4 used & new from CDN$ 52.59

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Etudes Import

Available from these sellers.
1 new from CDN$ 98.91 3 used from CDN$ 52.59

Product Details

  • Audio CD (July 23 1996)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Sony
  • ASIN: B0000029R9
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Douze etudes. Op.10: No. 1 In C Major
2. Douze etudes. Op.10: No. 2 In A Minor
3. Douze etudes. Op.10: No. 3 In E Major
4. Douze etudes. Op.10: No. 4 In C-Sharp Minor
5. Douze etudes. Op.10: No. 5 In G-Flat Major
6. Douze etudes. Op.10: No. 6 In E-Flat Minor
7. Douze etudes. Op.10: No. 7 In C Major
8. Douze etudes. Op.10: No. 8 In F Major
9. Douze etudes. Op.10: No. 9 In F Minor
10. Douze etudes. Op.10: No. 10 In A-Flat Major
11. Douze etudes. Op.10: No. 11 In E-Flat Major
12. Douze etudes. Op.10: No. 12 In C Minor
13. Douze etudes. Op. 25: No. 1 In A-Flat Major
14. Douze etudes. Op. 25: No. 2 in F minor
15. Douze etudes. Op. 25: No. 3 In F Major
16. Douze etudes. Op. 25: No. 4 In A Minor
17. Douze etudes. Op. 25: No. 5 In E Minor
18. Douze etudes. Op. 25: No. 6 In G-Sharp Minor
19. Douze etudes. Op. 25: No. 7 In C-Sharp Minor
20. No. 8 In D-Flat Major
See all 27 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa2ac6c3c) out of 5 stars 4 reviews
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa21058a0) out of 5 stars Wonderful rendition of Chopin's Etudes. June 19 2000
By Adam M. - Published on Amazon.com
Yukio Yokoyama brings a modern touch to Chopin's Etudes, which are often played with a tight, excercise-like rigidity. Yokoyama wonderfully highlights each and every piece. He displays both technical mastery and enviable artistry throughout the entire album. He plays these pieces as they should be played, as masterpieces of the art that is the Piano.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa270e060) out of 5 stars Very underrated! July 21 2010
By J. S. Smith - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
The list of piano players I consistently enjoy listening to is very short. Although many today can claim technical ability, few are skilled to my satisfaction in applying technique. Take rubato, for instance. When used tastefully in small amounts, I believe it can add a lot to a performance. I find perfect, 'clinical' music as disagreeable as 'traffic jam' music with so much rubato that the actual rhythm of the music gets lost in the shuffle.

Yukio Yokoyama's use of techniques in this set is impeccable. He gives each individual etude its own voice, rather than playing everything the same, and applies personal touches =here and there= to bring out the best in them =when appropriate=. You won't find him suddenly zooming through a piece's finer moments or turning slow music into nursing home music. You can tell that he put a great deal of thought into these performances and it gives them a well-deserved air of sophistication and intelligence.

Take Op. 10, No. 1, for instance. Mr. Yokoyama isn't sitting at the piano with a stopwatch trying to see how fast he can race through it. Instead, he gradually pulls it back just enough to give it more tonal variety instead of being a monotonous mad dash. In the 'black keys' etude, another one of my favorites, he applies rubato in small amounts to give the notes some breathing room.

When I heard that Sony sat on these performances for years after they were recorded before finally releasing them, it boggled my mind. When I saw that he barely had any CDs on the market, it astounded me. I had the same reaction as I did after hearing the Yale Quartet's take on Beethoven's Late String Quartets - "Huh? You mean there isn't any more?"

This set has apparently been out of circulation for some time, so I doubt you'll be able to purchase this without paying a small fortune. Don't worry, though - there are still clips available on video sites like Youtube.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa327121c) out of 5 stars Lyrical, passionate Chopin. Nov. 26 2000
By epiklesis - Published on Amazon.com
Yukio Yokoyama exemplifies the technical mastery and cerebral control paradoxically necessary to elicit the full range of Chopin's passion and lyricism in the Études. At the same time, he never descends to the meretricious or sentimental. The recorded sound clarifies each sparkling note. I highly recommend this disk!
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa2488e88) out of 5 stars Penetrating, unaffected, fluid and emotional July 25 1999
By John Truman - Published on Amazon.com
Exposes the heart of Chopin's vignette

Look for similar items by category