The English Song Series has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The English Song Series

Price: CDN$ 15.01 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
20 new from CDN$ 6.18 6 used from CDN$ 6.17
Daily Deals

Product Details

  • Composer: Warlock
  • Audio CD (May 20 2003)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • ASIN: B00008OP1R
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #336,825 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. The curlew
2. Lillygay
3. Peter Warlock's fancy
4. Peterisms, first set
5. My gostly fader
6. Bright is the ring of words
7. Saudades
8. The cloths of heaven
9. The frostbound wood
10. Bethlehem down
11. Sweet and twenty
12. And wilt thou leave me thus?
13. Mr Belloc's fancy
14. Peterisms, second set
15. The bachelor
16. Away to Twiver
17. Captain Stratton's fancy

Product Description

The programme of this release, previously available on the Collins Classics label, reflects the wide variety of vocal styles and moods of Warlock' music. The centrepiece is Warlock' heartfelt and atmospheric setting of W. B. Yeats' The Curlew. Set beside

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 review
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very fine singing of very rewarding repertoire Nov. 11 2009
By G.D. - Published on
Format: Audio CD
This is a really excellent release (or reissue), not only showcasing the (surprising?) variety of Warlock's song, but rendering them in idiomatic, beautiful and strongly characterized performances. The Curlew is among Warlock's most famous, and is a touchingly poignant and melancholic cycle for tenor and ensemble concerned with love and loss. Adrian Thompson's darkly hued voice is excellent for the work, and the singing is excellent, as is the contribution from the Duke quartet, who takes a less romantic and more restrained approach than others have done (perfectly suitable). The other two cycles here are taken by Maltman, who is no less convincing. The innocent but touching selections from Lilygay are brief but manages to make an impact, and the almost Schoenbergian Saudades are chilly and slightly otherworldly. In the more boisterous songs (drinking songs, at least some of them) Maltman is most convincing, though the more reflective ones (the mysterious Frostbound Wood, for instance) are still excellent.

Thompson, on the other hand, is - apart from the Curlew - better in the more reflective numbers, although I do like the wistful bittersweetness he brings to some of the more upbeat ones. Still, such numbers as the Dowlandesque Peterisms are the highlights. Overall, neither Maltman nor Thompson might be impeccable technically or vocally, but the commitment and color they bring are virtually unsurpassable; they are also superbly accompanied by John Constable. Full texts included as well - this is a genuine bargain, strongly recommended.