Dvorak: Symphony No. 9 has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Dvorak: Symphony No. 9

Price: CDN$ 20.83 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
2 new from CDN$ 20.83 4 used from CDN$ 11.99

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Feb. 27 2001)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: British Broadcasting Corp.
  • ASIN: B000056P0M
  • In-Print Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #311,965 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Leonore Ov No.3, Op.72a: Adagio - Allegro
2. The Love For Three Oranges - Sym Ste, Op.33bis: I. Les Ridicules. Vivo
3. The Love For Three Oranges - Sym Ste, Op.33bis: II. Le Magicien Tchelio Et Fata Morgana Jouent...
4. The Love For Three Oranges - Sym Ste, Op.33bis: III. Marche. Tempo Di Marcia
5. The Love For Three Oranges - Sym Ste, Op.33bis: IV. Scherzo. Allegro Con Brio
6. The Love For Three Oranges - Sym Ste, Op.33bis: V. Le Prince Dt La Princesse. Andantino
7. The Love For Three Oranges - Sym Ste, Op.33bis: VI. La Fuite. Allegro - Andante Assai - Allegro...
8. Sym No.9 in e, Op.95 'From The New World': I. Adagio - Allegro Molto
9. Sym No.9 in e, Op.95 'From The New World': II. Largo
10. Sym No.9 in e, Op.95 'From The New World': III. Scherzo. Molto Vivace
11. Sym No.9 in e, Op.95 'From The New World': IV. Allegro Con Fuoco

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x9cd79e40) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9c97adf8) out of 5 stars Exemplary live performances May 24 2013
By billinrio - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Rudolf Kempe was an extraordinary and versatile conductor. This
recording of a 1975 proms concert of the BBC Symphony Orchestra,
of which he was Principal Conductor, was recorded 9 months before his death,
and is an excellent example of his ability to draw outstanding performances
from the many orchestras he led during his career. These included The Royal Philharmonic
RPO) from 1955, the Tonhalle Orchester of Zurich(from 1960) and the Munich Philharmonic.

Here he brings out all of the drama in Beethoven's Leonore Overture No.3, while
coaxing excellent playing from the BBC forces; particularly from the
woodwinds(Kempe began his music career as an oboist.

Prokofiev's music is, of course, quite of another style - sharp, acerbic, and
ironic. Rather than the massed instrumental sounds of the Beethoven,
here there is sometimes an almost chamber quality that Kempe brings out admirably.
Again, the BBC Orchestra rises to the occasion, with the brass section
proving its ability to navigate the extreme demands placed upon it by the score.

Kempe leads an exciting New World. By placing the 2nd violins on the right he achieves
some nice antiphonal effects. The Largo sounds to me to be a bit rushed, but perhaps I'm
just used to hearing it played much more slowly.

Apparently, some members of the audience thought that the New World ends after the 3rd movement.
The producer of this CD could very well have cut out their smattering of applause.
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9c9a1ed0) out of 5 stars *** 1/2 Despite a fond reputation, these are just medium good readings all around Sept. 25 2011
By Santa Fe Listener - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
BBC Legends has done wonders reviving the posthumous reputation of Klaus Tennstedt and reinforcing the greatness of Giulini in concert. They have reminded us that Barbirolli, despite being at the head of a provincial British orchestra, had real greatness in him more often than not. Can the same be said of Rudolf Kempe, who had a strong presence in London with the Royal Phil. and BBC Sym.? Kempe's devotees are a strong corps, but I have my doubts. Here we have parts of two Proms concerts from August, 1975, the year before Kempe died unexpectedly at age 65. To me, they sound like straightforward music-making of the kind one expects at good subscription concerts. the sound is moderately good broadcast stereo; everything is quite listenable.

first up is Beethoven's Leonore Overture no. 3, a stalwart that also happens to be a masterpiece of the composer's middle period. The BBC Sym. plays without much relish, frankly, and Kempe's interpretation is solid but nothing more. The pace picks up with a suite from Prokofiev's zany satirical opera, "The Love of Three Oranges," where Kempe draws real color from the playing. A Russian specialist like Yuri Temirkanov finds more edge and spice in the score, but Kempe doesn't hold back, and his musicians are twice as lively as they were in the Beethoven, which sounds like a run-through.

The main symphonic work is the Dvorak "New World," which Kempe also recorded for EMI. Kempe's reading is robust and assured, but nothing especially eventful happens, and the BBC Sym. plays like any medium-good professional orchestra. I apologize if I sound glint-eyed, but in the end Kempe has never struck me as an outstanding orchestral conductor outside Richard Strauss - his real home was the opera pit.