Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

A Dog's Way Home Audio CD – Audiobook, Unabridged

See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Audio Download
"Please retry"
CDN$ 77.47
Audio CD, Audiobook, Unabridged
"Please retry"
CDN$ 150.10 CDN$ 51.40

Amulet Box Set Amulet Box Set

click to open popover

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle best deals, today only Kindle best deals

Product Details

  • Audio CD
  • Publisher: Listening Library (Audio); Unabridged edition (June 26 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0449013863
  • ISBN-13: 978-0449013861
  • Product Dimensions: 13.7 x 3 x 15 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 222 g
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #2,577,991 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description


“In the tradition of The Incredible Journey and Lassie Come-Home comes a heartwarming, suspenseful tale. An inspiring portrayal of devotion and survival against all odds.” (Publishers Weekly (starred review))

“Fans of the Lassie stories and The Incredible Journey will lose themselves in this harrowing adventure. This is an uplifting tale of devotion, perseverance and love beyond boundaries.” (Kirkus Reviews)

“Readers will find it tough not to flip to the final pages to find out how this heartfelt story ends. Hand this to fans of Phyllis Reynolds Naylor’s Shiloh and Kathi Appelt’s The Underneath and they will not be disappointed.” (Booklist)

“Bobbie Pyron gives us a triumphant story about faith and hope and never giving up, especially on the ones you love.” (Kathi Appelt, Newbery Honor author of The Underneath)

“A Dog’s Way Home is at times hilarious, at times mystical, at times page-turningly suspenseful. The heartbeat of this story—like the strong heartbeat of the Sheltie at its center—will stay with you for a very, very long time.” (Gary D. Schmidt, Newbery Honor and Printz Honor author of Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy and The Wednesday Wars)

“Beautifully written, this is an important story that speaks to the special kinship between child and dog. I simply LOVE this book!” (Patricia MacLachlan, Newbery Medal-winning author of Sarah, Plain and Tall) --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

From the Back Cover

Miles, months, and mountains can't possibly keep them apart.

Eleven-year-old Abby and her Shetland sheepdog, Tam, are each other's everything—best friends, a championship-winning agility team, and loyal beyond either of their imaginings. But then the unthinkable happens and Abby and Tam are separated by a tragic accident. As their days apart turn to weeks and then months, dangers and changes fill up Abby's and Tam's lives. Will they ever find their way back home to each other?

Set in the Blue Ridge Mountains, Bobbie Pyron's evocative, memorable storytelling is rich with music, miracles, unexpected friendships, and abundant hopefulness.

--This text refers to the Paperback edition.

See all Product Description

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 4.8 out of 5 stars 89 reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book Aug. 16 2016
By Lily - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is a beautiful book! My friend recommended it, and I thought, "It can't be THAT good." Then she loaned her book to another friend, and that friend said it was a wonderful book. So I thought, "What's the harm?"
Well, it's not some silly little animal book. It is very touching and emotional, with two main characters, Abigail and her dog Tam. I'm not going to spoil it for everybody, but I think that if you have the time, you will want to read it in a day. A million thoughts will soak into your head as you read, and don't be surprised if you are grumpy when interrupted by someone while reading.
I suggest this book to kids and adults. The chapters are mostly short, especially towards the end, but that is not a bad thing.
It worth 6 dollars, and you will probably read it again and again.
Especially if you are an animal lover.
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for moms and daughters July 26 2016
By J. deRosier - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
My daughter and I read this book for our mommy/daughter book group - and we both enjoyed it a lot.
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read For Animal Lovers of All Ages (Wish I could give more stars) Jan. 31 2011
By Michelle R - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product
I selected this book because it features a Sheltie, which is the breed I love most, but also because I'm a sucker for Incredible Journey type books. This met all my expectations -- and children's book or not -- made my cry at several moments, particularly at the end. The story was so good, the writing so vivid, and whole thing was so moving.

