Early & Unknown String Wo... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Early & Unknown String Works/Rangzen Quartet & Str (DVD Audio) NTSC, Import, DVD Audio

Price: CDN$ 43.58 & FREE Shipping. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
6 new from CDN$ 37.76 1 used from CDN$ 51.42

Product Details

  • DVD Audio (Feb. 13 2007)
  • Please Note: This is a DVD-Audio disc which is playable on most DVD players as well as all DVD-Audio players.
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: DVD Audio, NTSC, Import
  • Label: CD Baby
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Sunshine Polka U10
2. 'Alliance' Waltz U10
3. Song Without Words in Bb major U10
4. Idyllic Song Without Words in C major U10
5. Song Without Words in A minor U10
6. Birthday March [1 part] U10
7. Romance in D minor [2 parts] U10
8. String Quartet in F major [fragment] U119
9. Gavotte and Musette [original version] U193
10. 11 Waltzes for String Orchestra I. Kräftig U566
11. 11 Waltzes for String Orchestra II. Nicht zu rasch U567
12. 11 Waltzes for String Orchestra III. Etwas langsam U568
13. 11 Waltzes for String Orchestra IV. Etwas rasch U569
14. 11 Waltzes for String Orchestra V. Rasch U571
15. 11 Waltzes for String Orchestra VI. U573
16. 11 Waltzes for String Orchestra VII. Kräftig U582
17. 11 Waltzes for String Orchestra VIII. Getragen U584
18. 11 Waltzes for String Orchestra IX. Lebhaft U586
19. 11 Waltzes for String Orchestra X. Nicht rasch U575
20. 11 Waltzes for String Orchestra XI. Allegro rasch [fragment] U578
See all 45 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars 4 reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Schoenberg's Connection With His Past Nov. 28 2008
By frankp93 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: DVD Audio Verified Purchase
For all of the "bad boy of modern music" reputation that saddled Schoenberg, particularly in his native Vienna, the composer insisted throughout his life that his work was not a total break with the past, but rather an inevitable progression and extension of many of its ideas and techniques.

This recording features a selection of pieces and fragments written in Schoenberg's earliest years as a composer and, importantly, an amateur player of the cello and viola. Schoenberg was not a conservatory-bred composer, but began by imitating the pieces in his lessons and those he performed with friends. Popular waltzes, folk tunes, and the Romantic repertoire of the day inspired him in these largely self-taught efforts.

The works are performed beautifully and, ironically I suspect, with far greater expertise than Schoenberg and his pals could ever have dreamt of at the time. But the value in hearing these pieces - aside from their straightforward musicality - is they provide at least a window, however speculative, into the man's connection to tradition and understanding of what it meant to be a musician of his time.

A minor but important point to note is the format of this recording is an audio DVD. If you want to listen on a CD player, you'll need something like Cinematize to extract the tracks to CD.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Schoenberg, Early & Unknown String Works Nov. 28 2008
By William Taylor - Published on Amazon.com
Format: DVD Audio Verified Purchase
Schoenberg's string chamber music (the four numbered quartets, the early D major quartet, and the late string trio) includes some of the twentieth century's most significant compositions--think of the impact of the second quartet, for example. Schoenberg's estate, mostly held in the Schoenberg Center in Vienna, contains a number of early works, fragments and torsos that, while often referred to in discussions of the composer's music, have mostly remained unperformed. This hi-rez recording brings all this music to life, from the stuttering early waltzes to Schoenberg's thematic ideas for a projected fifth quartet, the chronological ordering enabling the listener to overhear the composer in his workshop. An inspired project that only an independent company would undertake, graced by strong, confident performances and that tactile 96/24 sound (is there a hi-rez recording of one of the numbered quartets?). Severine Neff's judicious liner notes complete a fascinating album that throws new light on Schoenberg's musical evolution.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fong Plays Schonberg!!! Dec 3 2008
By Lisa Nybaek - Published on Amazon.com
Format: DVD Audio
The Grand Rapids Symphony Orchestra's very own Christina Fong has once again excelled, along with the Rangzen Quartet and Strings. Whereas the Austrian composer Arnold Schonberg is widely known throughout the classical music world, his early works are not so much so. This Audio DVD is not just a joy and delight to listen to. It is a wonderful opportunity to hear and experience Schonberg's hitherto unknown compositions. This truly remarkable production is most definitely a collector's item! Experience and enjoy..... {:-)
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Revelation Dec 3 2008
By Lloyd Cole - Published on Amazon.com
Format: DVD Audio
This recording is a joy! Wonderful sound quality and excellent playing of little-heard works and fragments from his youth. It sheds new light on Schoenberg's beginnings, once again illustrating his roots in earlier Viennese music, and is worth the cost to wallow in the sound alone. Enthusiastically recommended....

Look for similar items by category