CDN$ 25.97 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Only 1 left in stock - order soon. Sold by thebookcommunity_ca
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: All items ship from California, USA. This item is guaranteed to play perfectly with all original artwork and materials. U
Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 26.69
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Don Quixote / Music From Tannhauser Import

Price: CDN$ 25.97
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Ships from and sold by thebookcommunity_ca.
3 new from CDN$ 15.32 6 used from CDN$ 9.31

Product Details

  • Audio CD (March 18 1997)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: EMI Classics Imports
  • ASIN: B000002S8A
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Intro
2. Thema
3. Variation I
4. Variation II
5. Variation III
6. Variation IV
7. Variation V
8. Variation VI
9. Variation VII
10. Variation VIII
11. Variation IX
12. Variation X
13. Finale
14. Overture & Venusberg Music (Paris Version) - Berlin Philharmonic
15. Overture - Berlin Philharmonic

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa7a86ca8) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa7450a74) out of 5 stars Gorgeously played, extraordinarily insightful Aug. 24 2000
By - Published on
This recording of what is probably Strauss's greatest tone poem was made in 1975, when Karajan and Rostropovich were both at the height of their powers. It lives up to all expectations. First of all, the balance between orchestra and cello solo is excellent. This is not a cello concerto, but an orchestral piece with a part for solo cello. Secondly, the Berlin Philharmonic (it hardly needs to be said) plays with fiery intensity, beautiful tone and incredible virtuosity. This was the best orchestra in the world at this time, and it shows. Thirdly, the contributions of Rostropovich and Ulrich Koch (the solo violist) are superb. Rostropovich produces rich, full, beautiful tone but also paints a detailed portrait of Don Quixote, leading the listener straight into Quixote's head. He brings out Strauss's ingenious portrayal of the Don's gradual descent into insanity, until his death, where, as the excellent liner notes point out, he regains his wits. Rostropovich plays the magnificent death scene movingly. Last, but certainly not least, is Karajan's conducting. From the bleating sheep in Variation II to the lyrical outpourings of Variation III to the amazing flying horse in Variation VII, this master Straussian completely understands every part of the complex score, and has complete control of his forces, bringing everything together to produce what is probably the best Don Quixote on record.
The two Wagner overtures make excellent fillers. Tannhäuser has a nobility (for the Pilgrim's Chorus theme) and an exotic flavor (for the Venusberg music) that are ideal, and Die Meistersinger has a thrilling richness and depth. The analogue sound has been skilfully remastered using EMI's ART system, and now there is no tape-hiss at all. This is a superb achievement and, at mid-price, a bargain, too.
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa78ee684) out of 5 stars Don Quixote in the full flight of Late Romanticism Jan. 14 2014
By dv_forever - Published on
Rostropovich and Karajan collaborated only a handful of times. From my knowledge, I only know Dvorak's Cello Concerto, Tchaikovsky's Rococo Variations, Beethoven's Triple Concerto alongside Richter and Oistrakh and this Don Quixote. Please make a note in the comments section if I'm missing something. Each collaboration showcased the mutual understanding between soloist, conductor and orchestra. Rostropovich and Karajan are on the same page. They both love a big sound and heroic gestures. Karajan's obsession with grandeur and nobility are underlined by Rostropovich's humane warmth. His cello stands out amidst the massive Berlin wall of sound. Some listeners want the solo cello part to blend more into the fabric. "This is not a concerto." True, it's a tone poem and there's no better Don Quixote than Rostropovich. This is a massive reading of the kind one would expect from the Karajan Berlin Philharmonic. Karajan's style was a perfect fit for Richard Strauss.

Having heard the more modest Don Quixotes under Szell, Reiner, Kempe and Levine, why would anyone not want to get the full on late romantic experience from Karajan and Rostropovich? Listen to Variation III, which is track 5. Half way through the track, the Berlin strings are unleashed completely. Truly an orgasmic display of sound. The later variation, "Flight through the Air" gets that wind machine working with the brass, absolutely stunning! Haven't heard better. The later sections and the death of Don Quixote are played for all their worth by Rostropovich. The EMI sound has all the lushness and warmth that the music demands.

Not only do you get perhaps the greatest Don Quixote on disc, you also get two choice Wagner selections. The Tannhauser Overture and Venusberg Music has never been played better in my experience. The central section that Wagner composed for the Paris premiere is orgiastic and sensational. Wagner was under the influence of his own Tristan and Isolde here as he went back to Tannhauser and inserted this bit of sorcery into an extended version of the famous overture. This is some of the wildest, most intoxicated and demented music Wagner ever wrote. The Berlin Philharmonic simply goes berserk in this section. Then after a fever induced heart attack, the music quiets down and the distant chorus comes in as if beckoning to us from heaven. A thrill ride that ends in peace.

The Meistersinger Overture is also included. Karajan's version is as good as any on the market with a resounding climax at the end. The sound quality throughout the Meistersinger and the Tannhauser Overture and Venusberg Music is gloriously decadent luxury to match the work on Don Quixote, a perfect synch to the aesthetics of the performance. I've had this beautiful CD in my collection for years and I'm listening to an excerpt as I write this. The Variation III, track 5 of Don Quixote. The strings! In a word, wow!