Anyone who believes in the almost sacred relationship between a dog and his or her person, will understand how beautifully this has been rendered here. "Sheltie people" will recognize this as an accurate portrayal of the resilience and intelligence of the breed -- the book begins with an agility match, a sport Shelties excel at. Poor Tam has many hardships on his way home and the book takes place over many months. Abby, while separated from Tam, also has adventures at a new school, even as she never stops believing Tam will make it home.

Although this book is suitable for and geared toward a younger readership, the author doesn't shy away from making Tam's journey difficult, and along the way tragedy and loss befall him, and perhaps parents should know that for the younger readers, but this is just such a good book.

Having worked at a shelter and adopted dogs, among them several Shelties, I think of all the times I've looked at these animals and wondered about their stories. My current Sheltie was found wandering in a park and there was another one who was a stray in Detroit. I wondered who missed them or who had let them go and I wonder if my beloved pets have memories of their lives before.

For fans of Lassie Come Home and related stories, many of Tam's experiences pay homage to these books and movies -- friends found, rescue just missed, and still the dog moves on, relentless in his need for home. I cannot say enough good things here!

I believe readers of this book will adore it, no matter what the age, and very well might end up like me -- with tears rolling down my face and eager to recommend it to others!

5 stars!
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I loved Abby & Tam (Not an Old Yeller ending) Feb. 23 2011
By DAC - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover
11yr old Abby and her dog Tam are Dog Agility champions. After another win in Virginia, there's car accident on the way home to Harmony Gap, NC. Tam's cage which was in the back of the truck was thrown over during the accident. Now Abby is trying to find Tam and he's trying to find his way home. The chapters alternate between the two.

Once Tam was lost it was his story I was most interested in. One thing I loved about Tam, he wasn't an extraordinary or overly smart dog. He was simply a regular Sheltie, following his instincts to get home. Sometimes I read dog stories and wonder, how does this dog know so much.* I never got that feeling with Tam. His journey was very long and I was caught up in it and my heart when out to him many times.

I was so caught up in Tam's story, but its to the author's credit that I never once considered skipping Abby's story. As much as I wanted to know what was happening to Tam, Abby part still held me. Pyron gave equal amount of time to both stories. Somewhere along way I was more invested in Abby's. The story spanned months, Abby's life wasn't put on hold. She still had to navigate middle school and make friends. The author also took the time to develop the characters around Abby. I really enjoyed the dad's love of music . I loved getting an unexpected taste of country music scene in Nashville.

Though it always came back to Tam and Abby. When I started reading, I didn't think it was going to have an Old Yeller ending (it wasn't) and I still got choked up. There's one at the line at the end that will stay with me for a very long time. A Dog's Way Home was a pleasure to read and I loved losing myself in it. A must read for anyone who loves dog stories.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Dog lover's Delight Aug. 25 2012
By B. Miller - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
As a young reader, some of my favorite books were animals stories, and I read - and continue to read - them all: Wild Animals I have Known (Seton), Black Stallion (Farley), Where The Red Fern Grows (Rawls), Lassie Come Home (Knight), The Incredible Journey (Burnford). Bobbie Pyron continues this classic tradition in "A Dog's Way Home." While a comparison is inevitable, Bobbie skillfully crafts her own homage to the special relationship of a child and her dog.

The story is told using two perspectives: eleven-year old Abby Whistler and her beloved champion Shetland sheepdog, Tam. It begins on a "near-to-perfect fall day" following a champion agility event. The two are on the long journey home to Harmony Gap, North Carolina. Predictably, there's an accident, as "The truck screamed in alarm. It swerved one way and then the other..." . Abby's and Tam's worlds are turned upside down, and the two become separated. The plot unfolds as the narrative moves between the two perspectives, each trying to find their way back to the other. But the transitions are natural, each perspective emotionally authentic and powerful. Bobbie doesn't hold back from the difficult moments, as hope wanes. The reader stays riveted to both characters.

We know from the very beginning what happens in the end, when "Her smell surrounded him ... grass, green apples, the salt of tears. Tears he licked from her face." But, as with any excellent crafted story, it's the journey that counts, and this one is an utter delight.