Echo Spot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire TV Stick Basic Edition WFM home Kindle Paperwhite sports Tools



on February 5, 2016
This book automatically comes with some bias as it is written by everyone's favorite Canadian, conservative, talking head Ezra Levant. Throughout the book he does make good points that are often neglected by the environmentalist who often don't understand what they would be sacrificing for a world without hydrocarbons. The book is well written from a perspective than many would be fearful in taking.

The issue I take with the book is that he has an underlying theme that because Canada is a stable place to produce oil that we shouldn't strive to deal with global warming or environmental concerns because we are already better than the 3rd world nations who produce oil. As a first world country we should be constantly trying to get better and improve, not simply saying that we're better than most countries so that's good enough.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 25, 2016
Well researched and argued. While Ezra is one of those people that folks seem to either love or hate, I would highly recommend setting aside personal views and read the book. Consider the merits of the arguments themselves, not the presenter, and you will come away with a more informed and objective view of Canada's oil sands. You will also never look at foreign oil through rose coloured glasses again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 28, 2014
A book most of the lib-left, tree-hugging types won't bother to read. Nor would they publicly agree with Ezra if they did take the time to read it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 25, 2016
A wealth of information, scary in it's truth. And it guarantees that we will never again donate to an environmental cause again (Greenpeace)
Ezra has once again nailed it-Robert G and Sandra D Barber
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 18, 2016
Finally the other side of this debate. You would think that the environmentalists, or eco-fascists, are saying the gospel. Thanks Ezra!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 21, 2014
FABULOUS BOOK BUT I LOVE EZRA
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 26, 2015
Makes some good points but feels self-righteous in pointing out the self-righteous hypocriticalities of other actors concerned about the oilsands.

I would have preferred the author address more than twisted statistics presented by organisations like Greenpeace and consider what Canadians and industry are doing/could do more regarding aboriginal rights, reclamation, etc. He prefers to set up straw men rather than address real, contentious issues.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 13, 2014
the book is a critique of environmentalism based on argument for the oil sands. It is a narrative which differs from most anti-oil views of the oil sands because it considers the problem of ethics. The criticism of oil producing regimes for human rights issues differs from the human rights of Canada's oil sands.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 11, 2012
This book should be mandatory reading for all high school students as well as all adults in North America! Based on proper research the Canadian oil sands is one of the cleanest oil sources in the world. Mr Levant certainly did extensive research before he presented his case. If the protesters and demonstrators are serious about stopping dirty oil getting to market, they should be focusing on the other countries of the world where oil is produced with basically no environmental or human rights concerns addressed at all. But of course they won't because if they tried they would probably never see the light of day again. If anyone is really serious about finding out about where the UNethical oil comes from "just follow the money"
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 18, 2017
Misguided justification for the development of the oil sands
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse