Dolls has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Dolls AUS-Import

Price: CDN$ 24.30 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
10 new from CDN$ 24.29 3 used from CDN$ 23.36

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Aug. 1 2008)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: AUS-Import
  • Label: Huume
  • ASIN: B000AQVE86
  • In-Print Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

The Dolls are Vladislav Delay aka Luomo (Finland), Antye Greie aka AGF (Germany) and Craig Armstrong (Scotland). Huume Recordings are happy sponsors of this collaboration between three solo musicians, admirers and explorers. Craig Armstrong (Massive Attack, Moulin Rouge soundtrack) had heard AGF's (Antye Greie) music and became a fan. He invited Antye to sing on his second solo album, As If To Nothing, and they performed a few successful shows together, with Vladislav Delay as central groupie and sometime performer. Armstrong later recorded a few of the songs off his solo piano album Piano Works in Berlin at AGF/Delay's home studio, dipping into idea-sharing and collaboration. They recorded hours of piano played by Armstrong, bringing in their computers and various studio toys. And at times when the machines didn't do their thing anymore, then the piano itself became a platform for something new, going well beyond "treated piano." The Dolls believe in the soothing qualities in music, both as a catalyst for themselves while making it as well as for soothing frayed nerves for the modern condition. But this trio of authors also believe in the child-like catharsis of music-making, even to the point of nonsense. Using drums, piano and vocals, The Dolls take on character-roles, tell stories, and share intimate personal memory, transforming the pieces into multi-layered musical fantasy. Different generations with various backgrounds, musical ideas and visions meet here and mix-and-match there, leaving behind something you haven't heard before. This is an archive recording of a surprising and uncompromised musical event. Bliss.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa2e56924) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa2fa3c9c) out of 5 stars Great artists, but ... Aug. 31 2007
By Amazon Customer - Published on
Format: Audio CD
What first comes to mind are atonal compositions, those of Shoenberg and various avant-garde jazz attempts. An essentially experimental and anti-consumerist element seems to exist at the heart of this album, which excites a tension with an equivocally determined "lounge" mood.

Three stars: when I listen to this album, I hear artists' styles conflicting, where they strive to (or should) complement. Even atonal compositions, the ones worth mentioning, have a sort of "organic wholeness" about them that this album, for the most part, seems to lack.

I bought this album due to a recent and remarkable intrigue (a gravity) toward Vladislav Delay's "ambient" productions ("Demon Tracks" and "Whistleblower" in particular). These albums, among any albums of his other pseudonyms, I highly recommend!
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa2fa3fcc) out of 5 stars Craig Armstrong, AGF, and Vladislav Delay all walk into a room... Nov. 22 2005
By somethingexcellent - Published on
Format: Audio CD
The Dolls is a collaboration between three artists who have no business finding enough time to work together and put out an album. In the past year or so, Antye Greie has released Explode with Vladislav Delay, as well as Before The Libretto as a member of the Lappetites. Vladislav Delay has not only collaborated with Greie on the aforementioned release, but put out The Four Quarters under his own name. Oh yeah, and Craig Armstrong is a constantly-working composer who has released albums under his own name, as well as worked with artists ranging from Madonna to U2 and Massive Attack, as well as doing soundtrack work for films like Moulin Rouge (among others).

Interestingly enough, The Dolls sounds almost exactly as one might imagine it to sound given the three artists involved. Warm, lush piano and string work is layered over the top of crisp, sometimes dub-influenced programming while glitchy sprays burst over it at times. Oh yeah, and Greie adds her half-spoken, half-sung vocals (which seem to be getting increasingly better with each release she works on). In fact, the album opener of "Martini Never Dies" is almost straightforward enough to find itself on an album by Armstrong himself, with slick, dry cracking beats and a wobbly bassline rumbling under minimal piano phrases and some crooning by Greie that sounds almost freestyle at times. "White Dove" chugs out alternating beat patterns under more warm piano and vocals, while frantic bursts of electronics shuffle on the outskirts.

On the album (and group) titled "The Dolls," the group turn in what is basically the theme song from the collaboration as glitch dub beats roll underneath some great interplay between Greie and the ivory tickling of Armstrong. Fortunately, not every single track on the album follows the same pattern as all of the aforementioned tracks, as "Night Active" busts out with a more dancey beat and nary a piano or string to be found while "Choices" rumbles with some poppy electro-krunk and "Motor City" is 4/4 banging with a wobbled-out twist (and some almost doo-wop vocals from Greie). Fans of Armstrong may find The Dolls a bit too strange to digest on first sitting, but those looking for even more unique work from Greie and Delay will find that the collaborative trio (who are all obviously as prolific as hell) has more than enough interesting elements to make it a worthwhile purchase.

(from almost cool music reviews)
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa2602d38) out of 5 stars Interesting, but fails to stick with you Jan. 6 2006
By Manny Hernandez - Published on
Format: Audio CD
The sum of various talented people does not always equate to the combination of their individual talents. I thought all that Craig Armstrong touched turned into musical gold, but this album failed to stick with me. It sounds too intentional, too engineered, blending in beats and BJork-like voice into the piano and string soundscapes that Armstrong has us used to. In spite of how interesting you may think such a combination may be, it doesn't work out as you'd hope. I am moving on...