.' Publishers Weekly

'When you want to be more than a pretty wife, you may have to go above and beyond the call of duty. With characters all around her putting the pressure on her, Kati Hirschel pushes herself to keep her independence, until her interest becomes her business in more than one way. Baksheesh is a strongly recommended pick for lovers of international mystery, highly recommended.' MBR Bookwatch

Product Description

Praise for Esmahan Aykol:

"Kati could be the love child of Miss Marple and NPR's Andrei Codrescu. It doesn't matter who done it. What matters is that Aykol uses the genre to tell us more about the world than we're used to."—Newsday

"An offbeat amateur sleuth with a distinctive narrative voice. Fans of Amanda Cross's Kate Fansler and Kerry Greenwood's Phryne Fisher will find a lot to like."—Publishers Weekly

Kati owns Istanbul's only mystery book store and, as usual, gets involved in a case that is none of her business. Every day, a beautiful woman lunches alone in the restaurant next to the bookstore. When the woman is found dead in her apartment, Kati immediately recognizes the stranger from the restaurant in images in the newspaper photos. Although the police believe it was an accident, Kati suspects something more sinister has happened.

Sani Ankaraligil was an attractive young woman and a politically active ecologist in the middle of a divorce from her wealthy husband. So who would benefit from her death? The industrial companies Sani had accused of polluting the rivers of western Turkey, or her jealous husband seeking revenge through an honor killing, or a Thracian separatist group? The investigation pulls Kati into murkier waters: the marriage may have been a sham, designed to cover up Sani's husband's homosexuality . . . the role of her mother-in-law goes from distasteful to outright criminal.


Product Details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1239 KB
  • Print Length: 235 pages
  • Publisher: Bitter Lemon Press (Sept. 21 2015)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B011H515HI
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #95,304 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

click to open popover

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 4.0 out of 5 stars 1 review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kati's best friend and fellow amateur gumshoe have their share of ... Nov. 29 2015
By Melinda - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
The mystery aspect was mild. The search for the culprit(s) is slow and as expected enlightening. The victim was a distant acquaintance of Kati's and as she peels back the layers and inner circle of this woman's life things become very interesting as secrets and possible motives are exposed. The drawn out narrative can drag a bit, however Kati's often brash personality keeps you entertained. Fofo, Kati's best friend and fellow amateur gumshoe have their share of witty repartee allowing for plenty of chuckles. Momentum ebbs and flows, other scenarios interrupt causing minuscule subplots.

Kati Herschel possesses a strong personality. At times she grates on your nerves with her jagged edges, other times her edges are smooth and you appreciate her softer side. I have a better grasp of her by the end of the book, although the road was bumpy. Once you learn of her past, concerns, and there is enough presented, you understand this fiercely independent, strong woman much better.

The fact Kati is the owner of the only crime/mystery book store in Istanbul is clever. She reads so much crime she's confident she can solve local crimes of merit, and she does. Kati is so adept at sleuthing she impresses the police, in fact they quasi consult her, adding to her over abundant level of confidence.

Another interesting aspect I enjoyed, seeing Turkey through Kati's eyes. Kati is an expatriate from Germany, still adjusting to Turkish ways and people despite residing in Turkey for quite some time. Interesting to learn the intricacies of Turkey along with Kati as well as her comparisons of Germany vs. Turkey.

Mild mystery filled with numerous and electric characters. A few surprises along the way to solving the murder. I was off base as to the culprit, which was welcomed. Not until the very very end did all the pieces come together. Kati and Fofo will entertain you both on and off the case. Given Turkish is a difficult language to translate I found the translation strong. I still wish I could read every language to fully experience each story in their original tongue.

This is the third book in a series. I have not read the previous books, however it did not deter from my reading experience. This book is fine as a standalone, although bits and pieces of the previous books are scattered throughout the narrative gleaning enough insight into previous exploits protagonist has been involved in.